We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Historic Sight Seeing!!!

It was a brisk and foggy morning in November we decided to take a tour over to Baug Lichtenberg... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
ucmesmile7
via mobile
One of my favorites!

This is a great place to visit, and the museums are wonderful. Explore the ruins, climb the... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
dodteach
,
berschweiler germany
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
56
25
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
25
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle ruins great place to visit degree view walk around fantastic views burg tower restaraunt germany picnic euros
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Thankfully, they do not have all the safety barriers everywhere to wander around. However, this means that you have to keep a close eye on your kids.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank TonyM_WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

The Lichtenberg “ruins” contains the castle grounds, including an intact tower you can climb to get a great 360 degree view of the entire surrounding area. There is also two museums, a chapel, a restaurant, and a hotel.
The grounds were free to park and free to enter. We had free reign throughout; the museums might have cost a couple euro but we didn’t enter those.
We toured the area right at sunset and got some great pictures of the low sun over the grounds.
This was a great place to spend a couple hours touring around for free.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

My favorite go-to castle to get out of the house and be with nature. It has a nice playground, the price is great--free! And it has an excellent restaurant with seasonal dishes.... always wonderful soups! In beautiful countryside!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank laurahP8609WZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Nice that you can walk around and explore the ruins without having to pay a fee. We climbed to the top of the tower and took lots of pictures of the fantastic views! There's also a musical instrument museum on the grounds but it was being used for a wedding reception when we were there, may have to go back. The restaurant on the grounds was wonderful and the staff was super friendly!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank zarinafied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Neat ruins of a castle deep in the forest. You can really see the whole footprint of the buildings as well as a catapult and a large well.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank SarahKraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews