We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Book now, pay at stay
USD 187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
USD 157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
108
81
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
81
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifitouristsgermanislandapartment
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016

First, location: Göhren is really small and quiet. In off-season, way too quiet: you'll have troubles finding a decent restaurant, none accepted cards (cash only). I rather recommend Binz or Selling.

Rooms: outdated. For a 4*, it should require a freshening up. The pictures on booking.com were rather deceiving, the ones on tripadvisor are more realistic.

Breakfast: very wide choice, from fresh fruit to ham/fish/cheese to warm food (eggs, bacon...); I usually skipped lunch afterwards. Coffee is on the table, but you can order cappuccino/espresso/latte: unfortunately, they don't taste good. The "wintergarten" is very nice and bright; the other room is too close to the smokers room, and you definitely smelling (also on your clothes afterwards).

People: very nice and friendly, especially the lady at the entrance of the breakfast.
Pool: small but nice, you also get free towels and so on.
With children: there is a nice room with toys, which is priceless in case of bad weather.
Parking: available but it costs you 4€ per day (and there is no alternative to it: the complete island seems to have abolished free parking).

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

My husband I spent three nights vacationing at the Hanseatic Rugen und Villen, and it was a good experience considering the price (which was likely discounted because March is still pretty low season for Rugen). We were looking for a decent hotel with a pool to relax at, and the Hanseatic Rugen certainly was good for this.

The room was clean and spacious and the provided kitchenette (which costs 15 euro to use) which is likely a benefit for some, though we didn't use it. The location was perfect, and on a clear day there are some beautiful views of the water. The pool was lovely and the spa area had several options of sauna, although the steam room was broken while we were there. Also, our first two days, the internet was extremely slow (dial-up level of slowness), but this changed on our last day. Presumably, this was just a technical problem, but be aware that if you plan on a working holiday you might run into some problems.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. We had a light dinner at the bistro one night and weren't greatly impressed with the food (I had potato soup, how do you mess up potato soup? But they managed it...), but the price was decent and there was an impressive amount of different types of brandy. The other restaurants at the hotel only serve traditional German food (specifically, as my German husband proclaimed, old people food), so we didn't partake. It would have been nice to have a little bit better of a selection, because in Goehren there aren't many options outside of excellent fish, and as much as I love fish, two meals a day is one meal too much for me!

Overall, it was a nice hotel which clearly caters to its average customer: Germans over the age of sixty. I would definitely recommend it, but be aware of potential limitations.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We were staying for two nights during winter off season for some days off wellness and exploring the surroundings of Gohren.

The hotel is easy to find by car and there is hotel parking available - even though it costs 4 euro for hotel guests.

The location is very good and from the hotel own tower café you have a very good view over the nearby beaches. The café itself was empty due to off season and could have had more cake choices available but only two which were at least decent.

Wellness and swimming area is spacious and includes besides a well maintained pool different types of saunas and steam baths - excellent!

Food in the restaurant in the evenings is worth the price (3 course menu for 24 euro) but nothing special.

Rooms are good and well equipped. Beds are a little hard and the walls seem to be thin as you can here a lot of noises from outside or from the room service in the mornings.

If you can get the hotel for a decent price - there are often offers on travel booking websites - it is worth staying there when visiting Gohren.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This hotel was WONDERFUL and,if we ever went back to Rugen Island this is where I would stay for a week....The staff went out of their way to make you feel comfortable...the rooms were spacious, clean and very modern..The pool was beautiful and the breakfast was out of this world. There are two different beaches to walk. We preferred the natural walk where there were very few tourists....plus the town was upscale with numerous restaurants.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Nancy212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Travelled to the very pleasant town of Gohren by steam train from Binz and happened upon the Hanseatic by recommendation of the tourist office of the stunning views from the hotels tower cafe, ideal for coffee and cake and open to non-residents. Took a light lunch which was delicious with very friendly service and although not actually experiencing an actual overnight stay would certainly consider for a future visit. Hotel located in a quiet part of the town but within very easy walking distance of the beach and town centre. Also worth visiting the nearby church from the grounds of which there are views over the Rugen Coast in a very tranquil setting.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank leo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews