We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for lunch/dinner with Giverny!”

Auberge du Petit Val
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 8 July 2017

If you've read any of my other reviews from this trip to France, you'll know that I hate when visiting sites that are huge tourist destinations (just don't like being amidst swarms of tourists, many of whom are only there because that is where their bus dropped them despite not having any interest in where they are. Similarly, I prefer to have lunch at a place that is a little ways away from the insanity of those sites. And for Monet's Gardens, the Auberge du Petit Val is definitely a perfect place - it is a five-seven minute drive to the gardens (directly across the river from each other) so it is horde-free. It is a beautiful stone building. The food is amazing. And the service is spectacular (they were so friendly that by the time we left we felt like we need to put them on our Christmas Card list!). Their chef makes some delicious spins on more traditional dishes to offer some creative options. One warning - you dine at a VERY relaxed pace so don't expect to get in and out quickly. And if you do have legitimate time constraints, tell your server so they can accommodate you as much as possible.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Woaw !
When I read this, tears came ... It touched us deepfully.
Such a great comment ! And we will be pleased to answer your card
Thank you a lot and see you ASAP !
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We were recommended this resturant, by the owner of the b&b where we were staying, and we were not disappointed. We were very warmly greeted and the staff were very attentive. Alas our French is minimal but not a problem, the two waiters spoke very good English and were very helpful explaining the dishes on the menu. Each course was beautifully prepared and served, the chef must be commended. Thank you very much for a lovely evening, and if we are ever in the area again we will certainly return.

Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your comment. It makes us feeling great !
It will be a pleasure to see you again.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Well worth a trip out of town, warm greeting, friendly attentive staff. Good ambiance and possibly more importantly good food. The place was packed on a Monday evening which must say loads. Came away thinking we had had a great night and really enjoyed the experience. Go there you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you for your compliments, was a pleasure for us to please you !

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

I would definitely avoid this restaurant as your four legged friends are not allowed. When I tried to book a table all was going well until I told them we had a tiny dog - they sad NO dogs were allowed with NO exceptions. They were very unpleasant so I would not recommend this unfriendly restaurant to anyone!

1  Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Madam,
What right allows you to judge an establishment, without having come to it even?
If for you it is a shame to refuse dogs, everybody is not obliged to accept the presence of our friends on all fours (that we adore in the passage) in a place of restoration(catering), over and above the fact that certain people are simply allergic to it.
Furthermore, the law lets with the discretion of the restaurant owners the choice to accept or not the dogs.
And I see that, not satisfied to have to assault the waiter by the telephone, you cross-post your poison here..... I am sorry for you.
Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

It was highly rated by Trip Advisor and suggested by Stéphane, our host from La Maison d'Hôte Les Jardins du Val. It had the advantage of being walking distance from our B&B. Food was excellent, service friendly and efficient. The decor was comfy country. Would recommend it.

1  Thank JacquesLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for all these compliments. It touches us right to the heart.
Hope to see you again !
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge du Petit Val also viewed

 

Been to Auberge du Petit Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing