We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full board with drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had a great week in alvor the hotel is very new clean but not a lot of atmosphere   We go to a lot of all inclusive hotels because we like the option of eating when we want to. This hotel has no pool bar , and very little option for eating outside the restaurant times. It really is a full board hotel with free drinks. All that said there is no restriction on how many drinks you order and as a party of 24 ( children and adults) its very handy. 
The food in the restaurant was very good and as already stated in other reviews their is a microwave to heat things up. 
The best part of this area is the beach. It's fantastic all the caves and coves kept every one busy exploring. The cafe in the rocks was nice to get out of the sun and at 4 euros for a toasted tuna sandwich not expensive. 

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UncleKrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,440 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel was picked specifically by me as the design and modern rooms really caught my eye, and it really was stunning.

Arrival:
Me and my partner (couple aged 23-24) arrived at 1am in the morning, the transfer took around an hour and a half. There was no queue and we were checked in very quickly. We asked for a drink as we were very thirsty but the all inclusive finishes at 11pm (which was dissapointing) we only wanted a soft drink, the waiter told us we would have to wait for the manager to okay us giving you a drink so we just asked for water as we were quite tired. The room we were allocated was quite near the lifts on the 3rd floor, we were dissapointed we didn't get a pool view as the hotel was really quiet they might as well have given everyone a pool view but that didn't bother us too much. The room was stunning, you had 2 wardrobes spaces, a big bathroom, a bedroom, kitchen with table and a lounge with a big sofa (that also has a pull out bed underneath) The air con was great too, you could even have it on heat and it pushed air round the room very well.

The Pool:
The pool was very big, fitting a lot of sun loungers around it. There was a very shallow (like 5cm or less) pool at the end that most children played in (very good idea) which was also near to the children's play area which looked very good but I cant comment as we did not use it. The pool was very very cold which is normal for europe I guess, we only ended up going in a couple of times as the weather was sunny but very windy making it slightly chilly at times.The only thing I might say is when the hotel is very busy you may find it hard to get a sun lounger unless they get some more as there was a lot of space for more.

The All inclusive:
The all inclusive started at 7 and finished at 11. You were not given a wristband, you had to use your key card to get drinks - which was a pain.
Breakfast was 7 - 10 followed by snack 10.30 - 12 followed by lunch 12.30 - 3 followed by snack 3.30 - 5.00 then tea from 6.00 - 10.00. So there are only a few times you could not get food. The only thing that bugged us was that you had to get drinks yourself - soft drinks only had fanta, sprite or cola, you could get wine or beer. Waiting for the pump to be free may be a problem in busier times too.

Breakfast was good, they had cereals, bread, toast and full fry up (which we had every morning) the sausages were really nice and scrambled egg.

Snack times were okay, in the morning they had bacon and sausage, cheese and ham with baps and bread and a bowl of crisps. This was it really - even though it was quiet they rapidly ran out of food and struggled to refill it quickly. In the afternoon it was ham and cheese and burgers and sausages with baps etc.

Lunch was alright, they had a lot of choice of fresh fruit and salads, they always had pasta and sauce and chips. They changed the meats they cooked each night, I tried some and found fat in everything I tried which put me off so I just stuck to the pasta and rice etc.

Tea was just like lunch in fact it got a bit repetitive, they had a lot of fish (as alvor is a fishing village) which we didn't try as were not big fish fans.

The Spa:
The spa was gorgeous! really modern and had some water circuits (you could pay to go in for the day for 10 euros) If you booked a massage though you could go in for free, which is what we did. I had a back massage (around 30 euros for 30 mins) and it was really good and you could tell the women was a professional. My partner had anti-cellulite massage (30 euros for 30 mins) which he enjoyed too. There was a sauna and turkish bath room which were very hot and the pool was a little warmer in there too.

Trips:
As we booked seperatly from first choice we did not have a rep but you could book everything through reception although we asked the first choice rep some questions and she was very happy to help. there were a lot of boat trips etc but we didnt fancy any of those. We decided to go to the water park slide and splash. This was a very good day - suitable for children as there was a huge childrens area and most rides were quite tame for children. The only drawback was there was absolutly no shade! and you had to walk around bare foot and the concrete wasn't kind the feet at all. But brilliant day.

We also walked into the town alvor which wasn't a far walk, it depends on how fast you walk but around 10 minutes. the village was really nice wasn't too touristy and had little streets. There were a few pubs and restaurants but we didn't eat in them. There were a few cafes which we had an ice cream from that were quite cheap. The harbor was quite small but was really well looked after. We bought a few nice things from the shops but they didn't hassle you to buy anything. The people seemed very nice. One shop called teddy mountain (similar to build a bear) was really good - we built a turtle! we are big kids lol you stuffed it then could look for any clothes or voice things to put in (which we didn't do) then you had to adopt it - you got a certificate and a photo which would be really nice for children to do. The toy is very soft and good quality too - the irish man who owns the shop was very nice and polite.

We also went clubbing in priah de rocha (spelling may be wrong!) where they had a strip of around 10 clubs and bars, this was good although they were playing mostly portugese music (which is expected! don't get me wrong was just a little boring dancing to songs you don't know) They had a lot of people trying to get you in the bars here, offering free shots etc. A taxi was easy to get too - reception called one and was there in 3 mins! and there was a taxi rank near the clubs which actually charged us less on the way home!

Entertainment:
Well... there wasnt any really. There was supposed to be a show on 9.30 - 11. The first night they had got some parrots in which they forced onto everyones shoulder whether you wanted to or not! then tried to sell you a photo for 7 euros each of it. then the parrots did a little show sitting in a car and pretending to drive it etc.. only lasted 15 mins! this was true of other nights too - they did a wild bird show where they took the birds out and walked around with them - that was it. They had live music on some nights but that wasn't good - for the more older generation I would say. Me and my partner sat in the lobby most nights, talking or playing games.


Leaving:
Checking out was fast and easy (as we had no outstanding bill) and were given a lunch voucher as check out was at 12 but we left at half past when lunch opened so never got to use it. Make sure you eat before leaving your hotel as the airport food is a total rip off!! for a burgerm fries and drink it was 15 euros just for 1! so we ended up getting a baguette from another shop but was still 5.50 euro each! and it was discusting looked like a child had put it together - no butter and a few slices of cheese and ham. We couldn't believe it!

If you have any questions feel free to email me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank emmaraff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is stunning. We arrived about 1pm and our room was ready for us immediately but one or two people travelling on our coach had to wait for theirs. Very impressed with the rooms, very large, 2 flat screen tv's with a multitude of channels in English (the most ive ever had on any holiday), immaculate bathroom and large sitting room area with leather sofas and table and chairs and a HUGE balcony. We were facing the tennis court and every morning our alarm clock was a cockerel a dog barking and then a donkey ee awing - which was quite funny and woke me up laughing most mornings.

The pool is MASSIVE the biggest i've ever seen - it can get breezy though. Never had trouble getting a sunbed. The food was ok. The one thing i will say is that it could have been hotter and the restaurant is more like a school canteen, i felt that there should have been another dining room where you could enjoy a more relaxed meal with table cloths on the tables - just somewhere a little more quieter or romantic.

The drinks were fine - these were quite weak though as i never felt tiddly once whilst i was there. The bar shuts at 11pm prompt and if you order a few drinks at the end of the night you can get a funny look from the bar manager. We felt that the hotel should have had an outside bar area as the hotel was very strict about putting all your clothes back on everytime you entered to get a drink. There are no bottles of water in the fridge in your room but you can ask for glasses of water to take to your room - found this a bit strange as most hotels stock your fridge with a few drinks.

The entertainment was poor but this didnt bother us as we wanted to chill and do nothing for the fortnight apart from sleep eat drink and go for walks. We met some lovely people and spent our nights chatting to them (Joe and Maureen, Mal and Marie, Anne and Alan, Jules and Pete) to name a few The village of Alvor is really quaint and has not lost any of its charm.

The hotel offered free internet which i found a pleasant suprise as ive always had to pay a couple of euros for 20 mins elsewhere.

The one thing i found quite perculiar about the AI side of the hotel was that it ended at 3pm on the day of your departure even if you werent getting picked up til after that - one couple we met werent leaving until 9pm and at 3pm they had to hand their cards back and couldnt even get water from the bar. When this was questioned they said it was because Portugal was an expensive country. With any other AI i have been on you were AI until the minute you were picked up for departure.

We had a lovely holiday and i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

P.S It was my husbands birthday whilst we were there and they put a bottle of champagne in an icebucket and 2 glasses in our room - nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Lisalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Just returned from one weeks perfect stay at the Alvor Baia. The hotel is absolutely fantastic, modern decor throughout the whole hotel inside and outside. Giant sizes beautiful swimming pool. The rooms are sensational, very large with a really clean modern bathroom, lounge area with wide screen tv and leather sofa. Dining table and four chairs, and a well equipped kitchen. Very comfortable bed, plenty of storage space and a second wide screen tv. Super double sized balcony, suggest you book a pool view room otherwise the view isn't particulary nice. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and always eager to help. Food is good with plenty of variety, the only comment I would make is that the food could be hotter, but otherwise really good. The evening entertainment we felt was rather poor but with a lovely bar and outside area to enjoy we didn't mind. Only takes 10mins easy walk into the village of Alvor which is full of lovely shops and bars, do try the fish restaurants down at the mouth of river and enjoy the lovely board walk over the marshes. Good places to visit are Silves, Lagos, and Loule. Would definately go again.

Room Tip: Floor one, with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My partner and I have just returned from 1 weeks holiday at the beautiful Alvor Baia hotel. We absolutely loved it!
We travelled with First Choice and although the transfer time was stated as being 1hr 45 mins it only took just over 1 hour so that was a pleasant surprise!
On arrival at the hotel we were told that our room would be ready in about 15 mins which was fair enough as it wasn't even noon yet! We were given our all inclusive cards and they took our luggage so that we could go for a welcome drink!
One thing to note-This hotel doesn't use wristbands so your room key card acts as your proof that you are AI- you will need to give this to the staff when you enter the restaurant/get drinks.

ROOM- Our room was ready 10 minutes later, and was on the 3rd floor. Absolutely beautiful! Lovely comfy bed, 2 great big TVs (with quite a few channels in English) a lovely sofa, dining table, wee kitchenette(we didn't use this- apart from the fridge), lovely clean and spacious bathroom (fantastic shower!!!) and a HUGE balcony! Couldn't get over the size of the balcony! Very spacious with a table and 2 chairs and a pool view (I had emailed ahead to request this and the hotel were nice enough to oblige! :) so always worth doing this!) Rooms were cleaned often, with fresh towels and toiletries, and a safe was available in the wardrobe.

FOOD and DRINK- We stayed at the Alvor Baia on an all inclusive basis. We personally thought the food was great! My partner is a very picky eater and can be hard to please but he always managed to find plenty to eat so I wouldn't worry about that! Draught soft drinks, wine, beer and water, as well as fresh orange/tea/coffee/hot chocolate is available with your dinner- you can just help yourself! The hotel has 2 restaurants, the green and the blue, but only the green was open during our stay. It was never too crowded so this was perfect. I must say here that the restaurant staff were SUBERB- always so friendly and were very quick to clear plates/show you to a table etc. As for the food choices: there is a great salad bar, with all the usual bits and pieces along with dressings, cold pasta dishes, meats, cheeses etc. They also quite often had sardines(a Portuguese speciality)and other fish dishes here. There is then also usually 2 different choices of soup, and a table with all kinds of bread and rolls (including croissants at breakfast time). We thought that the food choices were great- there was always a couple of pasta dishes- with a couple of different sauces available to choose from as well as parmesan cheese/chillis etc if you wanted to make something a bit different. There was then always a few different meat dishes, with steak, chicken , pork, veal, and various fish dishes appearing throughout the week. One night there was even octopus tentacles in some kind of sauce as well as oysters and fish pate (which in a nice touch had been shaped in to a shark shape!). This was as well as roasted potatos, mini jacket potatos(they were delicious!), boiled potatos and chips, as well as a few different types of veg. There was also a kids buffet area that usually had something like pizza,chicken goujons, slices of roast beef etc, along with mini desserts for the kids. The dessert table was fantastic- with plenty of cakes to choose from (the chocolate cake was delish!) including some traditional custard tarts which were excellent. There was usually also jelly, plenty of fresh fruit, and tubs of either chocolate&vanilla or strawberry&vanilla ice cream.

Breakfast comprised of lots of different breads and rolls as well as croissants and there is a couple of toasters. They also have 3 different cereals, with milk, yoghurts and fresh fruit. There is then the hot food selection with bacon, sausages, 2 types of scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fried eggs, fried tomatos, mushrooms etc. I honestly don't know how anyone could complain that there is nothing to eat!!!

The snack bar was also open between meal times which had breads, cold meats, cheeses etc as well as crisps and biscuits.

The drinks were great, not every drink is included in the all inclusive package but there are signs up making super clear which ones are. If you insist on named spirits like we have at home then you may not like this but we didn't care! Can't comment on the wine as we don't drink it but my partner enjoyed a few nice cold beers, we both had the spirits (rum and vodka) and the 'cocktail of the day'(the only one included in the AI)and were happy with them all! We did buy a couple of cocktails one night, only as we fancied something specific, and a Pina Colada and a very good Margharita cost us 12 euros.

POOL SIDE- The pool is HUGE and pretty chilly! Looks great though and plenty of sun loungers with table and parasols! Had no problem at all getting a space but then it was quieter season while we were there!

STAFF- We thought that every single member of staff that we encountered were great! Special mentions to the entertainer (the only thing we went to was the Quiz Night, which was nice) and was a really friendly guy who took the time to chat to everyone and make them feel welcome, and the lovely lady in the restaurant with the blonde hair (we didn't get her name) who always gave us such a beautiful welcome. Everyone was lovely!

HOTEL FACILITIES- This hotel is beautiful and we loved the clean modern design, with the funky lifts and giant blue sofa in reception! The grounds are well cared for and everywhere is very clean. Personally we loved the minimalist design of the hotel, with lots of glass and light. We didn't use the spa so cannot comment, but we did go down to the games area for a few games of air hockey so this was nice to have. There was also a children's play area that looked great and a pool for the little ones.

OTHER things to note- The hotel were happy to call us a taxi to go in to Portimao, the Aqua shopping centre is nice to take a walk round! This only cost us 10 euros each way in the taxi.
We did the organised Lagos and Sagres trip with Thomson/First Choice and would recommend this- good value for money if you want to explore a bit!
There is a spar supermarket 5 mins walk away- next to the Alvor Ferias.
You can easily walk in to Alvor- it's only 10 minutes away, and there are a few nice wee shops/a perfumery here, as well as some bars and restaurants if you fancy a change. You can also easily walk to the beach, or the hotel runs a train shuttle if you'd prefer.

CONCLUSION- To sum up, we LOVED the Alvor Baia! We were very lucky with the weather (it got up to 36 degrees while we were there!!!) and thought that the hotel was great! We would definitely return to the Alvor Baia, we think with that they did fantastically especially as the hotel hasnt been running as AI for long! With a few tweaks and some practice this has the making of a 5* hotel! ENJOY!

Room Tip: Email the hotel before you go and request a pool view room- we did and this meant we had a lovely su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank nikislynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
1 km away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 km away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
1.3 km away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.9 km away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.7 km away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: $169 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing