We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wies is simply the most beautiful Church interior I have seen”
Review of Wies Church

Wies Church
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 112.56*
and up
Skip-the-Line Day Tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This medieval church stands on the southern stretch of the Romantic Road.
Smyrna, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wies is simply the most beautiful Church interior I have seen”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

First of all buy a flash card for your GPS. You will need a GPS if you are driving in Germany/France. Do not rent one it is not worth. Do not miss this visit. It is simply the most beautiful Church interior I have seen. Very close to the town of Fussen and the Neuwachstein Castle. DO NOT MISS any of these three places!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    164
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
433 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

If you are unfamiliar with Rococo style you might want to google images before your visit. It can be a bit overwhelming if you are not expecting the degree of ornateness. When I travel I love to be surprised and this did it for me. It is beyond Baroque. There is not "quiet" place to rest your eyes. One can wonder the effect on the theology of those who regularly attended church there.

I am very glad we chose to make this side trip. It held my attention for over an hour. Everywhere i looked was something more to discover.

Don't miss the small chapel (original church) onthe road up to the Weiss Kirche.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
313 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Magnificent Church!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A must visit church! The interior of the church is nothing compared to the exterior of the church on top of a small hill, which is extremely breath taking already. The ooohs and aahhhs of our kids are a dead give away and they have been visiting churches prior to this church visit. The interior is too artistic it is no wonder that it is a world heritage.

We wish to be back and explore the church more and hopefully to be able to hear mass in the church would be a real privilege!

The church can be included in the day trips to Neuschwanstein or Linderhof Castle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
547 reviews
319 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Don't judge this church by it's cover”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

When you're in Bavaria there's a kirche around every corner and they're all lovely, but let's face it, unless you live there or have unlimited resources, you can't see them all. This is the one not to miss. You can't tell from the outside. It just looks like any other kirche. I was giving it a big yawn from the exterior and then I walked in. You will be blown away!!

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weilheim, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

even if you, like me, feel you've seen enough Baroque Churches to last a lifetime, this one is still worth a visit. The "Flagellated Saviour of the Meadows" is a pilgrimmage site because of a wooden statue of the flagellated Christ chained to a stump who was seen to cry real tears by some farmer and his wife in the 1700s. The statute is difficult to see because it is kept up on the altar, but the imagery of this sculpture is everywhere throughout the church (and in the little prayer chapel at the base of the driveway).
There are several white marble angel sculptures hanging around the nave holding black iron whips and chains, which contrast amazingly with the pastel and gold interior, featuring particularly lovely (the loveliest of the genre?) frescoes by the famed Zimmerman brothers.

Make sure to peek at the collection of votive paintings and artworks that people who have been healed or blessed somehow by the Flagellated Saviour have commissioned and sent in as offerings. They're at the front of the church, to the right of the altar behind a little screen. Some real treasures there!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank parus r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wies Church also viewed

 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Grainau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wies Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing