We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Tasting Experience”

Scott Base Vineyard - Space at the Base
Ranked #21 of 37 things to do in Cromwell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Space at the Base Tasting Room is a cosy and relaxed venue to enjoy the award-winning estate wines from Scott Base Vineyard and Allan Scott's Marlborough vineyards. For beer lovers, we offer a full selection of Moa Craft Beers. Visit with friends and family and enjoy our all day menu with platters and gourmet sandwiches. We have a sandpit and play area for children and wonderful views of Cromwell.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018

What a wonderful, small, intimate tasting room and outside seating area. The wines and beers were first rate, the servers were friendly and very knowledgeable, and the price for everything was quite reasonable. We visited other larger tasting rooms, but none better than this.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our favourite"
in 2 reviews
"wine trail"
in 3 reviews
"local wine"
in 2 reviews
"annabel"
in 2 reviews
"range"
in 2 reviews
"wineries"
in 2 reviews
"tasting"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We tried four kinds of wines. And we ordered some open sandwiches for lunch. They were not big but good enough for us. The wines was really matched our lunch. Great time over there

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank pansyw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We embarked on the Cromwell Walking Wine Trail and this was the third (of four) wineries and our favourite. We opted for the paddle of 4 wines at 50ml each and a paddle of 4 craft beers. Excellent value for money. The other wineries on this Wine Trail should take note that a mere sip does not allow anyone to appreciate your wine.
We were made to feel very welcome and everything was explained to us. We opted to take the tasting notes to a table underneath the shade outside and enjoy whilst admiring the view. We could easily have spent longer and we didn't try their platters which looked delicious. If we had been in Cromwell for longer we would have made a return visit and sampled a platter.

If you only have time for 1 Winery then make sure that it's this one.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

I visited Scott Base while on a local wine tour with my partner and had a great time tasting their range of wines along with a couple of tap beers available. At the time, I had been living in Cromwell for a while and had only visited the more popular wineries, but this one has become a favourite, especially when friends and family are in town.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank LAnne7451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We visited Scott Base for a tasting and lunch with friends. Everyone loved the range of wines and Moa beer available and the food was delicious. We had a 2 year old and baby with us, and the staff were very accommodating and set up a table for us in the shade by the children's sand box. The really good vibes, views and relaxed environment made for an awesome afternoon.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scott Base Vineyard - Space at the Base also viewed

Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Scott Base Vineyard - Space at the Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing