We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A rural escape surrounded by olive groves in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Acacia

Villa Acacia Private Pool Private Grounds Sea Views Stone Vault & Trullo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Acacia Private Pool Private Grounds Sea Views Stone Vault & Trullo
Bedroom 1 Air Con Stone Vault Table Chair Hair Dryer French Door to Piazzale Wardrobe area Bathroom to Bedroom 1 Walk in Shower, Vanity Basin, Bidet, WC
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Villa Acacia Private Pool Private Grounds Sea Views Stone Vault & Trullo
Bedroom 1 Air Con Stone Vault Table Chair Hair Dryer French Door to Piazzale Wardrobe area
Bathroom to Bedroom 1 Walk in Shower, Vanity Basin, Bidet, WC
Sitting Room Wood burning Stove, 3 Seat Sofa, 2 Arm chairs, Ottoman, Fridge, Dishwasher.
Kitchen Dishwasher Professional Stove, 4 burners, large oven, extractor, Fridge Freezer. Microwave,
Bedroom 2 Air Con Stone feature wall, wardrobe area Table Chair Hair Dryer TV
Bathroom to Bedroom 2 Shower Vanity Basin WC
Trullo Bedroom Conical Stone Ceiling Alcoves TV Hair Dryer. Cool - Air Con in Sitting Room adjacent.
Fireplace in Bedroom 1
Adriatic Sea View
Relax - Bathroom 1
Adriatic Sea View
The Drive
The Roof Terrace seating area
Looking South
The Pergola with vines
The Barbecue Piazzale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SussexPRG...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rural escape surrounded by olive groves in a lovely, unspoilt region.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Villa Acacia is situated between the towns of Carovigno and Ostuni in a quiet, rural location. This part of Italy is lovely and, in May, still quiet. Apparently, in August it is very busy and very hot, but May was perfect. Ostuni, Alberobello and the beaches make good days out. Puglia in general is still cheaper than other areas of Italy we have visited.
We went with our 2 young children and their grandfather. There is a really good sized pool, with safe, shallow steps and a small wall around. This would keep it safe from crawling babies, although I think a wily toddler could break through! In any case, you have a good view of the pool from the kitchen and terrace so I would say it is a pretty good choice for families with small kids. There is a swing and also table tennis table, bikes and delightful hammocks.
The villa is comfortable and well equipped. It has a rather unusual layout. It is two villas really. One has the trullo bedroom plus sitting room, and the other has the main kitchen and 2 bedrooms. So it is great if the weather is good and you don't need to use the sitting room in the evening, but if you do, bear in mind your children could be asleep in a slightly separate building. We didn't need to worry as we were on the terrace every evening. It is a really good layout for two families or if travelling with grandparents as we were.
There is a gorgeous roof terrace above with views over the pool and to the sea.
The owner of the villa, Will, was really laid back and couldn't have been more helpful. When I was booking the villa, he seemed too good to be true but he is real(!) and genuinely the perfect host. He provided a very generous welcome pack of provisions, even thinking about what to provide for children in the party. We also felt we could call him any time if we had had any problems. I hope we will go back and stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_s...
Oradell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Acacia Villa Review”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Acacia Villa was much as depicted and described in the advertising. It consisted of two separate buildings, accommodating at least 6 persons. The buildings, constructed in traditional Puglianese style, were attractive and lent a nice atmosphere and flavor, perfectly in keeping with the rustic olive treed grounds. That the buildings were completely separate allowed great privacy, a big plus when travelling with friends (or family for that matter).

The main building, with a kitchen and two bedrooms was a nice size. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped, with a full size commercial range and oven, a full size refrigerator and a dishwasher (another big plus). There was an adequate supply of small appliances, plates and utensils. The main bedroom was a good size, with a second bedroom, also of good size. The main bedroom had a nifty wood burning cast-iron fireplace, lending both heat and charm. Of course, there was also a modern heating/air condition system as well. Each bedroom had its own bathroom, which was well appointed.

The second building, where my wife and I stayed, was built around an authentic trullo, so if you stay in this part of the villa, you can rightly say that you slept in an authentic Puglia trullo. The living room, adjacent to the bedroom was a nice size and adequately appointed, also with a wood burning cast iron fireplace which we used every night both for warmth and atmosphere. Although the nights were rather cool, we did not have to turn on the modern heating/AC system as there is a warm air vent built in the structure such that the wood burning in the living room also heats the bedroom. The apartment also has a sink, dish washer and refrigerator, which, for privacy reasons, was well appreciated. The bathroom was large and well-appointed with a very nice shower.

The outside area consisted of a large modern pool and a very nice sheltered porch area for meals al fresco. Although we did not use it, above the main house is a large roof deck, with shelter and seating arrangement. The pool has seats and lounge chairs, making it a very comfortable place.

One more thing – the proprietor, Will Sanderson, is a true gem and the ultimate in hospitality. He very patiently acquainted us with the nearby town, showing us the supermarket, fish store, the better bread store and the not-so-better bread store, the best place to get local wine and the restaurants and night spots. Then, going one step beyond, he stepped in to help us through a medical emergency and assisted us in arranging some emergency flight plans, for which I am most grateful. If you book this villa, consider Will one its assets.

In summary, if you want to stay at a Hilton, stay at a Hilton. If you want a charming, rustic villa that allows you to experience the Puglianese countryside and get closer to the region, I can suggest no better place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siskinNew...
Newbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful roof terrace and lovely pool set amongst a backdrop of olive trees”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We are two of a party of six friends who recently stayed at this newly renovated property near Carovigno in Puglia for two weeks. The accommodation was spotless with plenty of equipment and amenities to suit various tastes. We particularly enjoyed the bikes, the hammocks, the barbequeue, the peace and solitude of the location. The swimming pool was extremely clean and a welcome relief from the summer heat.
The owner was friendly, knowledgeable and as helpful as you wanted him to be. He was always available via mobile phone to sort out any problems or give recommendations.
It was possible to walk to a local pizza restaurant adjoining a neighbouring agrihotel if you didn't want to take the car one evening - about twenty minutes walk.
We found Carovigno to be a very friendly town, unsophisticated and quiet with good supermarkets, fresh pasta, pastry and fish shops.
The caves at Castellana are definitely worth a visit and can easily be combined with a visit to Locoratondo and Alberbello for a full day trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of all external areas
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolroy
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“ideal getaway peaceful location with very caring owner”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the start of booking to the return of our deposit the owner has been top class. His one concern being that we have everything we need plus giving very helpful advice for trips, eating etc. Superb size pool. The property has been converted with love and care. Barbecue, roof top dining/relaxing, poolside dining, table tennis, bikes. We have no complaints. The advert clearly stated that some building material was on site not on full view but that made no difference to us. This is a rustic setting which is part of its charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the helpful owner and large pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conall K
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blissful seclusion, wonderful amenities within reach”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We recently spent two weeks at Villa Acacia. It is set in a wonderful part of Italy, secluded in an area full of olive groves, but close enough to beautiful towns such as Ostuni and Carovigno, which are full of wonderful restaurants, so as not to feel isolated. Ask the owner Will for his recommendations, we were never disappointed, particularly with some restaurants in Carovigno which were nothing short of excellent. Will also pointed us in the right direction in Ostuni, he is obviously a popular man around town as all the locals knew him and looked after us as a result.
The villa is beautifull, a testament to Will's skill as a craftsman. As we were the first tenants in a new build, there were faults to pick up on if you were so concerned, but it was easy to focus on the good points: the villa is beautifully set, well equipped, the pool is perfect, the location is great. Just lounging in the hammocks under an olive tree will put you in great mood. We enjoyed it immensely.
The locals are very friendly and welcoming. It helps to have the basics in Italian, it will be much appreciated and any attempts on your part will be reciprocated.
I would have no problem recommending this villa to anyone, and would be happy to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing