We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
455
252
113
28
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
252
113
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar staff toilet and shower superior room shearings coach holiday lovely hotel plenty of choice across the road half board pool area very clean hotel wardrobe space fish lovely holiday buffet style lunch and dinner week holiday lots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My wife and myself stayed here previously, and we thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel, this time we found the food at all Meals including Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner very poor quality and selection with the one exception the salads were reasonable most of the time, it appears that although the Hotel has been upgraded to a Spanish 4*, the food has suffered and been down graded to a 2* Spanish. One of the areas that were very poor was the soups, in quality and selection, one of the Vegetable Soups which claimed to be a Gluten Free Soup was on offer every day during our stay of six days, and certainly looked like it. The Meats on offer and being cooked on a serve as you go basis was mainly very tough and chewey and in-edible. This was such a shame from our point of view as the Food in any Hotel we stay in around the World and we have travelled 7 times around the World, is one of the 3 points that we look for in any Hotel of any substance, the first being the room, the second the surroundings, and thirdly the food in the Restaurant, the Sumus Hotel Monteplaya certainly did not achieve this on the Food Aspect.

Room Tip: Do not bother with the Restaurant, eat outside the Hotel where there are many lovely Restaurants
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was our fourth visit and once again we had a great time. Hotel been refurbished and is now adults only. It is extremely clean & well looked after, including the grounds and pool area. The staff, many we have seen before, we're very friendly and worked extremely hard. The restaurant was running much more smoothly than previous years and has been very well refurbished. One tiny comment, the food! Breakfast was fine, omelettes, croissants etc but the main evening meal was very repetitive and sometimes not very well cooked or presented. I know it's not done so much abroad but we did find hottish plates at the grill section, front of room, occasionally! The rest of our holiday was lovely and all being well we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good but careful as opposite side to pool, is very close to hotel next door!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My friend and I have just returned from a Shearings holiday at this hotel and we were highly impressed! The location was perfect, on the sea front and through a discreet archway inbetween shops. This led to an attractive terraced area with a pool, jacuzzi and solarium. Recently refurbished and adults only, everywhere is stylish and immaculate. We particularly loved the huge walk-in shower! But even better was the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. The only tiny thing I would change would be to have fresh orange juice and coffee for breakfast, but apart from that, perfect!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for visiting the Sumus Hotel Monteplaya.

We are glad to read your review on your first visit to our just refurbished Hotel.

Hope to see you again in the future!!!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Excellent hotel, excellent staff who Wait on you all the time,
Food lots of choice don't listen to moaners,
Fish diffent types,
Meat pork, steak, lamb, chicken,
If you are all inclusive the drink is very good bottles of San Miguel with your food, loads of different wines, bottled orange lemonade and water all served at your diner table for you.
In the bar at night time you don't queue up just give your card order your drink they bring it to you.
Very good 10 nights holiday
The other good thing no kids very peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank cueMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for visiting and for your lovely review.

Hope to meet again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Sumus Monteplaya is a lovely hotel, the staff were brilliant from the manager Oscar to the lovely chambermaids to the restaurant staff who were really helpful.
The food was great, normally we don't bother with eating at hotels but we were glad we did.
I can't praise the staff enough, it was our first visit but we will visit again.
Close to the station so if the weather's not good you can get about very easily, we opted for the beach rather than the pool as it's only a few minutes away.
I would recommend this hotel, no kids but it made a nice change.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank kikivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are glad to meet you again!!!

Hope is not the last time.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews