We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa away from it all”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Acacia

Villa Acacia Private Pool Private Grounds Sea Views Stone Vault & Trullo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Acacia Private Pool Private Grounds Sea Views Stone Vault & Trullo
Bedroom 1 Air Con Stone Vault Table Chair Hair Dryer French Door to Piazzale Wardrobe area Bathroom to Bedroom 1 Walk in Shower, Vanity Basin, Bidet, WC
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Villa Acacia Private Pool Private Grounds Sea Views Stone Vault & Trullo
Bedroom 1 Air Con Stone Vault Table Chair Hair Dryer French Door to Piazzale Wardrobe area
Bathroom to Bedroom 1 Walk in Shower, Vanity Basin, Bidet, WC
Sitting Room Wood burning Stove, 3 Seat Sofa, 2 Arm chairs, Ottoman, Fridge, Dishwasher.
Kitchen Dishwasher Professional Stove, 4 burners, large oven, extractor, Fridge Freezer. Microwave,
Bedroom 2 Air Con Stone feature wall, wardrobe area Table Chair Hair Dryer TV
Bathroom to Bedroom 2 Shower Vanity Basin WC
Trullo Bedroom Conical Stone Ceiling Alcoves TV Hair Dryer. Cool - Air Con in Sitting Room adjacent.
Fireplace in Bedroom 1
Adriatic Sea View
Relax - Bathroom 1
Adriatic Sea View
The Drive
The Roof Terrace seating area
Looking South
The Pergola with vines
The Barbecue Piazzale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SteveMoss
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely villa away from it all”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely retreat for all the family clean accommodation and reasonably well eqquipped. The charming host Will ensured basic provisions were in the villa wine, beer and groceries which was a lovely touch. In the main villa was a realatively small kitchen and 2 generous double ensuite bedrooms with spacious roof terrace above. Alfresco dinning although I'm inclement weather dining area would be a struggle. Sadly mosquitos tooba fancy to all the family mainly during meal times which was unavoidable. The separate truly was comfotabke and all bedding throughout was good. Four bicycles were available and frequently used. Although a car is a must the villa is off The beaten track. The pool was large enough but sadly in need of a clean. Cemmented walls and floor with lots of sediments in need of a vacuum which was disappointing Pool side loungers required and plastic drinks cups for the pool area. Ostuni, Lecce and Martina Franca are all well worth a visit. Relaxing times enjoyed by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2016
Hi Steve, Thank you for your review and very pleased you think Villa Acacia is a lovely and relaxing retreat.
Even before your arrival we planned to tile the pool this winter, as there seemed to be loss of the finish from the walls last summer and it is not a job we can do in the season. The sediment was just a small amount of the fine sand from the walls, and being heavy difficult to remove but harmless. I am sorry this affected you. All will be well for next season with tiles completely throughout the pool.
The mosquitoes were worse than normal this year. All windows have mosquito screens and so they are only outside and mainly in the evening. We will put more plug ins for protection on the veranda.
I agree with you about the plastic cups for the pool area and will make sure there are enough. There are six sunbathing beds around the pool but I will look to see if we can provide other loungers as the pool area is appreciated a lot.
Villa Acacia is in a great position to visit so many wonderful places, restaurants, bars, and beaches.
We aim to improve all the time and your review has helped us.
Many thanks,
Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H
Cambridgeshire
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic week away from it all in a lovely villa.”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location for a truly relaxing week. Villa is in character with the area with all the mod cons you could need for a perfect holiday. We ate out locally in Carovigno and Ostuni and also in at the villa. The rooftop table was superb for a sunny breakfast. with beautiful views. Will was the perfect host even arranging a cookery day which we thoroughly enjoyed. While we were in residence a little cat arrived looking very sad and beaten up. We think she had been abandoned. We fed and cuddled her back to health and called her Squiffy. She seems to like the Villa Acacia as her new home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Away from it all rural location but with good quality accommodation.
Liked least: Cold pool !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J R
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil rural property in a perfect location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a perfect getaway in an unspoilt area of Italy. We were three couples of varying age and interests and it suited us all brilliantly. The pool was great for swimming, lounging around on a sun-bed, cooling off in or for an energetic game with a ball. The shady olive tree gave welcome shade and the hammocks soon became favourite relaxation places for those less keen on the sun. The bikes (in good condition) were brilliant to explore the local lanes and visit the shops in nearby Caravigno. The table tennis table under the shady canopy of vines was was a great diversion too. Villa Acacia is perfectly placed to be really away from it all but also close enough to drive, cycle or walk (45mins in cool of the eve) to the local town. A little further away, but still very accessible, are incredibly picturesque and interesting towns and the sea. It's a great area to explore or just to chill in. The food is good - fresh, typically Italian and also very reasonably priced for Italy ..., as is the wine! We had lots of fun shopping, cooking, and eating on the amazing roof terrace (my favourite part of the Villa ... or was that the pool?).
It's been said before, but Will was a great host. He helped us get to know the local area, recommending good restaurants, bars and places to visit. It was very reassuring to have him around and he quickly and good naturedly responded to our questions and any issues. This is a beautifully restored property in rural Italy not a modern new build on a complex and as a result has a few charming idiosyncrasies ... like the electricity sometimes going off when we forgot and put too many appliances on at the same time, and when we required an urgent visit from the water tanker! Don't let this put you off though. Will promptly sorted it out and for us it was all part of the experience. If you book this villa you'll love it. If you've already booked and waiting to go ... lucky you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace, pool, location
Liked least: Kitchen quite small but well equipped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexPRG...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rural escape surrounded by olive groves in a lovely, unspoilt region.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Villa Acacia is situated between the towns of Carovigno and Ostuni in a quiet, rural location. This part of Italy is lovely and, in May, still quiet. Apparently, in August it is very busy and very hot, but May was perfect. Ostuni, Alberobello and the beaches make good days out. Puglia in general is still cheaper than other areas of Italy we have visited.
We went with our 2 young children and their grandfather. There is a really good sized pool, with safe, shallow steps and a small wall around. This would keep it safe from crawling babies, although I think a wily toddler could break through! In any case, you have a good view of the pool from the kitchen and terrace so I would say it is a pretty good choice for families with small kids. There is a swing and also table tennis table, bikes and delightful hammocks.
The villa is comfortable and well equipped. It has a rather unusual layout. It is two villas really. One has the trullo bedroom plus sitting room, and the other has the main kitchen and 2 bedrooms. So it is great if the weather is good and you don't need to use the sitting room in the evening, but if you do, bear in mind your children could be asleep in a slightly separate building. We didn't need to worry as we were on the terrace every evening. It is a really good layout for two families or if travelling with grandparents as we were.
There is a gorgeous roof terrace above with views over the pool and to the sea.
The owner of the villa, Will, was really laid back and couldn't have been more helpful. When I was booking the villa, he seemed too good to be true but he is real(!) and genuinely the perfect host. He provided a very generous welcome pack of provisions, even thinking about what to provide for children in the party. We also felt we could call him any time if we had had any problems. I hope we will go back and stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_s...
Oradell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Acacia Villa Review”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Acacia Villa was much as depicted and described in the advertising. It consisted of two separate buildings, accommodating at least 6 persons. The buildings, constructed in traditional Puglianese style, were attractive and lent a nice atmosphere and flavor, perfectly in keeping with the rustic olive treed grounds. That the buildings were completely separate allowed great privacy, a big plus when travelling with friends (or family for that matter).

The main building, with a kitchen and two bedrooms was a nice size. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped, with a full size commercial range and oven, a full size refrigerator and a dishwasher (another big plus). There was an adequate supply of small appliances, plates and utensils. The main bedroom was a good size, with a second bedroom, also of good size. The main bedroom had a nifty wood burning cast-iron fireplace, lending both heat and charm. Of course, there was also a modern heating/air condition system as well. Each bedroom had its own bathroom, which was well appointed.

The second building, where my wife and I stayed, was built around an authentic trullo, so if you stay in this part of the villa, you can rightly say that you slept in an authentic Puglia trullo. The living room, adjacent to the bedroom was a nice size and adequately appointed, also with a wood burning cast iron fireplace which we used every night both for warmth and atmosphere. Although the nights were rather cool, we did not have to turn on the modern heating/AC system as there is a warm air vent built in the structure such that the wood burning in the living room also heats the bedroom. The apartment also has a sink, dish washer and refrigerator, which, for privacy reasons, was well appreciated. The bathroom was large and well-appointed with a very nice shower.

The outside area consisted of a large modern pool and a very nice sheltered porch area for meals al fresco. Although we did not use it, above the main house is a large roof deck, with shelter and seating arrangement. The pool has seats and lounge chairs, making it a very comfortable place.

One more thing – the proprietor, Will Sanderson, is a true gem and the ultimate in hospitality. He very patiently acquainted us with the nearby town, showing us the supermarket, fish store, the better bread store and the not-so-better bread store, the best place to get local wine and the restaurants and night spots. Then, going one step beyond, he stepped in to help us through a medical emergency and assisted us in arranging some emergency flight plans, for which I am most grateful. If you book this villa, consider Will one its assets.

In summary, if you want to stay at a Hilton, stay at a Hilton. If you want a charming, rustic villa that allows you to experience the Puglianese countryside and get closer to the region, I can suggest no better place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 2,261
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing