We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Very neat

Want to come back when they have their festivals. Neat to see the ruins! Beautiful views! Little... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
StephanieS21711
,
Kaiserslautern, Germany
via mobile
Fun castle ruins

This is a fun castle to walk around in. I was sad that the main tower was closed during the winter... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
jaclynl323
,
Thallichtenberg, Germany
via mobile
Read all 96 reviews
  
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
64
30
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
30
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle ruins great place to visit walk around degree view burg tower restaraunt picnic playground herbs valley
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This was an interesting place to visit. The weather was foggy and snowy, but it was still beautiful. I'm glad we wore sturdy shoes since it was slippery.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank TaurusMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

This castle has been in my life since I was born. Family trips, school trips, taking visitors or just go there and enjoy the view. It's always fun to visit Burg Lichtenberg or Kusel castle like many Americans like to call it.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank ankeo854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Thankfully, they do not have all the safety barriers everywhere to wander around. However, this means that you have to keep a close eye on your kids.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank TonyM_WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

The Lichtenberg “ruins” contains the castle grounds, including an intact tower you can climb to get a great 360 degree view of the entire surrounding area. There is also two museums, a chapel, a restaurant, and a hotel.
The grounds were free to park and free to enter. We had free reign throughout; the museums might have cost a couple euro but we didn’t enter those.
We toured the area right at sunset and got some great pictures of the low sun over the grounds.
This was a great place to spend a couple hours touring around for free.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

My favorite go-to castle to get out of the house and be with nature. It has a nice playground, the price is great--free! And it has an excellent restaurant with seasonal dishes.... always wonderful soups! In beautiful countryside!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank laurahP8609WZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews