We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Koh Samet, quiet gorgeous beach, not children friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best resort in Koh Samet, quiet gorgeous beach, not children friendly”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The resort is located on a private beach, in sharp contrast with other Samet beaches that can be quite crowded. The main beach on the east is gorgeous, with white sand and very clear water. There is not a real beach on the west, it is more a pier from which you can snorkel (don't expect much though, no comparisons with snorkeling you can have on coral reefs, you just see the few fish that are fed by the resort from the pier).
The villas have not been designed for families, there is no privacy if you travel with children as the villas have only one room; taking 2 villas is impractical with young children as villas are totally isolated from each other (great for couples!); add to that the fact that families do not seem to be welcome in the resort (even if personnel are very nice with young children) as price asked to add a bed is simply exorbitant, children don't get the snacks distributed during the day (such as afternoon tea, even if they have to pay for the room and breakfast) and this lead to the comment in title that it is not a children friendly.
It is a great place to wind down, I would not spend more than 3-4 days as would get pretty bored.

Room Tip: The beach villa have great views but as they are literally on the beach they have much less privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emicla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    92
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
114
368
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Not only was this resort amazing but also Samet Island was outstanding.
Only about 3 hours drive from Bangkok and a nice boat ride. There are great places to party around the resort and some amazning beach shaks for Thai food. Down side is the limited food in house, but thats cool considering all thats around. On the beach we also saw some amazing fire dancers and enjoyed the hookah bars.
The resort is comfy and well kept.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

this resort is located at the southern point of Koh Samet.
You are truly alone and far from the noise of the main beaches.
Rooms: clean, spacious and well decorated
Food: no choice as there is nothing around the hotel. quality is ok but nothing extraordinary
Service: very nice and polite staff. The private boat was a plus and the main pool overlooking the bay is great. The hotel offers snorkling equipement at the beach

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiriocasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I decided to spoil ourselves at the end of our last trip and booked into the Paradee in July 2011 (overdue review). We couldn't have picked a better place. Paradee is gorgeous, so much thought and effort has gone into every detail. The rooms are amazing: beautiful furnishings, spacious and romantic with everything you could want from an outdoor shower and lots of cupboard space to a big deck, espresso machine and a fruit basket that is replenished daily.
The breakfast was delicious. As it was low season the buffet wasn't running so we ordered a la carte (which I prefer as it's nice a fresh). Everything came out: juices, fruit, pastries and delicious eggs and noodle dishes. Afternoon tea, served anywhere you like from 3-5, was a lovely touch: a pot of green tea served with a platter of little bites, which we took in our room on our deck most days.
Our only gripe was that the resort was so cut off and isolated. We had planned on staying 3 nights but we found a low season "pay for 3, stay for 4" package which we booked. Given the resorts location you are confined to the resort (unless you pay for day trips), so 3 days was probably the perfect amount. Having said that even though you have no option but to eat in the hotel restaurant the food is excellent and the prices reasonable (for a resort of this calibre).
One other gripe is that you are required to use the hotel's speed boat service. We were already on Koh Samet and came from another hotel at the other end of the island by way of taxi yet we had to pay for the speedboat service both ways. I understand the boat is part of the experience and they are trying to keep it exclusive but I think they should make an exception if you are already on the island or, alternatively, offer to pick you up from where you are.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatMcHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is my 3rd visit to the Paradee Hotel. Living in bangkok this is really easy to reach the hotel for a week-end escape.
I really enjoy the hotel setting, the beach is beautiful and I strongly don't agree with the people who tell the contrary. I've been to many different beaches in Thailand and this is definitely the most beautiful one you can find at only 150 km from Bangkok.
There is unfortunately a "BUT"... I will go every week-end if the management, food and service were better. The food & beverage manager is from Norway. He is the only expat of the hotel and let me tell you the food is my biggest malus about this hotel. Over a year they did not change once the menu, they don't offer any special of the day/week dish with fresh catch fish for example. I tried everything, from thai food to western food. None of them is good. The meat is not cooked as you ask, even a simple pad thai or papaya is not done well which is disapointing when the chef is Thai and the food is not cheap !! I recommended this place to many friends/family and they all agree on this point... This is not acceptable for a hotel of this range and price...The waiter/waitress are really REALLY nice though. Last time we've been there we had a guy named MING to serve us at each of our meal and he is lovely and entertaining with the kids.
About the room, they badly miss standards... Something you will get a Nespresso coffe machine, sometimes a Lavazza and this for a same room category type. The television is never the same from one room to an other, the air conditioning is struggling to make real cool in the room. The curtains are old and damaged and forget about an introduction about the room to inform you about the safe location etc.. etc.
When checking out you need to be very carefull on your bill cause they make mistakes...They will charge you extra boat transfer or mini bar consumption that you did not even take. This is annoying and unprofessional.
I hope this can improve soon cause it will be nice to go again but in the meantime I will definitely chose an other hotel for Xmas and new year's eve cause I don't want to pay 12,000 bath per head for gala dinner for bad food !!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KMIED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
4.8 km away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
705 reviews
3.6 km away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
309 reviews
4.2 km away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
364 reviews
4.5 km away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
429 reviews
2.6 km away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Property: Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: 76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price range (per night): $484 - $1,035
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradee is renowned and treasure for its tranquility and “away-from-it-all” location. 40 luxurious appointed villas, all with magnificent view of either lush tropical Gardens, or white sandy beaches washed by the Gulf of Thailand.Hotel Pier; Jadet Pier (Opposite TOP Supermarket)Optional for compulosry speed boat;1) Shuttle speed boat (fee at THB 750 per person per way)From Jadet Pier (mainland) at 2PM and 5PMFrom Paradee (Koh Samet) at 11AM and 1PM2) Private Speed boat (fee at THB 3,000 per boat per way, Maximum 6 passangers)**Advance reservation require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradee Resort And Spa Hotel
Paradee Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing