We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
49
4
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
4
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub amazing location hostel games mountains sauna guests hire innsbruck suggestions skiing
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

One of the coolest and most relaxed places I have ever stayed. The owner, Doug, and everyone who worked there were extremely helpful and very kind. They had great amenities and some option day trip options for really cheap!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This is far and away the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The facilities and staff provide everything needed to have a great time, whether for in-house entertainment (hot tub, sauna, card table, tons of video and board games, very affordable beverages) and daily adventures (guided hiking and climbing trips, outdoor gear for hire, AWESOME ADVICE). Being a smaller place, hosting around a dozen guests at a time, everybody becomes well acquainted with the staff and other guests, which leads to a very welcoming and active atmosphere. I left feeling like family! Highly recommended, particularly for solo travelers and friends traveling in smaller groups.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

The first thing that stuck me about this place was the stench.
Cleanliness is obviously not a priority for these guys.
Kitchen- FILTHY (dishwasher did not work and was not repaired for the entire week)
Bathrooms- FILTHY (plus only one guest can enjoy a hot shower at one time due to plumbing issues)
Communal areas- Badly maintained (singed and torn upholstery) & FILTHY
Staff using the bathroom next to Sauna suite thought it appropriate to leave a selection of 10-15 empty shower gel/shampoo bottles on the shower floor, frequently neglected to flush the toilet after use and often left pants lying on the floor.
I don't even want to get started on the hot tub.........!
Avoid Avoid Avoid!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehappynibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougfletch, Manager at Doug's Mountain Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Dear Miss Millar. We were very sad and sorry to read your review. A little confused as well... Your group booked the Getaway exclusively for a week. At the beginning of the week your group was told you are personally responsible for the cleanliness of it during your stay. The place was in perfect condition upon your arrival. Despite us informing you of this my staff still each day came up and emptied your bins, picked up your leftover beers in the room and wiped down the kitchen benches, beyond their call of duty given the conditions outlined above.

As to your claims: Firstly, no one ever informed any of the staff the dishwasher was not working. It was working at the beginning of the week and at least mid week. I know this because staff put your dishes in the dishwasher for you and put it on a cycle. Staff using bathroom next to the sauna - hmm, interesting, as they have their own bathrooms so as to why they'd use yours is odd. The hot tub was in perfect condition your whole stay, my staff checked it daily :S Shower gels in bathrooms are complimentary. You were right in pointing out that several were empty though, we apologise for this and have now thrown them away.

Again we were sorry to read your review, we had a good time with your group, taking them to St Anton to ski for the day, and hanging out with you guys a couple of nights. We hope that it is only you who had such a negative experience here at DMG. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness levels and can only point to our 98% rating on hostelworld.com as testament to what we believe reflects the cleanliness standards here at DMG.

Sincerely,
The DMG team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I have traveled a lot in my time and visited many wonderful places and met some amazing people. But none compare to this gem located in Fulpmes!! All the staff were friendly and there was a real sense of community that everyone was welcome to get involved. Will definitely return in the future! Thank you all!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0byRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

This is clearly one of the best two hostels I've stayed in.
The facilities are great, the staff even better, the mountains are beautiful, and the long list of indoor and outdoor activities makes it impossible to be bored !
But all that wouldn't mean anything without the warm, welcoming atmosphere you can find there.
DMG's definitely a place to go !

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews