We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.. a place to kick back”
Review of Samed Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samed Resort
Ranked #20 of 57 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“.. a place to kick back”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My wife and I didnt get to stay here however we did manage to call in several times in the evening for a few drinks. A very laid back cruisy place beside the beach. Perfect for a drink while watching the sun go down. Friendly staff and good food. Recommend.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jono2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Samet resort is an ideal resort to stay if you're looking for a place to take a real break from reality and settle into the original feel that Thailand use to offer to travellers before tourism took over the islands. Set on the other side of the island, Samet resort offers, the best Thai cuizine on the island, a range of beautifully restored/built bungalows catering to all budgets from high to low, an incredibly relaxing and chilled out atmosphere in the lounging area that leads right on to the beach including hammocks that swing right over the top of it and my favourite place - a tree house that hangs right over the top of the sand, and of course some great friendly service by the owner who will look after you whatever your needs.

At Samet there are plenty of extras, including being able to rent a motorbike, go out Wakeboarding (great fun and Tim will show you how its done), massages, beauty therapy, speed boat trips (you can get a speedboat to/from the resorts beach of you don't fancy the long boat ride to the island), in the lounge there's a pool table, table tennis,and free wi-fi which is a huge benefit to anyone with a laptop.

For someone doing some work, needing the right sort of atmosphere, to relax and have some thinking time, it's a perfect place to spend your day (or weeks as it can be), taking it easy with a stunning view of Thailand's well known sandy beach and clear blue sea.

About 10 mins away from the main shops and the busier side of the island, Samet resort is the perfect place to get away from it all but be close enough at the same time, so if you're ready to get down to some serious relaxing chilling out, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This resort is located on the northern part of Koh Samed Island, at a 30 minutes walking distance from the main beach (situated on the west coast). It is therefore ideal if you want to escape the noise and have some peace at night.

The bungalows are very basic but clean. We had one bungalow with fan and cold shower and gave the nicest to the children (hot water and Air-Con). It is important to bring additional sheets and a mosquito net although the staff kindly sprayed the bungalows around 6 pm. The price (800 Bath / bungalow) does not include breakfast, and you need to count approx 150 Bath / person / breakfast. We really recommend to have the breakfast at Ao Noi Na; the quantities are huge (compared to other restaurants on the main beach) and the eggs perfectly cooked.

The staff and the manager/owner are very friendly but I disliked the heavy music that the manager/owner is listening to all day long (and that was getting a little bit on my nerves – especially when you are willing to watch peacefully the sea, with a book, in a hamac). The view from the hotel is OK although the beach is really not attractive (we did not even go for a swim). The service at the restaurant is really bad (they never managed to bring us our four dishes at the same time), most probably because of a lack of staff in the kitchen. I recommend this place if you don’t want to put a lot of money in accommodation while staying on Koh Samed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Do not expected much. You have for your money but no more. I feel unsafe as the window of the washroom could not close well. Bed a bit hard but of course you don't come here to spend hours in bed while the beach is near.
If you have a bit more budget, you can consider a better one but it's ok for a 2-3 stays away of the city of Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageurautourdumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at Samed Resort for three nights. We spent the first night in another resort down the road, but found it to be high quality, but expensive, had a closed-off beach and they kept playing cheesy cover music in the resor seaside. It wasn't bad, but not great.

We switched to Samed resort which is a family-run small business which includes 13 rooms, a bar, restaurant and laidback resort spot on the beach. Internet is free, but didn't reach into our room. That wasn't a problem because relaxing in the resort area was very comfortable. The owner makes a great selection of cocktails for 150 bath (you get an additional 10% discount on all purchases at the restaurant and bar if you're staying there), the food was good (on par or above the restaurants of the other resorts or the village which is about 15 minutes walking).

We also rented scooters which are 300 Baht per day (local prices are around 100 Baht / hour, 250-350 for a day). They were not in great shape (brake a bit loose, speed meter and gas indicator not working), but they got the job done. When we returned them the next day a few hours late it wasn't even mentioned.

The owner plays a selection of contemporary music which you'll probably like if you'r in your 30's-40's. Think Morcheeba/Massive Attack/Chilli Peppers/Amy Winehouse/Old soul/House classics.

The rooms are no-frills and very good value for money. Ours had an airco and hot shower, darkened windows (to reduce heat by sunlight), a two-person bed (which was a hard, but otherwise fine), a TV. Don't expect anything fancy, but just the comfortable basics.

All-in-all our visit was a great success and a perfect way to end three weeks of traveling through Thailand. It's an excellent place to chill-out and stay for longer than you had intended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michiel22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
2.3 km away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
5.6 km away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
2.2 km away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
1.1 km away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Resort

Property: Samed Resort
Address: Ao Noi Na, Ko Samet, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price range (per night): $117 - $276
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Samed Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing