We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
8
4
2
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
4
2
3
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

That last review was an insult to Tony and Pan . The place is spotlessly clean with Tony and Pan and the staff working so hard . The food Pan and the staff cook is fabulous and the whole place is so friendly . We have been staying with Tony and staff for 6 years and allways stay 3 weeks . They are wounderfull hosts and so are the staff . They are constantly cleaning but not in your face . Tony and Pan are an amazing couple and i,m sure if people choose to go there they will be more than pleased with the whole set up . Rather than go to the busy beaches on the island we are more than happy to stay in a piece of tranquility but you are only about 15 mins walk from the main town if needs be . ( GIVE THE PLACE A TRY AND PROVE ME WRONG ) you will love it .Tried a few places over there but you wont beat this place for peace and value for money .....

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muzzarees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I have been staying on Koh Samet for a number of years and found Tony and Pens guest house in 2009.

The guesthouse is located on its own small strip of beach facing Baan phe and offers a good choice of accomadation ranging from lovely new bungalows (2010) to more basic rooms with share bathrooms (Very Clean). prices are extreamly good value for Koh Samet 300 or 400bht for fan room shared bathroom to 900 to 1000 for the new style bungalows with TV, fridge etc. all rooms have A/C if you want for a little more

My Fav is room number 1 which is actually located over the water with a nice balcony perfect for relaxing in the eve. this room also has TV and Fridge for about 500bht.

All staff work hard here to maintain the high standards that Tony and Pen set for there guests and if not found in the kicthen will often be seen maintaining the garden or pink/golden sand beach.

The guesthouse in My and many others opinion offers one of the best Kitchens on the island Penn is a dedicated cook and thai dishes range from basic 60/70 Bht stir frys/fried rice, noodles etc to more complex currys and fish dishes.

Tony is a Bavarian chap and his western menu reflects this in its taste and portions a fav of mine is his Pork schenzel with salad and fries which i have never managed to finish. Burgers are homemade there and then and also offer great value. the most expensive dishes on the menu still only come in at 200 bht or so for a whopping great steak with the trimmings. The BBQ can also be fired up for bigger parties as long as notice is given. Overall the restraunt is great value with good portions and is popular with visiting thais, westerners and local expats.

The Small bar offers all you need all the thai beers you expect chang,Leo etc for around 60bht a bottle and draft chang all served ice cold. Other european beers served by the bottle heiniken etc Wine, spirits and fresh fruit juices from the kitchen. TV sometimes on for sport esp F1 grand prix and other events at request. Ask tony for a shot of his homemade medicine shot if you are brave it will certainly put hair on your chest.

Lastly if you have any further travel plans just ask tony and he will help if he can. he has arranged pick up from the airport for me 3 times (the driver safe and quick at around 2 hours from airport to speed boat and cold beer) this comes in at around 1800 to 2000 baht each way for the car. Moterbikes can be rented for around 250 bht a day from next door to tonys place.

The Guest house is charming, the staff work hard, location is supurb and perfect for relaxing on the beach, beer garden or on your balcony. its very quite location day and night away from the madness on the main drag.

Room tip: room number 1 is my fav
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank smirky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I booked and paid for 7 nights at this bungalow. We left after enduring 4. I have never in my 30 years of travelling come across such rude arrogant and aggressive people.
Stay well away.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Inspecta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews