We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, fantastic pool area!”
Review of Orsa Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Stayed here as a family for 3 nights and had a fabulous stay.
The pool area was fantastic - recently refurbished.
Family rooms were quite big - with a separate area for the kids single beds.
Breakfast was very nice and substantial.
We booked the rooms some time in advance so got a really good price for summer.
Note that wifi is not really reachable in the rooms and pool area - only the sitting area near reception. This was perfectly fine for us to have some technology free time.
Good location - only a 15-20 minute walk to the port.
Had some issues with the hydrofoils being cancelled the morning we left, so the staff were more than happy to come and pick us up and bring us back to the hotel for a few hours while we waited for the hydrofoils to resume.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2poppets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Great, clean room. Great, silent air condition. Location a short walk from harbour. Amazing pool area with bubble bath. Amazing view from pool to the grande cratere. Great variety of choices at breakfast - almond milk and ricotta ! Nice personell. We felt so welcome and definetly will return!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danijel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Vulcano is a 1-2 day trip where climbing to the top go the volcano for sunset is a must! Orsa Maggiore is within walking distance from the 1 hour trek to the summit. The pool area was an amazing oasis. Just a very relaxing place, and the staff were extremely friendly and nice. The little touches like a fresh espresso upon arrival, to include a room upgrade were just all nicely received. The restaurant is simple but ok. Lunch is light and fresh, and dinner was average but nice service.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank stephenjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hotel is quite far from the harbor but by calling them they would pick you up and drive you there. The exterior, reception, swimming pool are pretty nice. The bedroom is quite average, the beds are on wheels and of poor quality. Nevertheless our overall stay on this island was great. The place is very nice. There are not that much choice for accommodation and this hotel is actually ok for a short stay even though quite expensive. I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tef t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

We attend here 7 nights in June with our little boy, aged 2 1/2. He was treated like a prince, no-one ever complained about our child, all staff were smiling and being kind to him. We would definitely stay there again, if we go to Vulcano again. A family-owned hotel of the best kind!

Room Tip: Wifi connection is best in the rooms just above the reception :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodolfoOrsamaggiore, Proprietario at Orsa Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Birgitte
thank you on behalf of the Management and staff for the kind words he has written there, then we hope to have her back soon our Guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isola Vulcano hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#2 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
578 reviews
1.9 km away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,035 reviews
0.8 km away
Les Sables Noirs
Les Sables Noirs
#3 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#5 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
245 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#6 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
359 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Conti
Hotel Conti
#11 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore

Address: Via Porto Ponente 4, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Price Range: $107 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orsa Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Isola Vulcano, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing