We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
311
104
18
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
104
18
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel yunquepuerto ricopedroforestislandvieques
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I has a wonderful experience here. Michael is the perfect host. He stays out of your face, yet he is very attentive when you need him. This guy has the perfect balance for running this kind of business. If you need advice on where to go or what outfit to sign up with for excursion he's the one to talk to. He is an encyclopedia of information on the area.

Remember that this Inn is tucked away on the edge of the rain forest, so nature's sounds come alive at night, and loud. It can be annoying to some, but not us. To us it was like a lullaby putting us to sleep.

His breakfasts are self-serve with everything you need to get you going in the morning. We never felt deprived at all. I would return in a heartbeat. We enjoyed Michael's hospitality and his property that much.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is not a 5 star facility but I gave it that rating because of all the other qualities.This is a very clean and comfortable B and B.It will remind you of a motel in the states.However the room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean.We had a great view of the hills and the ocean in the distance. The common room was pleasant and comfortable.Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.The owner was very attentive and I noticed that he went out of the way to help out another guest.

Room Tip: Get room 2 for the view and covered outside area
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D Burke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Ceiba Country Inn sits atop a ridge where a cool ocean/mountain breeze transfer is in effect. This means no bugs, cool nights, and quiet (well, except for the coquis, who produce a dull roar). It also means that you have a clear view of Culebra island in one direction and can turn to see dark rain-laden clouds descending over the mountains of El Yunque park. We stayed several days in February with our 7-year old son and there was plenty to keep him occupied, including: a well-stocked board game cabinet, a huge garden with pick-your-own bananas and star fruit, a friendly dog named Shakira, and plenty of areas to sit and read and enjoy the weather. That said, the other guests were all adults and while this is a nice place for kids it seems oriented toward adult travelers.

The room was comfortable and clean. There is an air conditioner. We don't watch TV while on vacation so were fine with not having one. The fridge was a convenience, as we prepared several simple meals while at the inn to save some money. There is a microwave in the main dining room area that also helps with that goal. The main dining area/lounge/bar serves as a gathering spot during the day and evening and you can meet fellow travelers there and occasionally socialize with the owners.

Do note that the inn is several miles up into the mountains and we wouldn't have considered it if we weren't renting a car. Apparently people have a lot of trouble finding it but I used my GPS from back home and it got me close enough to find the inn fairly easily. There are no close-by restaurants, but a 10-minute drive down into Fajardo gets you what you need. Big supermarkets are farther down the highway.

Having just come from a stay in Vieques, we weren't concerned with excursions to the islands, but rather to El Yunque rainforest. We spent a day doing that. It's only an hour or so drive from the inn, most of it on the highway. We weren't hugely impressed with El Yunque, but that may be because we've done the rainforest bit in Costa Rica several times. It is actually a very nice excursion for the leisure traveler, as you can see the whole place from your car on a self-guided tour and can choose when/if to hike into the forest. Cruise ships send excursions up here and there can be a lot of cruisers on the trails. This is versus Costa Rica, where you can barely drive to get near the forest, and then you are IN it, with monkeys howling at you, peccaries spilling out across the path, and sloths hanging overhead. Puerto Rico has few land-dwelling animals - birds are the main attraction here. It's just a different experience.The visitor center is also very nice and we found the interpretive exhibits to be interesting. Do take a poncho! It will rain, sometimes hard, and people without ponchos were pretty miserable. On the way back from that excursion, we stopped at the Kiosks in Luquillo and ate some of the high-fat, high-starch, high-TASTE Puerto Rican food. Vegetarians beware: even the veg dishes like rice and beans probably have lard in them so if you are hard core you will need to ask a lot of questions and be prepared to bring your own food at times.

So back to the inn - it really is very good and I totally understand why many have rated it as "excellent." We are not rating it excellent because it didn't meet all of our expectations for a bed & breakfast experience. We are accustomed to staying in family-owned accommodations where the breakfasts are hearty, the owners voluble, and a feeling of congeniality is developed by the owners with the guests. The inn was run in a more business-like fashion, with the owners helpful and present but a bit distant, making it feel like a hotel--rather than a bed & breakfast--experience. If this is their style, that's perfectly OK, but we prefer to develop more of a relationship with our hosts and typically have in our other b&b stays. Reading other reviews, it seems like the owners may have just been focused on other things during our stay rather than making connections with guests, but our stay is my data point to reference. The breakfast was not as hearty as we're accustomed to; that said, their Web site accurately describes what they offer so we should have known what to expect.

Overall, we really enjoyed it. It's comfortable, good for kids, relaxing, and an attractive property. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Ceiba Country Inn is the perfect base for exploring eastern Puerto Rico. Clean, comfortable, and serene, and run by friendly and helpful hosts. The Inn is a half-hour's drive or less from El Yunque, Humacao Nature Preserve, the Phosphorescent Bay, etc. There are not ton of restaurant options very close (although we loved Mi Terraza, only 10 minutes away), but there is plenty of fast food and grocery shopping in Fajardo, and our room had a convenient cube fridge. Hosts Michael and Pedro assembled a tasty continental breakfast each morning from 7 to 9 AM, with good coffee, cereals, breads, a selection of tropical fruit (some grown on the grounds), fresh boiled eggs (from the on-grounds hen house), etc. We especially loved the tropical fruit juices, such as Tamarind and Guava.

BIRDS = Seeing some of Puerto Rico's 17 endemic bird species, as well as other Caribbean specialties, was a big reason for our three-day visit. Many of Puerto Rico's endemic birds are restricted to the western half of the island, so most of the 'hard-core' birders tend to visit that end instead. However, we were very pleased with what we found in three days in only the eastern end - 51 species overall, of which seven were Puerto-Rican endemics. Indeed, the four most exciting and charismatic of the endemics were all found on the grounds of the Ceiba Country Inn: The Puerto-Rican Screech-Owl, Lizard-Cuckoo, Tody, and Woodpecker.
The utterly charming Tody can take some patience to locate, but it is more than worth it - hone in on it's buzzy beep call. At least one pair inhabited the grounds, and spent alot of time in the patch of woodland behind the inn, where there is a small loop trail. This is also where we found the Screech-Owl. You can hear the owls at night - at a distance, their call is a soft trill, but if you are directly beneath them in the dark, they can whoop and holler like maniacal monkeys! (Warning - if you are out on the path after dark, watch your step carefully for giant Cane Toads that don't seem inclined to move out of your way - you would not want to step on one!)
The trees and edge around the parking area, patio, etc are worth watching for awhile in the early morning. The Woodpeckers, Mangrove Cuckoos, and others visited these trees. On a calm morning there was quite a bit of bird activity, but another morning with strong winds was decidedly poor for birding.

21 BIRD SPECIES SEEN AT THE CEIBA COUNTRY INN during our visit: Great Egret, Red-tailed Hawk, Puerto-Rican Screech Owl, Scaly-naped Pigeon, Zenaida Dove, White-winged Dove, Mangrove Cuckoo, Puerto-Rican Lizard Cuckoo, Puerto-Rican Woodpecker, Puerto-Rican Tody, Puerto-Rican Emerald, Gray Kingbird, Puerto-Rican Flycatcher, Pearly-eyed Thrasher, Northern Mockingbird, Red-legged Thrush, Black-whiskered Vireo, Northern Parula, Bananaquit, Shiny Cowbird, Puerto-rican Oriole.

Other creatures included the delightful Coqui Frogs, the hulking Cane Toads, various Anole Lizards, giant arboreal Millipedes, lotsa lotsa tree snails. Overall, not very buggy at this time of year. The inn also comes with pets - clean, well-cared for and friendly animals - including cats, a hutch full of bunnies, and a dog full of personailty named Shakira. This latter was a big hit with our seven-year old.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Migrant_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have done this trip before and like to for an easy January break. We take a direct flight from Baltimore (AirTran) to San Juan, pick up a rental car and drive to Fajardo.

I very highly recommend the Ceiba Country Inn. The location is perfect – just remote enough on the back side of El Yunque, to be away from the civilized world but close enough to get to many places: Fajardo, Bioluminescent Bay, El Yunque, Culebra etc.
The rooms are lovely and the breakfasts are excellent. The quality is consistent. The price is very reasonable.

I would also recommend two restaurants: Mi Terrazzo Restaurant, near Ceiba. The chef is a former White House chef during the Clinton years. His food is great and made to order – for us he became our ‘personal chef’ making and suggesting variations. Also, truly outstanding sangria. They do not have a website. Michael at Ceiba Country In can give you directions.

Also – Ceviche Hut, Luquillo. Consistently great ceviche. This is a standout from the
deep fried food places that surround it.

Bring your GPS – PR maps may be misleading and street names are rarely posted.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingAba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews