We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointing return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“dissappointing return”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

After paying extra for a Sea view room which was nice, we unfortunately were woken up every morning by building work right outside our balcony at 7AM, did mention this at reception but were told no other room available , also booked a double room but had twin beds also mentioned this at reception to no avail. BREAKFAST DEFINITELY NOT for the large Irish groups staying at hotel more German orientated and at best cold, bar staff could do with some customer relation classes never saw such PO faced bar staff, yes i would most likely stay again its location to beautiful Alvor is fantastic where you will find lots of great plces for breakfast and dinner at night at great prices but i would bring my own pillow with me

Room Tip: not side sea view at present with construction going on unless you wnt to be up at 7AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eiram3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    643
    229
    56
    63
See reviews for
449
713
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have been going to Alvor ,Algarve, Portugal for 10 years always staying at Pestana Hotels. The pestana Dom Joao 11 was full refurbished a few years ago and is truly a 4 * hotel
The public rooms are bright and airy and are spotlessly clean. The Bedrooms are nicely furnished with plenty of room for clothes etc., we had a lovely room with full sea view and balcony. The staff are all very pleasant, efficient, courteous and helpful. There is a wide range of hot and cold food for the Buffet Breakfast, which is very good

Room Tip: All rooms facing the ocean or the garden have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcobaca, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the Dom Joao 11 twice this winter as we loved it so much, the first time. We had a sea view room , it was very modern in its decor and spotlessly clean, with a fantastic sea view, Our second visit we decided to try one of the garden view rooms, we were given a suite and it was fabulous, the lounge was equipped with fridge, large flat screen TV leather chaise-lounge with large double patio doors leading to the patio and garden. In the bedroom another large flat screen TV with further double patio doors leading to the patio and garden,with sun beds etc.We found the food first class with lots of choices, The staff were all very friendly, from the cleaners right through to management level, nothing was too much trouble. Its classed as a four star but in our opinion its better than some of the five star hotels we have stayed in.The location is good also, its on the lovely long Alvor beach and within easy walking distance to Alvor itself which is a small fishing village,where you can purchase all your needs. We recommend the boardwalk over the sand dunes, that have been recently installed,they are ideal for disabled people as all level walking....Well done Pestana

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JennieH288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Lovel sea view room with balcony, but with building work going on the whole of our week's stay. Friendly, helpful staff, plentiful breakfast with good choice. Excellent location - shame about the noise!!

Room Tip: Best sea view is at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrighty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend from 15th March 2012, having stayed before in October 2010.
The rooms are extremely comfortable with a wonderful shower! All the staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel in general is clean and bright.
Food is good - we had lunch in the dining room a couple of times and the food was freshly cooked and well presented.
Unfortunately both my husband and myself were ill (I found out when I got home that I had laryngitis) so we couldn't fully appreciate the holiday, but we will definitely be back (when healthy) and look forward to really appreciating the supurb location and facilities of this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer a sea view its worth paying the extra, but our room overlooked the car park and heathl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scanfamHornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.7 km away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.3 km away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
1.5 km away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.6 km away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
959 reviews
1.0 km away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Property: Pestana Dom Joao II
Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price range (per night): $78 - $781
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing