We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
455
252
113
28
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
252
113
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar staff toilet and shower superior room shearings coach holiday lovely hotel plenty of choice across the road half board pool area very clean hotel wardrobe space fish lovely holiday buffet style lunch and dinner week holiday lots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Could not fault the cleanliness and attentive staff. Extremely comfortable bed and room was in excellent condition not tired looking, and extremely clean. The hotel itself was wonderful but we felt the food let it down by not supplying as many English dishes as it did for other nationalities. Was also quite a shock to find that the hotel is overlooked by residential apartments which was something we did not expect

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _carolgrice1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your visit.

We do have international dishes, but our menu is for focus on the Mediterranean cuisine.

The Hotel is located in the middle of the main promenade of Malgrat de Mar sea front. It's a quite area but surrounded by other Hotels and apartments.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Overall a good experience - nicely located hotel, rooms a good size and staff friendly.
Food typical European buffets, plenty of choice.
Inconsistant staff knowledge with what is included in the 'All Inclusive' package - no drinks after 11pm ??, Ice creams included on one occasion, payment requested on another ?? Crisps included, Doritoes not included ???

Room Tip: Upper floors, pool view / sea view are the best
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 702websites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your visit at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya.

All our staff knows the drinks and food that is included on this service.

Not all ice-creams are included in this service. There is a poster with this information.

This services starts at 10am until 11pm.

We apologise if there was any misunderstanding.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We spent 7 nights here on an all-inclusive package. On arrival we were pleased to find a clean, modern, newly-refurbished room - the fridge was a nice bonus. The beds were made and towels were changed everyday.
The food range and quality was similar to other all-inclusive hotels we've stayed in in Spain and Greece which we were perfectly happy with. Meat, omelettes and eggs are cooked on request with a good range of other food on the buffet. The only issues with the restaurant was the table layout which meant you were sat right next to another couple during busy times and the evening meal slot of 19:15 - 20:00 was much too short. It made us feel a little rushed and the restaurant became busy because everyone came in at the same time. Previous hotels we've been to usually have a 2 1/2 hour slot. However we were pleased with the food and the staff were attentive, they came over straight away to take our drinks orders and they were very welcoming when we walked into the restaurant.
The bar staff were particularly excellent, they were always really attentive and friendly. We were a little disappointed by the lack of entertainment as Thomson had made a point of mentioning it on their website which was partly why we booked the hotel. In fact we only had 2 nights of proper entertainment which was a flamenco show and a live band. However the service from the bar staff did make up for this somewhat.
The pool area was nice but a little disappointing that it doesn't get much sun on it, half of the sunbeds soon end up in shadow due to there being two buildings on either side. But it was clean and presentable. We just spent sunny days at the beach instead which was lovely.
It was also nice to stay in an adults only hotel without the premium price!
Overall based on the food, service and room quality we would stay here again but only if the entertainment program was improved, we would have liked to have had some form of entertainment every night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gemmadavis27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya.

The times written on your restaurant card for your meals are the the entrance times that you can go to eat, not the time that you have for eating. We apologise if we didn't inform you correctly about this matter.

There are 3 shows during the week, 1 night with live music, 1 night with Karaoke, 1 night of dancing and 1 night of music (80's party). If you are looking for more action, there are plenty of pubs and discos not far from the Hotel.

Hope to meet again in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Vers Nice Hotel and frindly staff and god meals ans service. Tthe toilet and bath is a problem, because there is no privacy due to no Doors . Doors OFF glas is a poor solution. The fod could be OFF a Bigger variety.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mghala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for visiting.

Most of the Superior rooms have open bathroom with glaze crystal doors for the shower and the toilet. All Standard and few Superior rooms have bathrooms with regular doors.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Stayed here for 4 days to catch up with my sisters who were on holiday. The hotel was very clean and the majority of the staff were excellent. The buffet was adequate every day and plenty to choose from. The room was spotless and comfy however, we faced another hotel and the noise from their rooms was very anoying.

Room Tip: We were in 337 which faced a noisy hotel
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your visit.

We are already working to improve the soundproofing of those few rooms facing the next door hotel.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews