We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeymug, Branton

The front of Honeymug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Honeymug
Indoor heated pool Honeymug lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The front of Honeymug
Indoor heated pool
Honeymug lounge
Honeymug lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen and dining area
Master bedroom with kingsize bed
En-suite to master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Second twin room
Family bathroom
Hot tub!
Well-equipped gym
Mini-golf with tennis court and trampoline in the background
Games room with table-tennis, pool, air-hockey, table football, TV and comfy sofas
A view towards the lake
Children's adventure play area
Communal garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Powburn, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect weekend”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just back from a perfect family weekend at Honeymug Cottage. Loved the cottage and all the personal touches, cute food basket with bread, jams, juice milk, shower gels and shampoos, washing up liquid etc, they had everything covered. Facilities on sight were fab for us all, my 13 year old son usually finds everything other than his xbox a bore, but we all had great family fun playing footy, tennis, swimming, the games room was fab and we pretty much had sole use of all the facilities. Even down to board games in the cottage in front of the log burner in the evening. We will defiantly be back. Had a nice meal at the pub in Powburn, only minutes away in the car. Honeymug cottage offers a peaceful location with lots to keep everyone happy. 10 out of 10 :))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and spa facilities
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss Nata...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderfully relaxing haven in the beautiful Northumberland countryside”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Honeymug is a really charming, homely cottage where you have the options to entirely relax or explore a new part of the world. The cottage itself is quirky in layout with the large, sociable living space upstairs and the bedrooms on the bottom floor. It is extremely clean with all essentials provided - in the kitchen; a lovely little breakfast hamper to greet us, baking utensils provided for those who like to bake, a teapot and lots of tea bags which is very important to us! In the living room; board games, a bookcase full of books and local magazines telling you about great places to visit and yummy restaurants in the area. The special thing about the cottage for me was the location. The small walk around the lakes behind the cottage with a wonderful bird hide to sit and watch a huge array of different water birds - it's perfect. Take some binoculars! There are also longer walks nearby. We took a trip to the coast and walked the Northumberland coastal walk. You are also close to the cheviots for those who like a more challenging hike.

The facilities on site are fantastic too. There is a pool, sauna and steam room, a games room, a badminton court, a football field, crazy golf and a wonderful outside space to picnic in the warm weather. But it would be a very enjoyable stay all year round with such amazing facilities. It is the perfect place to bring a family on holiday - plenty to occupy children!

I really do rate this property. We were there to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday and he told me it was a trip he would never forget. I think that much of this was because the cottage, so easily, became a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - lakes, bird hide and scenery.
Liked least: The grill wouldn't work for me but we didn't need it really (toaster did the job!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona r
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a fabulous time at the cottage! Spotless and every item from home to home was available for us!definitely stay again! Loved all the free facilities , excellent sleep, no noise was fabulous , well recommend! Loved it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyan123
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Honeymug is a really comfortable and cosy cottage that provides everything you would need from all kitchen appliances to hairdryers, you will want for nothing. And the facilities surrounding the cottage are excellent. The sauna, pool, gym and play room are well maintained and there's something for everyone. Had a great time here and would highly recommend it to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubey2015
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant holiday, fantastic house and facilities amazing!”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Honeymug cottage with my three boys and parents. The house was really lovely, home from home, all we needed was there and more. The boys loved the games room, pool and would rather have stayed there than go out and visit all the castles and beautiful beaches around! Grandparents loved the walks around the cottage and the jacuzzi! I used the gym every morning, the machines were superb quality and was just great to look out onto the hills whilst exercising. No complaints, other than could have stayed another week. Thanks very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gym and facilities
Liked least: sauna didn't work but didn't matter as everything else was great.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing