We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Manager couldn't have been more helpful. Staff all bright and cheerful. Rooms clean and spacious(I upgraded to a comfort room) would advise doing same if visiting and also high floor at the front otherwise, sadly you will be overlooked by surrounding buildings..One of which is only perhaps 10feet away!!! The food is good and plentiful and always a good variety.
I was completely amazed at how far the staff went to make the stay enjoyable..Only downside is the resort it,s self..somewhat rundown and lacking in character..Although the old town is easily reached on foot 10 minute max...and all on the level as is the whole place..plenty of dropped kerbs for wheelchair userst too
Overall a nice break..You can book this hotel with full convidence

Room Tip: definately seaview at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank allan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your visit.

Hope to meet again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Could not fault the cleanliness and attentive staff. Extremely comfortable bed and room was in excellent condition not tired looking, and extremely clean. The hotel itself was wonderful but we felt the food let it down by not supplying as many English dishes as it did for other nationalities. Was also quite a shock to find that the hotel is overlooked by residential apartments which was something we did not expect

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _carolgrice1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your visit.

We do have international dishes, but our menu is for focus on the Mediterranean cuisine.

The Hotel is located in the middle of the main promenade of Malgrat de Mar sea front. It's a quite area but surrounded by other Hotels and apartments.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Overall a good experience - nicely located hotel, rooms a good size and staff friendly.
Food typical European buffets, plenty of choice.
Inconsistant staff knowledge with what is included in the 'All Inclusive' package - no drinks after 11pm ??, Ice creams included on one occasion, payment requested on another ?? Crisps included, Doritoes not included ???

Room Tip: Upper floors, pool view / sea view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 702websites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your visit at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya.

All our staff knows the drinks and food that is included on this service.

Not all ice-creams are included in this service. There is a poster with this information.

This services starts at 10am until 11pm.

We apologise if there was any misunderstanding.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We spent 7 nights here on an all-inclusive package. On arrival we were pleased to find a clean, modern, newly-refurbished room - the fridge was a nice bonus. The beds were made and towels were changed everyday.
The food range and quality was similar to other all-inclusive hotels we've stayed in in Spain and Greece which we were perfectly happy with. Meat, omelettes and eggs are cooked on request with a good range of other food on the buffet. The only issues with the restaurant was the table layout which meant you were sat right next to another couple during busy times and the evening meal slot of 19:15 - 20:00 was much too short. It made us feel a little rushed and the restaurant became busy because everyone came in at the same time. Previous hotels we've been to usually have a 2 1/2 hour slot. However we were pleased with the food and the staff were attentive, they came over straight away to take our drinks orders and they were very welcoming when we walked into the restaurant.
The bar staff were particularly excellent, they were always really attentive and friendly. We were a little disappointed by the lack of entertainment as Thomson had made a point of mentioning it on their website which was partly why we booked the hotel. In fact we only had 2 nights of proper entertainment which was a flamenco show and a live band. However the service from the bar staff did make up for this somewhat.
The pool area was nice but a little disappointing that it doesn't get much sun on it, half of the sunbeds soon end up in shadow due to there being two buildings on either side. But it was clean and presentable. We just spent sunny days at the beach instead which was lovely.
It was also nice to stay in an adults only hotel without the premium price!
Overall based on the food, service and room quality we would stay here again but only if the entertainment program was improved, we would have liked to have had some form of entertainment every night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gemmadavis27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya.

The times written on your restaurant card for your meals are the the entrance times that you can go to eat, not the time that you have for eating. We apologise if we didn't inform you correctly about this matter.

There are 3 shows during the week, 1 night with live music, 1 night with Karaoke, 1 night of dancing and 1 night of music (80's party). If you are looking for more action, there are plenty of pubs and discos not far from the Hotel.

Hope to meet again in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Vers Nice Hotel and frindly staff and god meals ans service. Tthe toilet and bath is a problem, because there is no privacy due to no Doors . Doors OFF glas is a poor solution. The fod could be OFF a Bigger variety.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mghala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMUSMONTEPLAYA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sumus Hotel Monteplaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for visiting.

Most of the Superior rooms have open bathroom with glaze crystal doors for the shower and the toilet. All Standard and few Superior rooms have bathrooms with regular doors.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.2 km away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
727 reviews
0.4 km away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
0.3 km away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#8 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
448 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
405 reviews
1.5 km away
Montemar Maritim
Montemar Maritim
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumus Hotel Monteplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumus Hotel Monteplaya

Address: Passeig Maritim 50-52, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Monteplaya)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: $76 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumus Hotel Monteplaya 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a relaxing holiday next to the beach with all the services, personalized attention and the maximum comfort? Welcome to Sumus Hotel Monteplaya. Our privileged location in Malgrat de Mar's promenade, in the Barcelona - Maresme Coast, makes us the perfect base to visit Barcelona, ​​Girona, the Costa Brava and the areas of touristic interest in Catalonia. In addition to 168 rooms completely renovated, we have a wide range of services, including buffet restaurant, a gastronomic point with tasting menu, snack bar service at the pool and lounge-terrace, two swimming pools, massage and beauty services, multipurpose room, a selection of monitored activities (yoga, tai-chi, etc.) and a variety of shows, DJs and live music in the evenings. The perfect place to make the most of your next vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sumus Hotel Monteplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteplaya Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing