We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
507
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island hot tub our honeymoon junior suite the owner indian ocean fish rental car la digue amazing views praslin island bottle of champagne beautiful beach loved every minute half board weekend trip highest point
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

My wife and I stayed at Chateau de Feuilles for a week at the start of our honeymoon. It was quite simply stunning. The property is located up on a bluff with spectacular views over the Indian Ocean. There are only 9 rooms so it is quiet, and our favourite spot was up by the small hot tub which is at the top of the property, where we enjoyed taking in the panoramic views.

A shout out to Rajiv, Avi and the staff at the restaurant and bar, who looked after us wonderfully, along with Betty and Diane at front desk who were charming and helpful.

To address some of the negative points raised by others specifically:
-Beaches: some have pointed our lack of beach access. Well, obviously...it's up high on a bluff. There is a free car rental service (you pay a deposit refunded at the end of your stay and can pay insurance but we opted out so paid nothing extra) and it's not a long drive at all to the gorgeous beaches on the island

-Slow dinner service: sure, meals took a couple of hours, but...so what? You're on holiday, with amazing food in an amazing setting. What's the rush?! Our dinners were fantastic, so don't be put off by something we saw as a positive, not a negative.

Highlights: definitely the weekend trip to the owner's private island of Grande Soeur. Book so you are there at the weekend as this is a must.

Negatives: we went half board so breakfast and dinners were included. We really recommend that, as it is good value. However, drinks were not included and are eye wateringly expensive. It was our honeymoon so we thought why not get a bottle of wine with dinner now and then, but even the cheapest white wine was 50 Euros. Good wine list, however.

All in all, a marvellous stay and we would recommend it for sure

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

My wife and I stayed at Le Chateau de Feuilles for our Honeymoon and really enjoyed it. There are only 9 villas and we certainly enjoyed the intimacy of the place. The location is incredible, up high in the hills with a great view, especially at sunset. The hotel provides a car during your stay ensuring that you can visit anywhere on Praslin.

The rooms, service and general feel of the place was superb. Before arrival we read on TripAdvisor there were some delays in serving food but we absolutely loved the food and didn't experience any problems whatsoever. We would certainly recommend staying at Le Chateau de Feuilles if you visit the Seychelles.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicholas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We spent four marvelous days at Château de Feuilles.. The place is just amazing: beautiful rooms, great food, cosy dining room and common spaces decorated with taste by the owner Cedric who is attentive to all details. Last but not least, the staff is incredibly kind and willing to satisfy each special wish from the guests.
Unforgettable experience. Thanks to all of you, and special thoughts to Betty, Rajiv, Avi and Cedric.
Ivana & Gonzalo

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ivalivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Château de Feuilles is on Praslin Island, and the international airport is on Mahe. We were told by the hotel that it would take an hour and 15 minutes to clear immigration and board our connecting flight to Praslin, and were told which connecting flight to book. In fact, it took over 2.5 hours. After landing, health officials boarded our plane and distributed questionnaires, and no one could leave until everyone had completed then. Then, because another international flight had just landed, the immigration cue was extremely long, and there were not enough immigration officials. When we finally got to the front of the line, we were required to show not just our air tickets from the Seychelles, but every ticket to every country until we returned to the US. By the time we were finally cleared, our connecting flight had left, and we were placed on standby, had to pay a penalty (in cash only, which we did not have), and wait while several fully booked flights left without us. By the time we finally got on a flight, landed, waited for our luggage (which didn’t make our flight), and got to the hotel, it was too late for dinner, so we could only get a couple of small bottles of champagne from the mini-bar (more later) and go to bed.

The hotel itself is very small and beautiful. We had a great junior suite. And the rooms themselves are fairly priced, relative to other top properties in the Seychelles. But, the property is not on the beach - in fact, it is at the far end of Praslin Island, high on a cliff. The views are panoramic, but getting to and from the property requires driving up narrow, very winding and unlighted roads, and on the left side rather than the right. Since there are no other hotels/restaurants that you can walk to, we found ourselves staying at the hotel each evening for drinks and dinner. There is no dinner menu to select from - only a four course, fixed gourmet offering each night (although they don’t require that you purchase every course). The food is great, if you like what is being served that night. And, though expensive, we thought it was fairly priced. Drinks, on the other hand, were outrageously expensive! House brand champagne was $29 per glass. A bottle of rose from Provence that we buy for $18 was $75, and the cheapest wine on the menu. And, most startling, we were charged $90 each for the 2 small bottles of champagne from the mini-bar.

Probably, we won’t visit the Seychelles again (although Anse Source D’Argent on La Dique was spectacular), but I wouldn’t return to Château de Feuilles. As a Relais & Chateau Club 5C member who has stayed in many of their hotels, this is the only time I have been so disappointed that I wouldn’t return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KonaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudefeuilles, Responsable relations clients at Le Chateau de Feuilles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Phillips,

Thank you for your comments about our beautiful boutique hotel and your compliments with regards to our beautiful suites which we decorate with so much love and attention to detail. We deeply appreciate the value you feel for our room prices and the meals served in our restaurant.

Our deepest and sincerest apologies with regards to the domestic flight. Air seychelles has changed their check in procedure as well as the check in time for all of their domestic flights. We are now advising all of our guests to provide minimum 2 hours in between their international and domestic flights.

Not being a beach front property, we do offer our guests a complimentary car rental with their stay so as to ease moving around the island to discover our amazing beaches.

Our house branded Champagne does come from France by refrigerated container and there are important alcohol taxes that need to be paid by the hotel for these Champagne as well as any other wines. Upon your arrival at Château de Feuilles, we did serve our Champagne with compliments as your arrival drink since we understood that it had been a bit of a stressful night for you. After asking for more Champagne, we were happy to oblige. Dinner service had just began as it was 19h30. Additionaly we offered that you may take only a few of the items on the menu if you did not wish to have the whole menu. As valued members of the 5C, we also offer arrival and departure gifts in the suite as additional privileges.

The Champagne from the mini-bar is of a high quality as we wish to ensure only the best for our guests. We naturally want our guests to know the prices of the items being consumed, which is why we ensure that mini bar prices are indicated in the booklet in your room, and beverage prices are also indicated in the restaurant menus.

The Relais & Château brand is of utmost importance to us and is at the core of everything that we do here at Château. It deeply saddens us that you are dissapointed with your stay.

Thanking you once again for having chosen Le Château de Feuilles.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Seychelles and our first stop on our way to Mahe. This small boutique hotel has only 9 villas and sits atop a mountain with a spectacular view of the ocean. The villas are well appointed and quite nice with a great view of the ocean. The lowest priced villas are a little small so I would recommend the next one up. The staff at the Chateau are excellent and will get you anything you need. Avi and Rajiv were very good and fun to talk with! The only reason I did not give the Chateau 5 stars was the restaurant. While the food was good it took way to long to arrive. There seems to be a disconnect between the chef and staff. Breakfast and dinner could take upwards of 90 minutes plus. For such a small place with only about 18 guests of which were never eating at the same time this was not good. I would definitely recommend the Chateau but if you plan on eating there plan on spending a long time for your meal. Overall spectacular!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelfunwhynotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudefeuilles, Responsable relations clients at Le Chateau de Feuilles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to say a heartfelt thank you for your comments about our amazing hilltop view and our beautiful suites. We deeply appreciate the appreciation you have for our staff members who are completely devoted to our guests’ satisfaction.

Unfortunately, during your time at Château we were experiencing a temporary staff shortage in the kitchen and this in turn affected the meals service in the restaurant. Our sincerest apologies for that and we are happy to confirm that we have since rectified this issue.

The Château de Feuilles team would be happy to welcome you back to our little piece of Paradise in the future.

Warm tropical regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews