We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and well suited for five people”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well suited for five people”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chalet Motel with a friend and her parents who were visiting from overseas (5 adults). We stayed in chalet #3 which had two bedrooms (one with a full bed and the other room had three singles), a bathroom with shower (no tub), a kitchenette with an oven and a lounge / living room with two sofas. We were there for two nights and found it to be quite comfortable.

Previous reviews mentioned poor water pressure, but I did not notice any such problem and the shower stayed warm even after four people had showered prior. My only complaint would be the double bed which was a bit too springy.

Extras such as Sky, a DVD player, free DVDs to watch (available in the office), a daily newspaper, and $5 a day Wi-fi also added to our stay. Some have complained that the motel charges $2 for a towel for the hot pools, but at the end of the day, it's cheaper than at the hot pools (which, considering the cost of the hot pools, should be made available for free).

We would stay at the Chalet Motel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    44
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
127
169
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darfield, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had the pleasure of discovering the Chalet Motel quite by chance. From our perspective (a family of 6), the stand alone chalet was fabulous. We felt like we could really relax and not worry about the kids making noise. It had everything you could possibly need (right down to pegs and a washing line), including to my husband's delight - a torch! Across the road was a skate park and playground, so taking the boys scooters was rewarded! Everything was within easy walking distance, including the Springs. We can't wait to go back. This has been the best experience we have had, bar hiring a holiday house. We highly recommend the Chalet Motel, especially for families.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your great review of The Chalets Motel! We really appreciate your positive comments, and hope that you can come back soon for some R & R in lovely Hanmer Springs!
Best Regards, Jock & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is the second time we have taken the family here and we love it! Very relaxed excellent chalets with kitchen facilities and reasonable size, outdoor areas great for enjoying the sun.. great grassed area for kids to play. The owners were fantastic people and extremely accommodating.. no charge for wifi and free DVD's. Would highly recommend for a family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oska12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We so appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, and we thank you very much for your positive review. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, hopefully you can return soon! Best Regards, Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a great place with wonderful views. We had a chalet with fully equipped kitchen, DVD (free DVD's at Reception. Hosts were lovely - nothing too much trouble. They didn't even charge us for WiFi. Hanmer Springs worth a few hours - but remember sun cream 4 days later it still smarts! Pitch & putt good fun too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieDearmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thanks heaps for your great review of our property. These reviews are extremely helpful to us, and we do appreciate you taking the time to respond. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully you will be able to return to enjoy The Chalets and lovely Hanmer Springs again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our family has stayed at the Chalet Motels on many occasions, usually on our way to Nelson, having flown in from Sydney earlier in the day.

The managers are very friendly and helpful, the setting is very quiet and peaceful, and only a short walk to town and the thermal baths. The rooms have always been impeccably clean.

Hamner is a delightful town, with plently of outdoor activities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Your enthusiastic positive review is greatly appreciated, and has been immensely helpful. Thanks so much for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor. Best Regards, Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 km away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.7 km away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price range (per night): $127 - $207
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing