We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gate Lodge

Gate Lodge exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gate Lodge exterior
Gate Lodge's sunny and private garden Gate Lodge's cosy open plan kitchen/lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Gate Lodge exterior
Gate Lodge's sunny and private garden
Gate Lodge's cosy open plan kitchen/lounge
Gate Lodge's comfortably furnished lounge
Gate Lodge lounge/diner
Gate Lodge's modern kitchen
Gate Lodge's spacious king-size bedroom
Gate Lodge's beautifully furnished king-size bedroom
Gate Lodge's pretty twin bedroom
The beautiful picnic area on the estate
Stunning views from the picnic area
Ruthven Barracks just 10 mins drive away
Red deer on the surrounding hills
Loch Laggan is several miles along the road
Dalwhinnie Distillery is on the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann T
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here on our honeymoon for a week and it was the most beautiful location anyone can imagine. The estate is run by Deirdre and Alex who are the most wonderful people you can meet. They are there if you need them however respect your privacy. The gate lodge was spotlessly clean, warm and inviting with a really comfortable bed. The woods are beautiful to walk in and the estate is close to Newtonmore if you need petrol , groceries or a good pub! We will return! Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted that you found Gate Lodge to be "heaven" and that you enjoyed your honeymoon here with us. Wew ould be delighted to welcome you back again, and wish you much happiness in your future together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaDa16
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location and spotless accommodation”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The accommodation is perfect for exploring Loch Ness, Fort Augustus and the Ben Nevis gondola. We enjoyed walks around the Glentruim Estate in the evening. The area is stunning and the accommodation is amazing, clean and comfortable. We were very lucky with the weather. I could only wish we had more time in Highlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeR0
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our family stayed here in April 2015 for a week. Deirdre was very helpful when we initially enquired about booking. We arrived on a dark, dreich Saturday afternoon and as soon as we approached the gate lodge found it extremely welcoming with lamps and heating on for our arrival. Directions to the lodge were clear and access easy.

The lodge exceeded our expectations - it was spacious and the furnishings, linen and towels were great quality. Books and dvds were available in the lounge which had comfy sofas and table and chairs for dining. It was extremely clean, warm and homely. The bathroom was roomy with roll top bath, heated towel rail and separate, powerful shower. We used the woodburning stove during our stay - however the heating was more than adequate to make the lodge cosy. We ended up cooking dinner in the lodge each evening as we were keen to get back, enjoy the spectacular views, get the fire lit and relax with a glass of wine.

We enjoyed the surrounding area, visiting the highland wildlife park, Laggan wolftrax, highland folk museum, landmark adventure park as well as exploring the castle grounds.

We would highly recommend Glentruim Gate Lodge and Estate to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and quality of the accomodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are delighted that you found both the cottage and the area to be beyond your expectations, and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickp372
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A delightful haven”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This cottage is in a lovely haven in a beautiful and peaceful location yet with easy access to the A9 and all the sights and attractions within the Cairngorms. The photos do not do the cottage justice. It's exceedingly well equipped and very tastefully furnished. A complete joy to return to after a days out winter walking or on the mountains as it was so wRm & cosy. We would wholeheartedly recommend this cottage and plan to return again.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Glentruim Estate, and that Gate Lodge met with your approval. I must agree, the photographs do not do the cottage, nor its location, justice, but we hope to update the photographs on the website very shortly.
We would love to welcome you back in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian H
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Everything we hoped for”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife, our eldest son and I have just had a wonderful stay at the Gate lodge. The previous reviews about Deidre are spot on: she was very welcoming, yet respectful of your privacy. The Lodge is very well appointed and clean. The dishwasher and washer/tumble drier worked really well and we also enjoyed the log burner on wetter days. The kitchen/diner is a good size and the Lodge would comfortably put up four people, assuming a double bed and two singles is an agreeable arrangement! The wireless Internet was also very useful to us. There are a couple of bird tables and after putting out a little food, we saw a variety of birds, including a woodpecker. The view outside the Lodge is spectacular and every evening we sat at the table and chairs with a glass of wine just enjoying the changing scenery. Beautiful walks can also be enjoyed around the estate and there is no shortage of things to do in the area. This holiday was everything we hoped for and we had a wonderful time here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing