We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diane
Tauranga, New Zealand

A most pleasant stay at a central location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024via mobile
Travelling around the South Island my husband and I stayed at this very comfortable motel.
Friendly greeting on arrival, scrupulously clean and very comfortable. Close enough to walk to and by the lake.
Our unit had a super king and a single bed!
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Parking at the door!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel, responded to this review
Responded 17 Feb 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our little Motel near the Heritage Precinct and Lake Dunstan. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
ASURE CENTRAL GOLD
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$153
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$196
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$169
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Celebration Cottage exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.8 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Queen Room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$245
  • Expedia.com
    AU$266
1.3 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception Area
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$177
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$201
  • Official Site
    AU$183
  • eDreams
7.8 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$113
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Central Gateway Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Cromwell
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
60
19
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
19
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happily stay here again an easy walk new zealand comfortable beds hayley kitchen motel lake accommodation bustle facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2023

We had a wonderful stay at the Central Gateway Motel in Cromwell. We were warmly welcomed by Hayley, who gave us great advice on winery tours and places to eat and drink.

Our room was spacious and every comfortable with a separate kitchen. The bathroom was roomy as well. Everything was spotlessly clean. We had parking directly in front of our room. We were within easy walking distance to the Heritage Precinct where there were options for dining and a very cosy bar. We stayed for two nights and would definitely return. We couldn't fault it.

Thank you Hayley for your hospitality and wonderful accommodation.

Donna and Antonio

Room tip: If you're in a large vehicle might be best to check out the one way access first as it may be a bit tight.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DonnaC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, and for the lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and our location close to the Heritage Precinct. We'd love to see you back sometime in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Great stay here in a quiet location of town, room was very comfortable with everything you need, plenty of hot water, and bed very comfortable.
Motel location close to old part of town five minute walk, takes about 10minute drive to get to centre of town for food shopping and restaurants.
Friendly owners will definitely be back, thank you so much.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Riggerreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd love to see you back. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023

My son and I traveled through New Zealand at the beginning of March 2023, and we stayed at a number of motels, so we gained a pretty good appreciation for the better ones versus the bad ones. Central Gateway Motel is most definitely one of the better ones.

Super clean and very well maintained. Comfortable beds, and the best pillows I have ever slept on (May I know the brand, please?😊).

I was greeted warmly and with a smile, which is sadly becoming a rarity.

If you are traveling near Cromwell and are in need of accommodations, I can highly recommend Central Gateway Motel. You will not regret staying here.

Date of stay: March 2023
Thank 4geeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2023

Wow! Thank you for your lovely comments - it's great to know we are doing things right and we really appreciate you taking the time to let us (and everyone else) know! Our linen supplier is Vendella - who are a great company to deal with - and I'd be happy to let you know further details if you send us an email - info@centralgateway.co.nz
Thanks again :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2023

Lovely , relaxing stay at Central Gateway Motel . Exceptionally clean . We could not fault it . Had everything we needed . Being away from the hassle and bustle of central Cromwell makes it a nice quiet place to stay with an easy walk to the Old historic part of Cromwell . Lovey helpful hosts . Would happily stay here again .

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roseanncq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and our apologies for the delay in acknowledging your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our accommodation - thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2022 via mobile

Comfortable and quiet with good facilities. However at 10.20am the cleaner knocked at the door and told us we didn’t have time for a shower or anything as checkout was 10am. Unfortunately I’d been on the phone to the UK dealing with a family issue but we had to get out. I agree usual checkout time is 10am but not always and no information given or in the room about this. Left very upset.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2022

We are sorry to hear that these guests left upset, however when we knocked on the door well after 10am it was because there was no sign at all that the guests were packing up or had any intention of vacating on time. Our check-out time was noted on their booking details from Booking.com, so that information was provided to them. An hour or so prior to check-out, one of the guests had been on the balcony outside their unit looking like they were taking photos - so it's a shame they didn't communicate their situation to us at that time, so we could have discussed the possibility of a late check-out and tried to arrange the cleaning of all units around that. In the future we suggest if these guests require a late check-out, that they request such well before the actual check-out time. They will also need to be aware that some accommodation premises will charge a fee for a late check-out, which of course we did not in these circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews