We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the Best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Audierne Apartment

Audierne Harbour - 3 mins walk.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Audierne Harbour - 3 mins walk.
Apartment 4, 14 Rue de 14 Juillet, just along from pretty harbour Morning coffee in Audierne Harbour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Audierne Harbour - 3 mins walk.
Apartment 4, 14 Rue de 14 Juillet, just along from pretty harbour
Morning coffee in Audierne Harbour
Nearest small beach - 3 mins drive - 10-15 mins walk
Main Beach - 20 mins walk
Main Bedroom looking out to small terrace area
Small secluded Patio/Terrace
Main Bedroom looking towards hall, toilet area and Bedroom 2
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom decorated and new furniture
Lounge window and kitchen area
Kitchen - Oven and Microwave in tower unit on left
Dining Area and main window by kitchen.
Main Lounge with new sofa and chairs looking towards hallway to bedrooms and bathroom
Main Lounge looking towards TV and relaxer chair
Main Lounge and leather relaxer chair
The separate Bathroom.  Heated Towel rail and bidet.  Toilet is in separate room between bedrooms.
Shower over Bath
River Goyen estuary just before main beach
River Goyen walk up river to Pont Croix
St Tugen Beach - 10 mins drive away
Smaller beach nearer flat
Surfboard paddling lessons in harbour
Local Art Classes on harbour wall.
Plouhinec walkway near Audierne bridge.  Leads to Kayaks.
Audierne harbour area
Vide Grenier (Sales) in Harbour area
Esquibien Beach and yachting area
Summer evening entertainment in Harbour area
View of boats from harbour road
Typical food fare at Fest Noz in Audierne
View of river estuary from harbour road
Lots of beautiful cliff walks around Cap Sizun
Esquibien/St Evette beach
Babe de Trespasses beach near Point de Raz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Audierne, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Wulfsige
Wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

For years we have had different gites in France or Greece, and this is one of the best, equal to one in Castellane and one in Greece. Free parking right outside the door, a few hundred yards from the restaurants, a ca 3 minute drive from two edge-of-town supermarkets, close to enough cliff-top walking to keep us happy for a good number of visits, and the car not even needed for a riverside walk to the next town and back. Deo volente, we shall almost certainly ask for a third visit.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked least: Carrying luggage and purchases to and from the first floor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Gosh - I have just noticed that I did not respond or thank our guests for his lovely comments. Of course we love it too and try to keep it comfortable for everyone - including us!! Thank you so much for your comments and good to meet you in 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathsagag...
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is well situated to the harbour & village. It is set back from the main road with private parking. It is very peaceful. The rooms are well equipped, with comfortable pillows & beds. In the kitchen there's a washing machine which came in useful,as we were on a touring holiday. WiFi has been installed which was great.
There is lots to see in the surrounding area & has great restaurants, the Cafe Quai being one & friendly bars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to harbour & village
Liked least: Toaster didn't brown the bread !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review. I would love to know how we can improve and get all the stars as with all our other reviews who have given us the maximum ratings. Please let me know as I really do take notice of what our guests suggest.
Lorraine Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel_ju...
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment, Felt Like Home”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

After reviewing many apartment rental sites and various locations along the coast, we selected this apartment via TripAdvisor. We had a pleasant stay for 6 days in mid May 2015. This is a very nice apartment– I’ve highlighted specific information below.

Location:
The apartment is located in Audierne, a lovely coastal town in the Finistère region of Brittany, France. The town has everything you need – restaurants, bars, shops, a lovely beach, and great bakeries, and poissionnerie (fish shops) – all walkable. There is a large market in the town on Saturday and a much smaller one on Wednesday. For walking, there are several walks in the area, the local tourist office has more information. There is a supermarket about a 5 minute drive away. You will definitely need a car to get around the area if you want to explore outside of town and I would highly recommend that you do. This is a gorgeous area – lovely small towns, incredible beaches, and the Pointe de Raz, Baie of Trepasses, Point de Van, and Quimper are not to be missed!

The Apartment and Amenities:
We searched several rental sites and looked at many apartments/houses to rent before deciding on this apartment on Tripadvisor. We specifically wanted a comfortable place (1 or 2 bedroom) with a full kitchen, wifi, and a washing machine. This place fit the bill. It’s located in an old stone building with lots of character, directly in town. It has deep window sills, wooden floors and is comfortably decorated with a blend of contemporary furniture and antiques. I would describe it as cozy cottage. The apartment is updated but is not cookie cutter, it has quirky character and feels like home.

There are 2 bedrooms – one large bedroom with a comfortable, double (maybe a queen?) bed and also a crib tucked into a corner. This room has a wardrobe so you can hang up clothes and a vanity with mirror and light, plus a hairdryer tucked into one of the drawers. There are large French doors that go out to a small patio with a table and chairs – it was too cold for us when we visited to use the patio but it seemed to be sunny most of the day and looked like a great place to have morning coffee or an afternoon cocktail in warmer weather. We didn’t use the second bedroom, but it had 2 twin beds, and looked very comfortable.

The toilet is separate from the shower room which I find extremely convenient. The toilet is located close to the bedrooms and has a small sink, while the shower room is just a few feet down the hallway. There is a tub with shower, towel warmer, and a sink.
The kitchen is fully equipped. There are dishes, glasses, lots of utensils, cookware, and bowls. There is a breakfast bar with three stools, and also a separate table with 4 chairs. The appliances are adequate – small refrigerator, 4 burner electric stove, oven and microwave. We never used the oven but did use the fridge, microwave, and stove and all worked perfectly. The owner has great instructions in a yellow book in the kitchen for all the appliances, including the washing machine which is also located in the kitchen. There is no dryer – but there are drying racks located in the hall closet.
The living area is very comfortable with a large couch, 2 matching upholstered chairs, and a more contemporary Eames style chair. It’s a great environment for relaxing, planning your day, reading a book, and watching TV or a movie. The TV has many French channels, there is also a large library of English language movies and books. The wifi worked perfectly for us as we needed to be able to check email frequently while away.

Owner Communication:
The owners were very good at responding to questions and providing information. A few weeks before our stay we received all the information we needed for the apartment plus personalized information around things to do in the area. We had no problems accessing the apartment and getting the necessary things turned on – water, electric, and water heater. Lorraine also has local resources that can help you if anything goes wrong. There is a blue book in the living room that has more information about the apartment as well as a large folder with tons of brochures for things to do around the area.

Things to Do:
Audierne is a small town, located on the coast of the western edge of Brittany. If you like beautiful countryside, small old towns, lovely beaches, narrow scenic roads, and history, you will like this area. If you are looking for big city excitement – this is not for you. We took trips to Quimper, Pointe du Raz, Point du Van, Baie of Trepasses, and many small towns in the area. There are some very lovely walks including one that goes to the cute town of Point Croix just up the river from Audierne. The walk is a loop, with one side being very flat and well groomed (an easy walk – great for running as well) and the other side is much more difficult and took us twice as long to complete. If the tide is up, there may be some areas of the 2nd half that would be impassable. For a leisurely trip, you can go up and back on the easy side.

We managed to easily fill up our week with things to do – the Tourist Office in town has great suggestions. There is not a lot of material in English, but some of the staff speak English and gave us some great ideas.

Eats:
We would recommend L’Etrave, a restaurant very close to the Point du Van about a 15 min drive from Audierne. Dinner there was exceptional. Other recommendations include the patisserie Ti Forn just down the block for delicious Kouign Aman, L’Auberge for an excellent dinner (only open Friday and Saturday) in a typical Bretagne house, and the cute little Bourdon – tea shop, bar, pastry shop (a great place for a warm drink after a long walk).

Overall:
We loved this place. This comfortable and homey environment greatly added to our enjoyment of the region. Hopefully we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
What a lovely and through review of my apartment. I feel very proud that you have enjoyed what feels like home to me too when I am here, and that is the case as I reply to you as I sit in the leather chair typing away.
So sorry for the delay in responding to your Review but the Trip Advisor ap does not seem to work well on mobiles and it has taken me some time to get it to work.

This review in particular will be really useful for people who want to know more about other visitors perspectives rather than just mine which is definitely biased.
So thank you again, especially for the photos that show that the flat looked good as you arrived - always makes a difference especially if guests arrive tired.

I trust that you are able to visit again - you are very welcome.

Lorraine Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location. very comfortable.”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Apartment was Very easy to find. Excellent location, within walking distance to shops bars restaurants and the picturesque harbour (5 mins).. The locals are very helpful, I did find the village idiot, or did he find me? We went in early February, and was quite warm. We hired a car and travelled around the region. There are some beautiful places to visit , concarneau, pont croix, pont l'abbe, Locronan is a marvellous medieval town and has to be visited. And of course Quimper. We were told if you like Audierne in the winter, you will love it in the summer, well we cannot wait to go back. The owner of the apartment was very helpful, and very informative, would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Sorry it has taken so long to respond but the Trip Advisor site is not so great on a mobile so had to try several times on different devices.
We do not get many visitors in the winter time so it is good to have such positive comments from you and that you were comfortable.
Thank you again.
Lorraine Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndyloo1...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could possibly wish for!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This apartment is so comfortable and includes everything you may need. Furnished beautifully. Great little patio which catches the sun all day. The location is perfect just a short stroll to the harbour side where there are bars and restaurants, and patisserie even nearer. Wi-Fi always welcome and even had ipad docking. The owner even gave us her discount reference when we booked the ferry. EXCELLENT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patio because you could sit out on an evening with a bottle of wine
Liked least: The steps up to the apartment but only because I have a bit of a mobility issue at present
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We try hard to make the apartment as comfortable for us as possible and according to this review it seems our comfort is as important as other guests. It is always good to know that we are hitting it about right but we can always improve so a chat with you helped to change something we were actually thinking about. Thank you. Lorraine Morgan - Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing