We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
456
253
113
28
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
253
113
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar staff toilet and shower superior room shearings coach holiday plenty of choice lovely hotel across the road half board pool area very clean hotel wardrobe space lovely holiday fish buffet style lunch and dinner train station week holiday
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was our fourth visit and once again we had a great time. Hotel been refurbished and is now adults only. It is extremely clean & well looked after, including the grounds and pool area. The staff, many we have seen before, we're very friendly and worked extremely hard. The restaurant was running much more smoothly than previous years and has been very well refurbished. One tiny comment, the food! Breakfast was fine, omelettes, croissants etc but the main evening meal was very repetitive and sometimes not very well cooked or presented. I know it's not done so much abroad but we did find hottish plates at the grill section, front of room, occasionally! The rest of our holiday was lovely and all being well we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good but careful as opposite side to pool, is very close to hotel next door!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My friend and I have just returned from a Shearings holiday at this hotel and we were highly impressed! The location was perfect, on the sea front and through a discreet archway inbetween shops. This led to an attractive terraced area with a pool, jacuzzi and solarium. Recently refurbished and adults only, everywhere is stylish and immaculate. We particularly loved the huge walk-in shower! But even better was the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. The only tiny thing I would change would be to have fresh orange juice and coffee for breakfast, but apart from that, perfect!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for visiting the Sumus Hotel Monteplaya.

We are glad to read your review on your first visit to our just refurbished Hotel.

Hope to see you again in the future!!!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Excellent hotel, excellent staff who Wait on you all the time,
Food lots of choice don't listen to moaners,
Fish diffent types,
Meat pork, steak, lamb, chicken,
If you are all inclusive the drink is very good bottles of San Miguel with your food, loads of different wines, bottled orange lemonade and water all served at your diner table for you.
In the bar at night time you don't queue up just give your card order your drink they bring it to you.
Very good 10 nights holiday
The other good thing no kids very peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank cueMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for visiting and for your lovely review.

Hope to meet again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Sumus Monteplaya is a lovely hotel, the staff were brilliant from the manager Oscar to the lovely chambermaids to the restaurant staff who were really helpful.
The food was great, normally we don't bother with eating at hotels but we were glad we did.
I can't praise the staff enough, it was our first visit but we will visit again.
Close to the station so if the weather's not good you can get about very easily, we opted for the beach rather than the pool as it's only a few minutes away.
I would recommend this hotel, no kids but it made a nice change.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank kikivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are glad to meet you again!!!

Hope is not the last time.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Room very good. Clean throughout hotel. Not so big you get lost, not too small so you don't feel too noticeable. Food is adequate with plenty of choice. Staff very friendly and helpful. However, I was not impressed with their handling of a theft from my friends room. Their assumption was that it was my friend that had "lost" her purse and gave little sympathy or support. Not resolved (not that it was expected) but some kindness and sympathy would have been good. Shearings reps weren't any better..

Room Tip: End of corridors quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melaniew940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your visit at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya.

About your friend, we would like to add that nothing was lost in the room as we explained to them and to Shearings representative. I personally download the door 'openings' from the room and watched the recording from the security cameras. The only person that came inside the room was the cleaner, a person that is working with us for more than 15 years. A person that we really can trust.
We are sorry for the lost of your friend purse, but we can guarantee that this didn't happened inside the room of the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews