We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So much more than what we expected!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wyewood Cottage

The cottage seen from the communal gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens The Gardens leading to the River Wye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens
The Gardens leading to the River Wye
A misty morning over the river Wye
THE view of Symonds Yat from the rock
The light bright sitting room
Washing machine/drier
The modern bathroom with shower
Hall way
Bedroom one
Bedroom two
Hand-pull ferry at Symonds Yat
Canoeing the Wye with one of the cottages' own canoe
Two of the bikes available at the cottage
Playing pool in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Table tennis in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Nearby Llantoney Abbey
Early morning view from Symonds Yat rock over the river Wye
Another view of gardens and cottage
Wyewood from the gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lauradick...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much more than what we expected!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival my husband and I were delighted with the cottage and the views and location were just breathtaking!
We had our 6 month old twins with us which the cottage catered for exceptionally well.
The beds were extremely comfortable and the lounge was cosy for a family evening. We were able to cook our evening meals with ease as all utensils were available in the kichen.
The location was just perfect as we were just a short drive away from all tourist spots. Just a 5 minute walk from cottage we caught a boat for a tour along the river.
The only small thing I would change is the extremely sensitive smoke alarms which would go off even when ironing clothes ( however, we do understand that these are essential for a holiday letting) we just worried about disturbing te neighbours when ironing or cooking
THANKYOU for a beautiful stay, we will not hesitate to book again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duales
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable accomodation in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Wyewood Cottage. We are an active family with a very active dog!! The area didnt disappoint as the walks were plentiful and on our doorstep. We made full use of the bikes (suitable for adults or age 11/12+) and the kayak. We were a little disappointed with King Arthurs cave but walking up to Symonds Yat rock was well worth the effort! We all loved Biblins rope bridge too. The weather wasnt great so coming back to the cottage was lovely,being so well equipped and cosy. We also loved the fact that we could use the washing machine with all the muddy clothes! Lots of steps so wouldnt be great for the elderly or disabled. Communications with the owner were excellent and he genuinely wants you to have a great time. Well we did, and the dog was worn out when we got home-result!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped,cosy with a beautiful view
Liked least: Loud stairs,
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfw81
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All you need for a lovely break”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wyewood cottage did not disappoint. It had everything we needed for a lovely long bank holiday weekend.

Our teenage children especially love the garage space and really enjoyed playing pool and table tennis, especially as the weather was not too kind. The available bikes and inflatable kayaks are a bonus, we wished we stayed for longer!

The cottage itself is adequately furnished for the 4 of us, with a lovely big fridge/freezer. Beds were comfortable. Lots of books, DVDs to entertain when indoors.

We enjoyed the walks around the cottage and the lovely tranquil surroundings. The cottage is not overlooked at all, so great for privacy. Waking up to sounds of birds singing was lovely.

Communication with owner, Dave, was brilliant. We got sent a little booklet a few weeks before giving us useful information including directions. We're glad we followed his directions as the sat NAV would have taken up down an even smaller road!

We have already recommended this cottage to our friends and would definitely stay again if we're going to Symonds Yat.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulandJe...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“really lovely setting and nice cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at this cottage. Great setting really quiet and the cottage had lots of facilities, including canoes for the adventurous. A really good base to reach Forest of Dean and Brecon Mountains only a 1 hour drive. Would recommend as a relaxing short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting and tranqilitiy
Liked least: settees were not the best
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis R
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend away at Wyewood cottage. It's in a wonderful location with beautiful views over the river Wye and some of the most amazing picturesque walks we've ever enjoyed. There are a couple of pubs to enjoy, one of which(The Saracens Head) has a very unique way of getting to it. We wandered down to the waters edge and waved our torch into the pub window the other side of the river. We caught the attention of a member of the bar staff, who promptly came out and pulled us across the river in a boat. There is a 5 mile round trip option. The cottage itself was in extremely good order with all the facilities as listed in the brochure. plus the use of kayaks and bikes if your venturing out. All in all a fantastic getaway.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing