We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,673)
Filter reviews
3,673 results
Traveller rating
3,221
338
83
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,221
338
83
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoulder massagecolonial stylemarina viewgames roompool staffinfinity poolbeautiful hotelcable carwelcome drinkbest hotel we have ever stayedplanters restaurantour honeymoonmoment you arriveperdana quaymerchant roomluxury hotelpool side
Filter
Updating list...
1,239 - 1,244 of 3,673 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

A hotel that provides an excellent service with attention to detail. They deserve their high star rating - because they work at it. Every one of the staff are polite and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. There is a great variety of delicious food on the menu. The accommodation is very comfortable with large rooms and plenty of space. The pool area and the surrounding garden was well kept and extremely tidy at all times. This hotel comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: Its worth upgrading to a sea facing room with a balcony. The rooms are large and you can enjoy watching the sun go down.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IRiddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear IRiddell,

Thank you for choosing The Danna Langkawi during your recent visit to the island. We truly appreciate your kind compliments; our associates are very happy to learn that we just got another happy guest!

Our associates are very passionate in rendering hospitality, their warmth have touched so many guests and we are glad that they made your stay enjoyable. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed our food served, our room and the pool. We hope your experience with us is memory that last for a very long time.

We thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor IRiddell. Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

..... attentive, detailed and thats why I've been there 6 times.. :D and will still always go back there :)

Rooms are great, Pool is great, the Happy hour is great, The staff..... simply incredible :D

Room Tip: Marina Room overloking the Harbour..
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L1ndemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear L1ndemann,

Thank you for staying with us and returned for the 6th time! We thank you for your short and sweet review. Your kind compliments are motivating. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We arrived at the danna on a luxury escapes package and were not disappointed by the hotel, room or pool. Sun beds were easy to get and the staff very helpful bringing around water, ice cream and even cleaning your sunglasses. We found it very relaxing but would like to make a few suggestions

The outside bar looked like a temporary building and there was no shade over the tables and chairs, whilst the inside bar was grand and opulent, it was hardly ever used and our personal preference would be it sit outside of an afternoon or evening and enjoy a drink rather than be inside with no view.

The meal we had at the hotel was part of our package was really nice, but the seafood platter was not nice at all, everything was deep fried which was a surprise given how accessible fresh seafood is in the area and over cooked, the calamari was unedible. We were asked at check in to nominate dates and times for our extras but it didn't seem to make any difference as we had to ask staff to organise rather than it being ready at the time we had had to nominate, I don't think that system works and would suggest you can decide on the day as there was always plenty of room in the restuarants, the English afternoon tea we couldn't do justice as it was between lunch and dinner, another suggestion would be that you make it available from 1pm not 3 pm so guest can enjoy more it is was quite substantial.

The pool was lovely and never felt crowded and plenty of shade along the sides of the pool. Not many dining choices outside of the hotel and only one massage open option that I wouldn't recommend, the hotel massages were very good abd professionally done, I would recommend those.

we did a cruise on the damah Indi which I would thoroughly recommend had the most fabulous day and experience.

Room Tip: The basic merchant room is very lovely, you don't need to upgrade
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drewen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear drewen2014,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Langkawi recently. We appreciate your time to write us a review on TripAdvisor and your recommendations.

We noted your feedback on the seafood platter and we sincerely apologize for the disappointment. The arrangement for the extras were indeed supposed to be arranged according to your preference, we regret it did not turn out to be like how you have wanted.

On a positive note, we are glad that you enjoyed the pool and our services at the spa. Those ice cream, water and cleaning of sunglasses etc are our The Danna Poolside Experience, we are happy that you are pleased with our signature services.

Since The Danna Langkawi is a colonial-inspired hotel, we serve our English Afternoon Tea during the typical tea time which is after 3pm. It's suitable for two, best to share with your loved one!

We thank you again for staying with us and taking your time to share your experience and giving us all the recommendations. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I cant say enough about this place...the staff, the service, the rooms, the pool, the bar,
everything is just perfect
i cant find a single fault to it
The best hotel i have ever visited in my life....
a special thanks to the staff..they are the highlight of this place...
simply super

Room Tip: i would spend a bit more and take the sea facing rooms...
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pooja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Pooja S,

Thank you for choosing The Danna Langkawi and reaffirmed our standard of services. We are very thrilled to learn that you had an impeccable stay here and though The Danna Langkawi is the best hotel you have ever stayed. Our associates thank you for your kind compliments, and yes, they are indeed our real assets! We thank you again and we look forward to having you again during your next trip to Langkawi.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We stayed for 4 nights having been to KL & Penang first. The hotel was much grander when we arrived than we had imagined, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Great first impressions.
We opted for the cheapest room option, and this was perfectly nice and comfortable. It overlooked the entrance and car park, but we didn't spend much time there, so it was of no matter. We weren't very keen on the bath opening into the bedroom, as although it looked very luxurious, every sound in the room travelled.
We ate in the hotel restaurant one of the evenings. The food was very nice, but the setting was a bit 'dining hall', and not intimate enough for us. We ate other nights at other 5 star hotels in Langkawi, which had outside seating, and found those settings more romantic, and the food exceptional.
The Danna hotel pool area is huge, and there was plenty of sunbeds to go round. However, I thought the pool itself was cloudier than I would have expected, perhaps because it is particularly large.
We liked the veranda bar, as it was a nice cool area to have a drink and relax at the end of the day.
Overall we had a very relaxing stay, and thought the hotel was good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sightsee809458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear GN&CB,

Thank you for choosing The Danna Langkawi recently and your review on TripAdvisor.

We noted your comment on the bath opening to the bedroom and we regret it did not impress you. There is another layout which the bath is closed with a 2-panel door and provides better privacy. We wish we had known about your concern during your stay so that we had an opportunity to make your stay even more comfortable.

We also regret that our main dining, Planter's did not give you a luxurious impression, however are happy that you find the food was nice. In fact, Planter's does offer an al-fresco dining experience. There are cabanas outside the outlet and it's best for an intimate dining experience while surrounding by nature and caress by warm breeze. We hope to welcome you again when you return to Langkawi, we are more than happy to arrange a private dinner for your and your partner.

Lastly, we thank you very much for your review and we are very pleased to know that you had a relaxing stay. Hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews