We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Idyllic”
Review of Hacienda San Jorge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda San Jorge
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Brena Baja
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
“Still Idyllic”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the charming Hacienda San Jorge. I see the hotel as a bit like Helen Mirren- she isn't in the first flush of youth, but she remains captivating and beautiful. The hotel is maintained to an excellent standard, and seems to be well loved by her staff. There is an area devoted to the propogation of orchids. There is a duck pond, a much loved scarlet macaw, a terrapin pool, and some friendly house cats. The hotel is relaxed and informal, and the environment is just so tranquil.
The pool area is divine, and the staff are lovely. We had incomparable views from our room. I was delighted that we were allowed a late check out on our last day. The pick up for an 20:30 flight was about 18:30, and we were allowed to use our room all day- FANTASTIC. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and its staff, and we would be absolutely distraught were Thomson to stop going to La Palma, and to the Hacienda in particular.
Our self catering room was well equipped, with some tasteful etchings on the wall. In all honesty, this is our favourite hotel anywhere. The situation is incomparable. La Palma is just gorgeous. The food, the people and its climate are beyond compare. Even the little shop in the Hacienda San Jorge hotel is reasonably priced. It is unfortunately the case that it tends to get a bit cloudy in Los Cancajos by early afternoon. However, if you are of an inquisitive disposition, you really must not consider staying anywhere else. You must hire a car, and do some walking, guided by Charles Davis, in his book "Walk! La Palma". Honestly, the place is wonderful, unless you are put off by what other reviewers have written- if you are immobile and just want sun, then don't bother, otherwise, visit while you can.
Los Cancajos is a VERY quiet resort, but the beach is as good as any on the island and you are handy for Santa Cruz De La Palma, the nicest capital on the archipelago. There is an excellent restaurant, El Lagar, and Casa Goyo, amazing for local fish, is a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    243
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
130
352
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My wife & I stopped at the Hacienda San Jorge from April 20th-27th 2012.
The setting of the hotel is fantastic, very green exotic plants &trees & brilliant swimming pool.
The rooms are basic (no kettle) but there is a coffee maker, saucepans & the usual self catering implements .& as other tripadviser writers have said there is no heating or aircon so take a warm fleece/ jumper for night.
The food at the hotel is ok, (not brilliant) there is a very good selection of food both for breakfast & dinner. We ate out in Los Cancajos most nights two good resturants we found were the Sadi & Casa Blanca. The Sadi was our favourite good food & value ,the bonus was the beer was cheaper than most of the bars we drank in ! No Burger bars or big named fast food retailers just traditional Spanish food.
La Palma is a walkers paradise , but there is not much info in English (the islands main tourists are German at around 90%, the Brits are around 7%). The walks are for all types from walking on ordinary footpaths for a few miles, to a week long +walks up in the mountains. (if you are serious about walking up in the mountains don't go unless you have proper walking boots., waterproofs etc). Getting to some of the walks is difficult by local bus so tour guided trips or hired cars are your alternatives.
The local buses are excellent value (1.30 euros for trips up to 8km to 2.30 euros over 8km)
we bought a bus travel card from the tourist information office for 12 euros & it took 2 of us halfway around the island! It was worth using the local buses as you could see so much more of the towns & villages.
It is a very quiet Island & if you are going for the shopping you will be very dissapointed.
We loved the Island & its traditional settings & will definately be returning hasta proto!

Room Tip: room 103 looked out onto the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank robkimNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here in early February and it was too cold to sample the inviting looking pool surrounded by a well tended and interesting garden. In winter months you need warm clothing. You might be lucky enough to get a little sun during the day but at other times it is really quite cold and windy. The apartment was well maintained, clean and spacious and all have a very good patio. We had a great view out over to Santa Cruz. The apartments don't have heating but we asked reception for a heater and they sent one up very quickly and it efficiently heated the room. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downside I could see about the place was the restaurant. The hotel was full and I don't think they could cope with the demand. Breakfast was quite a chaotic affair and could be managed better. Have dinner there once if you have to otherwise there are plenty of better restaurants around.

La Palma itself is an interesting Island and a week here to sample some of the spectacular walks and terrain is great. We went for longer in the hope of escaping the worst of the british weather but found La Palma to be just as cold.

Room Tip: The views vary enormously so make enquiries when you book. We preferred to be higher up so we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rufusTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in March and found the place to be a good value hotel with an impressive pool area. Not too much to add to what has been said before, but to us the resort of Los Cancajos was the worst place we saw on the beautiful island. It has all you need and the facilities are all clean and tidy and the tourist information centre is excellent for advice but it could be anywhere in Spain. Hire a car and see the Island would be my advice. I booked with Oasis 2 months in advance and got a Seat Leon for 6 days for £100, a big car makes driving on the twisting roads much easier. Do the walk from Casa del monte to Los Tilos if you like walking its is an amazing walk through tunnels and forest (you need a torch and waterproofs!)
Oh and the picture that comes up is not of this accommodation.

Room Tip: In block A the even numbered rooms look out to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, E.Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

OK let's tackle some of the niggles other reviewers have made about Hacienda San Jorge.
Some say it's is dated and need of updating. It was built in the 1980's and designed in retro style reminiscent of Cuba in the the 1950's. This is part of its charm. We loved it, and any updating would need to be done with considerable care to retain its unique ambiance.
Food. Yes, a weakness if you are staying half board. Along with many other Spanish hotels and restaurants we found the food very salty, best to avoid anything cooked in a sauce or rice dishes. Go for grilled meat or fish dishes with something from the salad bar.
Heating in rooms. There is none and be prepared for chilly nights in the winter months.
A good idea would be to take a water bottle.
Overriding these points, the apartments are very spacious with plenty of storage and with a nice big covered verandah. The best ones face in towards the beautiful grounds and large pool.
Try to avoid the block facing onto the side road leading down to the hotel.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The bar is a nice area to relax at weekends when there is usually some live music playing but very quiet at other times. The batman is one of the most skilled and professional I have ever seen with a very pleasant personality.
The grounds are a gardeners paradise and once a week the hotel gives guided tours around them and are one of the main reasons this hotel is so popular.
The resort itself is very quiet but within easy reach of Santa Cruz. Buses every half hour or a 50 min walk. Santa Cruz is a lovely town and well worth a couple of visits. We booked our holiday with Thompson and highly recommend their trips to the north and south of the island on two separate days. Kurt the tour guide is very informative and knows everything possible about the island.
All in all a very pleasant holiday for those of you that want more than just lazing around the pool and are not over critical about a few minor faults, after all this is a holiday location and not a 5 star hotel in one of Europed capital cities.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Bluejazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brena Baja
19.9 km away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,442 reviews
17.0 km away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
248 reviews
0.4 km away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
951 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
574 reviews
0.6 km away
Oasis San Antonio
Oasis San Antonio
#2 of 13 in Brena Baja
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Jorge

Property: Hacienda San Jorge
Address: Playa de los Cancajos 22, 38712 Brena Baja, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Brena Baja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Brena Baja
Price range (per night): $109 - $175
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Jorge 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Hacienda San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Jorge Hotel Brena Baja
Hacienda San Jorge Brena Baja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing