We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fructuosa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in February 2012 and it was a fantastic break. We had a lovely double room, beautifully decorated with views down to Gibraltar and North Africa. The room was warm, the bed was comfortable, we enjoyed the jacuzzi bath and the special dinner they put on for Valentine's. The owners are pleasant, friendly, chatty, helpful and knowledgeable without being over the top.

Thoroughly recommended. We'd be very happy to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

Wonderful food, attractively designed rooms, personable owners

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank lamanodelamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Our host Jesus was absolutely marvellous - engaging, knowledgeable and helpful. This 'rural' hotel was superbly decorated with real care and attention to detail, with carefully selected pictures, 'antiquey' furnishings reflecting Jesus and his partner's great 'eye'. Our room was beautiful with views to die for over three countries (Spain, Gibraltar and Morocco) and two seas (The Med and The Atlantic. We could not have asked for more and we will return.

Room Tip: All have the best views in Andalucia (in my opinion)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bessie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

DO NOT miss a chance to stay in this wonderful hotel if traveling through Sierra Ronda in Andalusia. It is a true delight, full of great style, atmosphere and the service is simply delicious. Wonderful retreat for a romantic stay in this region. We stayed there four nights at the beginning of October, 2011 and it was the most wonderful part of our Andalusia vacation. We have stayed in many great hotels through Europe but none of those hotels had this kind of unique style. The veranda breakfasts are simply delicious and an absolute treat with a view like no other. We did not have pleasure of meeting the owners who were traveling at the time but the wonderful caretaker lady was absolutely sweet to deal with. The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated. It was such a pleasure to see them showing in a traditional Andalusian style with a different feel from so many other great hotels. The roof terrace is just a great bonus which can be enjoyed at any time. We also visited the restaurant which is downstairs and it was just as much fun. It is simply different and in the most positive way. The food in the restaurant was just great and you get a very personal service in sweetly small setting. We live in Toronto, Canada and we have tremendous amount of great ethnic restaurants and having visited quite a number of them we can say it is a very special place. You get treated to a very tasty Andalusian kitchen with choice of classy local wines and their famous sherry. Local cat named Manolo seems to share this view and often can be seen visiting this venture. We would love to be able to come back and spend some more time in this sleepy village. If we ever do we would only chose this hotel. I forgot to mention the wake up call comes automatically, you don't even have to order it. Just kidding. Early morning rooster's call comes every day. Thankfully it doesn't last long and you can happily go back to sleep to wake up to the most wonderful view in Sierra Ronda. Just magic.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the restaurant, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

It’s an odd, funky sort of place, with a hodge-podge of furnishings and decorative items, spacious and pleasant. The views from the terrace and the windows of the individual rooms are as advertised: you can see forever or, more specifically, to The Rock and beyond. The generous breakfast is served in the restaurant, which is prettiest part of the building and includes a lovely terrace. If you arrive by car, be prepared to park it creatively.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazelfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
0.2 km away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
11 reviews
20.4 km away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
398 reviews
31.5 km away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,205 reviews
28.1 km away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
0 km away
Hostal Brenaverde
Hostal Brenaverde
#4 of 4 in Gaucin
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Address: Calle Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range: $143 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fructuosa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing