We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe it is so high in TripAdvisor!”
Review of Rim Tarn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rim Tarn Inn
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Pak Chong
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Overall pretty disappointing. I had pretty high expectations after reading the reviews, and it being high up in TripAdvisor for Pakchong, however this place really needs some TLC, and the Management / Owner adding a bit of money to do some urgent refurb. Only positive side is that it is quite close the the train station / market area so was quite convenient.

The rooms: VERY thin walls. We could hear neighbour's TV / neighbours talking / traffic...., so weren't able to sleep too well. The room was large enough, however the furniture, and whole interior needs some serious attention. Hot shower was lukewarm, unless you turned the pressure down to a trickle. The mattresses need to be replaced... So soft, and "U" shaped as they have probably been used since the inn opened decades ago...

The breakfast on the lobby level OK. Nothing special. The small pool (which we didn't use or hadn't intended to use), was used as a bird (pigeons) bath..., probably not hygienic to swim in. Talking about pigeons, there were a few dead ones outside our window.... Lovely.

TIP: There seems to be no local giveaway map of Pakchong / Khao Yai National Park area, or even one to buy, make sure you have "Google Maps" available...!

Though it wasn't too pricey (THB 900 / night, incl. breakfast), would not go back, there are loads of other resorts to choose from which can't be worse.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road, and not a connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

As the review title may suggest, the foyer, and indeed throughout the whole venue, was a perfumed scent synonymous of an elderly lady's boudoir. A fragrance which was perhaps first introduced onto the market just after the suffragettes had secured the vote - in short it smells old. However, compared to the fetid aromas of decomposing dogs and the mounds of refuse which mottled the air outside, walking into the Rim Tarn Inn, Pak Chong was an emancipating experience.
The friendly staff, always sporting Thailand's trademark smile, showed us to our rooms which were spacious yet cozy and boasted a wealth of home comforts: satellite television, wi-fi, a fridge, and even bath - a rare, rare sight in the furthest reaches of rural southeast Asia.

The hotel is situated on a main road meaning we opted to stay in a room towards the back - and with this we were also afforded fantastic views of a river and a stunning temple located atop a hill comprising the most vibrant hues of greenery.

We decided to take advantage of the 'rabiang nam' or water balcony for our evening meal. The river next to it plays host to a bounty of interesting and exotic wildlife. Monitor lizards, turtles and indeed snakes can be found here, and I watched in awe whilst toiling on a mouth full of T-Bone which had the texture and I dare say a taste very much like the belt holding up my trousers. I mused that another hole would probably need to be added if we continued eating here.

Breakfast wasn't much better. 'Traditional American Breakfast' boasted the menu entry. If a traditional American breakfast consists of one solitary hotdog, a slice of tomato, and an egg which looks like the result of a meeting between a stick of dynamite and a chicken's backside, then they had it down pat. If not, I'd suggest that some alterations to the menu should be made.

Although the food didn't cut the proverbial, my experience at the hotel in general was super, and due to the exceptionally good value of the rooms - just B800 per night, I shall return whenever I next visit the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGangKiowOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServices2014, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายต้อนรับลูกค้า at Rim Tarn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. If you can explain more about your experience at Rimtarninn that would be help us to improve it.
Now we are ready to serve you a better room and service. please let us prove again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Average hotel, but nice and eager to please staff, 1 off the ladies speaks very good English.

Try to get a room at the back, the rooms in the front are VERY noisy because off all the traffic of the busy road in front of the hotel (day and night time!).

The room and bathroom were clean, a bit old but still comfortable enough.

The WiFi is signal in the room is strong enough for the use off Skype, hotmail et cetera!

If you arrive by train or bus they will pick you up or drop you when you leave.

We used the hotel as a starting point for some day trips in the Khao Yai National park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServices2014, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายต้อนรับลูกค้า at Rim Tarn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you Ms.Robert. We are very glad to hear your voice and sorry for the noise during the night.
We think we can reduce this problem for next guess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very nice hotel at a great price including a set breakfast. A riverside restaurant was very good and the staff were excellent. The room was clean, not the newest but very good. If you arrive by mini-bus they will pick you up or drop you when you leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Darrell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

after an extremely difficult day traveling - from south of Hua Hin, via the Songkran traffic of Bangko and a real disappointing visit to the Khao Yai national park (and a very weird experience traveling from there to Pak Chong via the inumerable 'wild west theme resorts/ restaurants which we really didn't expect in this part of Thailand (or anywhere else for that matter) Rim tarn Inn was a lifesaver

We had looked it up in one of the guides (Lonely Planet or something similar) and it had a bad write up but was cited as best of a poor selection in the town. This may be well be the case ( this wouldn't be our town of choice to stay in that's for sure) but if you have to stay in the town, can't imagine there would be better

Hotel is easily accessible being on the main road through the town, the receptionist was excellent, we got a good price of 800 baht per room including aircon and other extras such as mini bar and the room and hotel generally was exceptionally clean (the guide book descriptions are well out of date as the dirty carpets have been replaced with laminate flooring, the bathrooms refurbished etc)

A hidden gem was the restaurant/bar on the river - fantastic view, excellent food (the menu goes on for about a 100 pages which is a bit ovewhelming) and the staff a mix of professional and just nice

the only thing letting the hotel down is the pool which whilst not quite dirty, has many tiles missing, the skimmers need to be on longer and the sun beds I wouldn't want to sit on. But at the end of the day, I can't imagine anyone coming to this down to sunbathe and holiday around a pool

Everything else was perfect - not the Ritz or a posh resort, but then neither were the prices and for a stop over on the way to somewhere else (which is all the town is worth) it was superb

Internet also very fast which is important to me ... can't fault service, quality and price combinatino

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolineess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pak Chong hotels
1.1 km away
The Hill Hotel
The Hill Hotel
#16 of 38 in Pak Chong
30 reviews
18.1 km away
Juldis Khao Yai Resort & Spa
Juldis Khao Yai Resort & Spa
#20 of 38 in Pak Chong
25 reviews
17.3 km away
The Piano Resort
The Piano Resort
#21 of 38 in Pak Chong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Khaoyai Fahsai Resort
Khaoyai Fahsai Resort
#28 of 38 in Pak Chong
15 reviews
3.3 km away
Rajpracha Resort & Spa
Rajpracha Resort & Spa
#19 of 38 in Pak Chong
6 reviews
0 km away
Sierra View Resort
Sierra View Resort
#13 of 38 in Pak Chong
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rim Tarn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rim Tarn Inn

Address: 430 Mittraphab Highway, Pak Chong 30130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong District > Pak Chong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Pak Chong
Price Range: $36 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rim Tarn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
our services: Rooms with Free internet, fridge and air con. Only 5-10 mins walking to Train or Bus Station, Night Market, 7-11 convenience store, Bank, Gas Station, Pub Bar and restaurant. Also, Car rental, one-day Tour, Massage Chairs are in the hotel. Please email us to ask and reserve in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Rim Tarn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing