We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,284)
Filter reviews
2,284 results
Traveller rating
748
953
407
125
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
953
407
125
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green restaurant fish pay bar evening entertainment thomson reps free bus to the beach inclusive bar grand bar kids club entertainment team dining rooms children's buffet pool bar aqua gym lovely hotel mini disco family hotel
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 2,284 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This being our second visit this year to the Alvor Baia the previous visit in May. We booked this as a last minute deal choosing this over Maderia. For the middle of October the hotel was full to capacity and the following week being half term I am sure will be a similar situation. The weather in general has been kind to us with average temperatures around 25degrees most days with plenty of sun. Should you wish to read my previous Tripadvisor reports and in total this being our fourth visit over a number of years, As for the hotel its staff and its attractions available are as in the past cover all our needs for a relaxing holiday. It is enevitable that some will always find something to moan about but not the case with us. I would wish to mention as in previous reviews the Tui girls KC and Whitney they are so committed to the customer. On arrival due to an administrative error with our room which was sorted out by them with reception in minutes. Coach Transfers.
This is the only negative observation, the journey from and to Faro airport takes about 1 hour if the coach goes direct but going we had drop offs at two hotels on the way that prolong the journey nearly 2hours not good when the early flight ment check in at 4am. The return journey was equally bad if not worse, again leaving the hotel at 6.10am for a flight departure to of 9.50am again calling at two more hotels on route to Faro airport. The driver I would say getting on in years driving at speeds up to and over 100kph in heavy rain and dark until almost Faro Airport and leaving one hotel driving off with the doors open leaving the cases exposed to the road. and driving most of the way talking on his mobile phone. I can understand why by law in Portugal it is mandatory to wear seat belts.

Room Tip: Room 359 pool view
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Just returned from 2 weeks at this brilliant hotel. We will try and be impartial in our comments and answer some of the negative comments we read before we left UK.

The hotel is modern and is kept very clean by a very friendly group of cleaning staff. The corridor carpets are stained but even Mr Muscle couldn’t get those sorts of stains out. Please remember, you spend only a few minutes a day in the corridors!

Reception staff are brilliant and, during most of the day (certainly between 8am and 9pm), there are more than 3 on duty (often up to 6) so you never wait very long for assistance. Our room was very spacious and clean; bedding was changed at least 4 times in the fortnight and cleans towels were provided every other day. The kitchen area had a fridge and microwave but no kettle – we always take a kettle, tea bags and sugar so we can have a cuppa the moment we wake in the morning rather than wait for the restaurant to open!

For anyone frightened of fire in such places, let us reassure you that there are sprinklers in every room, there are fire hoses in every corridor and the fire exit stairs are VERY wide.

There are two restaurants (Green and Blue). The Green one (starts all meals earlier than the Blue one) is supposed to be for families whilst the Blue one is for adults. However, when we were there, staff admitted that is was difficult to police the “adults only” rule. We did have one meal in the Green restaurant – need we say any more.

The food was plentiful. At least 2 types of fish dish, 3 types of red/white meat, rice, pasta, spaghetti and a vegetarian special at every lunch and supper. Some of the meat was cooked as we queued and there was a choice of warm or cold plates. The salad bar had both a meat and fish selection as well. We never went hungry! The sweet selection included cakes, jelly, ice cream and fruit salad as well as fresh fruit. Drinks were wine, cola, lemonade and beer with fresh water and orange juice available at dispensers.

Breakfast is another heaven! Like all continental hotels, the cereals are not Kelloggs and therefore not what we are used to. However, the cooked breakfast is BRILLIANT. Take it from us that the sausages and bacon are the same as you would get in an English B&B/Hotel. There was fried and scrambled eggs available as well as baked beans, cooked tomatoes and pancakes. Fresh fruit, several variety of cheeses, breads of all types, fresh orange juice, tea, coffee were all there. We could have filled up on breakfast and gone right through to supper time!

That swimming pool is to die for! End to end is 100m but there is a slope (for those who take time to enter the water!) at both ends so actual swimming length is about 75m at 1.4m depth throughout. It opens at 8am so there was no excuse for a pre-breakfast swim! The hotel was not full so sunbeds were plentiful – we talked to a couple whose daughter and family were there during the school summer holidays and, apparently, the place was VERY busy.

The “poolside” bar was sometimes busy but there were 2 staff serving and they did a brilliant job. We noticed a number of others on this site complaining at the length of the queues – OK, there may have been 6 in front of us whenever we went for a drink but that was the most! Our return to the UK involved a queue of 20 minutes to check in – the wait at the bar was always LESS than 5 mins.

The bus to the beach was on-time when we used it – the beach is lovely and sandy with several watering holes dotted along it. We walked into the Alvor town a couple of times but had a taxi back as there is quite a long hill from the town up to the hotel – €5.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a lazy relaxing holiday. The only downside was the transfer time of between 70 and 80 mins.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are the high numbered rooms
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

This hotel is beautiful, really classy build, large bedroom with air conditioning, and a nice large bathroom separated areas eg bedroom separated by wall to lounge / kitchen area and a door could be used for cupboard or room door so separate off for privacy if couple sharing / older kids area

Nice Large Balcony over looking the Pool

Food was good, been to lots of all inclusive hotels and for me the food was better than most

We were there for 7 nights and during that time, the food was different each night, a few dishes were repeated more than once over the week, but you are catering for the masses

Lots of Fresh Salads every day, and the Soup's were all fresh and tasty every day
Desserts were amazing, cakes, mousses, ice cream ~ good choices everyday

The pool area was clean and good, biggest pool I've ever seen, Plenty of sunbeds, grassed area and concrete area so your choice, pool bar was good, yes a queue generally 3-4 people before you get served but polite bar staff

Life Guards were on duty all day but they need some 'staff training' on customer service, poor attitude especially at the end of the day, when they have to tidy up the sunbeds...

Drinks were okay ~ Plenty of choices ~ Draught Beer 'Super Bock' as part of all inclusive

Pool Entertainment Team were okay, made it fun throughout the day but no pushy staff if you wanted to chill out

Afternoon sometimes DJ, trumpet player (very good), glockenspiel player, dancers

Beach ~ A Free Bus that takes you to and from the beach is excellent service, always on time and big so never full

Alvor Town is a 10/15 minute walk, well worth a visit and the harbour is amazing with stunning sunsets

Overall a good relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Pool View (even numbers) / Gardens, Sunset View (odd numbers)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

What a great place for rest and relaxation. Clean , comfortable , contemporary style rooms . Great views from the balcony. Staff were friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant. They were extremely accommodating when I told them I required a gluten free menu. The food was labelled with a blue dot to indicate gf food. In any case there was a huge variety of fresh fish , chicken and salads every day. There was creme caramel or almond cake that were gf. We only had to ask for gf bread or toast , pasta or french fries which were readily available and cooked separately and safely.
We enjoyed the pool and the evening entertainment.
The free shuttle down to the beautiful beach and harbour was handy and close by.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SandieS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Went here on a family holiday. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. Plenty of different types of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The entertainment team were fantastic and the pool was a bit cold but once you were in it it was fine . Really couldn’t fault the place oh apart from the lady in the shop , don’t expect to get served in a hurry as she was always on her mobile phone and kept you waiting as obviously her social life was more important than customers

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Athed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews