We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 am - 6:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Good view from the lighthouse but that's about it

Worth a visit if you are in Yantai, there is a small hike and then you pay 10 RMB to take a lift to... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2018
Ankit S
via mobile
a piece of Europe in coastal China

This is an attractive park with few cars and attractive European buildings. The park is now free to... read more

Reviewed 6 October 2018
Calvin C
,
Manchester, New Hampshire
Read all 127 reviews
  
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
14
8
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
8
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house beautiful park perfect place lighthouse treaty denmark gulf pirates sea cars port attractions china
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Worth a visit if you are in Yantai, there is a small hike and then you pay 10 RMB to take a lift to reach the top of lighthouse from where you can see the vast sea and skyline of Yantai.
Yantai is a beautiful coastal city rivalling the best of European cities and the view from top can be mesmerizing!

Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

This is an attractive park with few cars and attractive European buildings. The park is now free to visit and the lighthouse is 10 RMB to climb (worth the cost). There is also an attractive Chinese temple. English and Chinese signs describe the places. Come early if possible to beat the crowds (although it didn't get too crowded by China standards).

Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Yantai Mountain (煙台山) is located in north of Yantai City and is surrounded by sea on its three sides. It is 3.2 km (2 mi) from Yantai Railroad Station by car. The 45 ha (111 acre) and 42.5 m (139 ft) high Yantai Mountain is more like a hill than a mountain. The name Yantai Mountain (煙台山) came from a beacon built in 1398 during the Ming Dynasty. It was used to signal an early warning of the pirates from Japan. Later the city was named Yantai City after it. According to the "Tianjin Treaty" (天津條約), Yantai opened to foreign countries later in 1861 and became the earliest port opened to foreign countries in Shandong.

We went there around 11 am on Sunday, and it seemed like there were not so many tourists around. It surprised us that the ticket booth and the tourist center were closed. We had free entrance to the site. The site was famous for its consulates, foreign banks, and many other villas built by seventeen countries in and near Yantai Mountain during the treaty period. We were happy to see most of the buildings were still maintained quite well by renting it out for cafés, restaurants and museums. It was also sad to learn that strong countries still invade weak countries. We went to the former residence of the US consulate built in early 1990. Today it is used as a café. We had coffee and desserts in such a historical building. The Denmark consulate is located on the top near the lighthouse. We went up to the lighthouse and enjoyed the 360 degree view of the Yantai port and Yantai City. It was surprising to learn most of the traditional buildings had orange roofs. Of course there are some temples on the site beside those foreign buildings. The most famous one is the Dragon King Temple (龍王廟). One surprisingly newly opened museum - the museum of Chinese Qipao (中華旗袍博物館, a.k.a. cheongsam) is located near the Old Japanese consulate dormitory (日本領事館宿舍舊址). It was an amazing museum with detailed development of the Qipao since it started in 1911 when the ROC established. We have never seen a place that gives you such deep information of the history and recent new trend of the Qipao.

We really liked seeing those different styles, elegant buildings with gardens, and the view on the hill. It is an easy walking trip in half a day, and we learned some of the background information about the Yantai. Comfortable shoes are recommended. Although shuttle is available to take you to the top, walking is much more fun and allow you to see more. If possible, try to get a map of the area (if available) in order to plan before you go.

Thank jameshuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This scenic area gave its name to the city. Free and well maintained, there's plenty to do here. The area is the location of four former foreign consulates representing the UK, the US, Denmark, and Japan. There's also a Qipao Museum, two temples, and a lighthouse. Each of the attractions are small and manageable and all are close to each other. If you have kids with short attention span, this is a perfect place to while away an afternoon.

Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

The yantai hill area is free to visit and worth spendig about 1/2 day to explore the houses and scenic there. No cars there (or only from local workers) and nice gardens, thus a quite calm and relaxed place to spend some hours.

Visiting the top of the lighthouse costs you Y10 and gives you a nice overwiew of the area and the sea.

Thank sire_eris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

An awesome park and strategic place for photos taking especially during winter. Not much visitors during winter. I really enjoyed and amazed by the snowing scenery happened

Thank michaellU6188DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Great views of the city on top of the lighthouse. Nice scenery and environment and a good view of the ocean.

Thank OutlawzDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We entered the park just as they were closing and spent a couple of hours exploring. Being there in the evening was a very unique experience. There were not many people, which is very rare for a popular tourist spot in China. This gave us a chance to explore at our own pace. The relatively small park has a mix of many things, from old western embassies to Chinese temples, from light house to a section of the old City Wall, and sprinkled with statues, gardens, and tree-lined paths. The best part for me was the beautiful view at sunset, of the ocean, beach, and city skyline. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank SDTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I stumbled upon this on this my second time in Yantai. There's not a lot for English speaking tourists to do in this city and this is one of the most interesting. And there's even English descriptions of the various temples and buildings.

Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

A beautiful park in Yantai, adjacent to Golden Gulf Hotel.
Can easily spend half a day. Many well maintained villas were formerly consulates during days of Yantai being a Treaty Port. Former Danish Consulate well restored and maintained. Other buildings act as museums and tea house.
Great views from former 'Smoke Platform' and lighthouse on summit.
Lovely coastal footpaths with Rongting Pavilion above a fascinating area of rocky coastline popular for wedding photography.
Also excellent views of the harbour - one of China's busiest.
I went twice to Yantaishan during my recent stay at Yantai.

Thank BJBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews