We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, just like home”

South Newlands Farm
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Newlands Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Riccall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017

South Newlands Farm is the most, welcoming B&B I have stayed in. Peggy and Rod instantly make you feel at home, relaxed and welcome.
I arrived earlier than expected, Peggy showed me to my room and offered tea and biscuits in the patio area. I spent time here working in the most peaceful of surroundings.
I asked Peggy if she would mind me ordering a takeaway for my dinner, she at once logged on and recommended a Chinese takeaway locally, Rod looked at Peggy and said he fancied one too, she laughed and noted what we all wanted and called our order through. Peggy again made fresh tea and served it on the patio. Rod came out later yo say dinner had arrived, Peggy had laid the table in the dinning room for all three of us. We sat down and, well, just started talking, eating and generally having a family meal.
This is one B&B you should try, homely, personal and completely charming.
Peggy, Rod, thank you and I will be back next month for another business trip and stay.

Room Tip: Every thing about South Newlands Farm B&B is worth going for, Peggy and Rod are such lovely peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

We stayed in one of the Bungalows and these are fully adapted for the disabled with wet room , grab rails, and if required provision of profile beds, Hoists, commodes and several other bits of equipment. The layout inside is good with care taken to make sure good wide easy access to all areas. Wheelchair friendly and all self catering equipment is provided, everything was very clean and tidy. A dishwasher is provided and laundry equipment is at hand in a nearby building. Having worked with a large national disability charity I fully understand the needs of disabled guests and this establishment fully caters for all disabled customers even the most serious cases. I just wish more places of this high standard could be available to disabled guests. The owners are very friendly and helpful and provide a very much needed rest place for disabled people to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selbyhappytravelers, Owner at South Newlands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you for giving such a positive review. It was lovely meeting you all and hope to see you again. Rod and Peggy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed for four days and were a group of two couples.

We stayed in one of the cottages which was lovely and large. It was well equipped.

There was plenty of room for two large cars to park. Location was beautiful.

The owners were lovely. We had a beautiful chocolate cake waiting in the fridge for us which was a lovely gesture.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a cottage but there is also B & B in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selbyhappytravelers, Owner at South Newlands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you for reviewing our cottage, we always love to know our guests views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Frequently stayed with Peggy and Rod while working in Selby. A real home from home with very accommodating hosts. Quiet but within easy driving / walking distance (about 1 mile) of Riccall for local amenities. The lounge and conservatory features are excellent for guests looking to relax away from the bedrooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyDudley_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Lovely quiet location but within a short (15 min) drive to York. Peggy and Rod are perfect hosts and make a great English breakfast. Accommodation is clean and disabled user friendly. Two gorgeous dogs added to the lovely Yorkshire welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diner2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to South Newlands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Newlands Farm

Address: South Newlands Farm Selby Road | York, Riccall YO19 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Riccall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Riccall
Price Range: $126 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Newlands Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our quite, comfortable, and friendly Bed and breakfast and self catering cottages. Our B&B has en-suite rooms bed rooms, a visitors lounge and gardens to wander round, whilst the 3 bedroomed self catering cottages are set in 2 acres of garden and ideal for our guests with mobility issues, being fully wheelchair accessable . Short breaks are available in the cottages as well as longer periods. Just 20 minutes drive from York with its wealth of history and many attractions. The market town of Selby and its beautiful Abbey is just 3 miles away. The Moors and Dales an hours drive. The undiscovered Yorkshire Wolds even nearer. an ideal base to explore Yorkshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Newlands Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing