We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect oceanfront villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Watch the sun set  from the roof balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watch the sun set  from the roof balcony
Stonehouse with street parking Entrance to the Stonehouse-Close the door and enter into the past (with modern amenities)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Watch the sun set  from the roof balcony
Stonehouse with street parking
Entrance to the Stonehouse-Close the door and enter into the past (with modern amenities)
Bedroom #1 facing the ocean , double bed for 2
Dine while watching the ocean waves.
#3 Single bedroom
#2 Bedroom for 2
Cook and watch the waves through the stone arch
Living area
Full bathroom with shower, towels and hair dryer.
Interesting archecture for the kitchen area
Panoramic views  of the ocean from your terrace
Good night!
Stairs to the Natural pool
Natural pool at low tide -December
Natural pool in May
Ed and Bonita invite you to the Stonehouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mosteiros, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ian T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view but a bit noisy”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Situated in the North of the island of San Miguel about 45 mins from the airport a car is essential. On street parking outside the house on a narrow street.
The house was clean and there was plenty of room inside (as there was only 2 of us).
The view from the rear of the property out to sea is amazing; however, the shared pool is shared by anyone and our experience was mainly a dozen or more teenagers! Needless to say we never used it, and the noise (as they are teenagers) was very noticeable from the terrace.
The welcome pack consisted of a pack of bread rolls, a couple of cartons of jam and two coffee sachets; for the price i would expect slightly more?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from the terrace
Liked least: noisy teenagers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Dear Jacki and Ian,
We appreciate your letting know of your stay with us.
We are sorry that you did not have a good time at our traditional Stonehouse in the old fishing village of Mosteiros. This property is the favorite for our guests (since we acquired it 4 years ago) who appreciated the old ways with modern conveniences we have added.
As advertised the natural pool below is communal and on government coastline. There fore at times, the village will enjoy it as well.
The Stonehouse is an exclusive location on the island of Sao Miguel and the rental cost does not include the cost of the free welcome gift. We offer a welcome gift pack of traditional sweet breads and variety of coffees to help our guests feel relaxed and at home. Many of our guests can arrive late near midnight and as well very early in the morning and had nothing to eat for hours. Majority of our guests are grateful we thought of it, especially when they could not get to the store prior to settling into the house. In the future, please let us know in advance if you prefer not to accept our free gift. Ask us about other properties on this website that may be more fitting for your visit to Sao Miguel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
57chef
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect oceanfront villa”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a lovely accommodation in a very quaint village.It is very well equiped and most day to day needs can be met in the towm,ei.groceries,restuatants,bakery,pharmacy.
The owners are very accommodating,and are nearby if you need any help.
The decor and kitchen are updated and well maintained.
We like it so much,we will be returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful terrace overlooking ocean
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate you confirming the information for guests to know more about the Stonehouse and this popular fishing village for vacationers any time of the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne T
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2018
WOW! Anne, you sound like you had a great time at the STonehouse. I am very happy that it made your vacation very pleasant. We look forward to seeing your family again.

Bonita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom_buch
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Wow! Thank you for such a nice review! We enjoyed meeting you also and sharing our special place with you, our new friends.
Come back anytime! After the first visit, you will be hooked on the magic .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing