We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Craigerne House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Craigerne hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owners Dougie and Joanna who could not have made us feel more welcome. The hotel is very tastefully decorated with some lovely items of furniture thrown into the eclectic mix, whilst we enjoyed a relaxing coffee Dougie explained the layout and history of the town, whilst my wife discussed the artwork which adorns the walls of the hotel with Joanna, and was delighted to find that the majority of items are in fact Joanna's own work. So thrilled were we with the use of tone, shape and colour that we ended up purchasing a couple of paintings which now take pride of place in our kitchen/ family room.
Our room which was one of the bay windowed rooms at the front was immaculately prepared, was spacious and provided stunning views south over the over the rugged landscape of the Highlands. After a day of golf on the Newtonmore course which is literally adjacent to the hotel and a late afternoon walk we spent the evening relaxing with a glass of wine in the garden around the fire which Dougie had constructed in the huge fire pit. As the evening turned a little chilly we were truly made to feel at home or like old friends when Joanna brought out woollen blankets to wrap around ourselves.
We eventually collapsed into the comfortable bed exhausted, but were revived in the morning before our long drive home with a continental breakfast and an ample supply of freshly roasted coffee.
If you are looking for a relaxing break in a homely clean and comfortable hotel where you are treated as long lost friends then my wife and I would certainly recommend Craigerne, it is great value for money and we will certainly return!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a pool but I cannot work out how to delete the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Craigerne House is maybe better described as a large guest house than a hotel. Not a criticism, merely an observation. The experience of staying there was reminiscent of stopping at French chambre d'hotes, welcoming proprietors with a great knowledge of the area and lovely continental breakfasts. One of the great pleasures in life!
The hotel is in a lovely setting in the heart of Newtonmore and only a short walk takes you to local restaurants and pubs. The Glen Hotel offered a good selection of cask ales and malt whiskies and the pub-food was better than average. The Letterbox Restaurant is very close and well worth checking out for great food.
We stayed on a KGB voucher which was exceptional value at £33 per night. Our room was a good size, very clean, quite comfortable but there were a few niggles. TV wasn't working at all, towel rail didn't warm up, no sort of soap or shower gel in the bathroom. Given what we paid, I certainly wasn't complaining but at a rack rate of £80/85 I might have felt a bit cheated.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Its a lovely area and incredibly relaxing and welcoming place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTRCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very much enjoyed out great outdoor experience in The Highlands with our dog. Dougie and Joanna were lovely hosts in this homely hotel. We were in a room specifically for people wishing to bring their dogs. It was very handily next to the side door and the garden. We didn't spend much time in the room but the bed was comfortable and the shower room nice and clean with a good shower. We spent our weekend walking around lochs and generally enjoying the area. We were lucky with the weather and it was mild and dry. Our evening meal in the hotel was very tasty and enjoyed by both of us. My husband golfed on the golf course that is literally 30 seconds walk from the hotel and thought it was a good course. Incredible value and I do wonder what previous trip advisor posters want for the money. It's homely and comfortable, incredibly clean with friendly Knowledgable hosts. You have the great Scottish outdoors right on your doorstep. If you want a flat screen tv and bling bling hotel or are just taking advantage of a internet deal but have no interest in the spectacular beauty of the area then go elsewhere where you'll just be a number. At Craigerne you are treated like a long lost friend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank PinkyTheElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent a night at this charming wee family run hotel, lovely room nice and clean - homely atmosphere and made to feel very welcome by the owners.
Enjoyed the beautiful scenery and played golf on the next door Golf course which was magic.
Relaxed in the hotel lounge in the evening in front of the fire and a great cooked breakfast in the morning. Lots to do nearby - walking, golf, birdwatching etc
This is a great wee escape for couples, peaceful, very friendly owners, warm charming hotel and terrific value for money - a real treat !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Craigerne House Hotel in March 2014, and although the house is a lovely place in a great location we felt it lacked a bit in the attention to detail.
We were greeted by Dougie, the owner, who was very pleasant throughout the stay, however we feel that perhaps we had the least pleasant room in the House.
We had room 4 which has is a good sized room with a faux four poster bed and views to the front of the property, however the first thing that is noticed is that the double glazed unit has "blown" and as a consequence has moisture within the panes detracting from the appearance of the room. It also had a old, small CRT television set, which did not in fact work as apparently, according to a sign in the lounge, the ariel on the roof was broken.
The room was supplied with tea and coffee and this is where attention to detail fits in, the electric kettle did not self cancel on boiling. A small thing yes, but things like this should be dealt with.
The room was en suite, however again, attention to detail, it was not welcoming. The sealant around the bath was very poorly applied and was patchy and dirty, and an large area of the tile grouting was very dirty, 10 minutes with the bleach would make this so much better.
Whilst on the bath, for some reason the shower head was gaffa taped to the shower riser, if its broken, fix it, about £20.00 form B and Q.
Also, one of my wives pet hates in a bathroom, why no shelf for storage of toiletries? There were holes in the wall where one had been, please replace it.
We did take a peek in a couple of other rooms and these looked far better so I think it is pot luck which room you get.
In a place like this I feel that the owners should take time to sleep in each room occasionally and in that way they would pick up on the shortcomings and hopefully sort them out before guests stay.
Thanks for having us Dougie.

Room Tip: On of the twins at the front looks a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.8 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
691 reviews
0.3 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
316 reviews
7.2 km away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 7 in Newtonmore
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
9 km away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#7 of 13 in Newtonmore
22 reviews
0.7 km away
Dower House Newtonmore
Dower House Newtonmore
#6 of 13 in Newtonmore
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigerne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigerne House Hotel

Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: $149 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Craigerne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craigerne House Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing