We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serenity in Treasure Beach”

Review of Villa Optima

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
built April 2015
pool upgrading
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn F
1 review
“Serenity in Treasure Beach”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Optima for our 10th anniversary. The location is near perfect, just steps to the beach for a swim and amazing sunsets and a short walk or drive to the many shops and restaurant in the area. We enjoyed great Jamaican food, and service from Trudy, who was always warm and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed playing in the pool which was immaculately tended to by Natty (sp?). The garden is absolutely lovely and Errol, the gardener was very considerate to wait for our teen aged son to wake before mowing the lawn. Paolo and Tia are excellent hosts. They provided many little extras, such as freshly made bread and honey, pizza and handmade guava soap. When we arrived they were celebrating their daughter's birthday and even sent over some cake for us to enjoy!
Treasure Beach is extremely quiet and serene with friendly people. If you want to chill and experience relaxation there is no better place to be and Villa Optima is a cozy and comfortable home away from home.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda94
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Remote”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What's Great- beautiful beach and warm Caribbean Sea and few people. Trudy, our cook was a gem and cooked us wonderful Jamaican meals. Beautiful home with great veranda and lovely pond in front yard.
What's not so great- Treasure Beach is very far from Montego Bay and just about any tourist attraction you want to see. DO NOT RENT A CAR! The roads are narrow, filled with potholes, very poor signage and they drive on the left. You will need to rent a taxi or a tour company to go anywhere. There is very little to do in Treasure Beach except swim and hang around the house. Trudy does not have a car so you will need to buy groceries yourself.
What's bad- The mosquitoes were very bad and we were bitten alive and woke up with many bites in the mornings. There was no bed net above our bed and the screens in the bathroom had some holes where bugs got in. I used DEET and Sawyers' and nothing helped. The hot water heater broke while we were there and it was 3 days before it was fixed. We were told we would have a cook and a maid but in reality, we only had one person who did both things. That meant that we had to scrounge around for toilet paper when it ran out, make our own beds daily, and sweep the floors which were very sandy. And it was very very hot.
Is it for you?- If you like isolation and few people and not much outside distractions, this is the place for you. We stayed 10 days, way too long.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
It is very uncomfortable when, we the team from Villa Optima, go the extra mile to please our guests yet everything seams so unpleasing them ( first time it ever happened).

Through our emails, we offered you to buy grocery and drinks prior to your arrival. Also, we wanted to prepare dinner for you to find it ready, yet you refused and told us you would buy your grocery on the way to the Villa. On the first morning,when we realized you did not stop for shopping, we quickly provide fresh fish for you and I gave you few slices of a king fish i caught that morning for free; by lunch time, we brought back your grocery and drinks that finally gave us a list of When usually this service is provided beforehand. Yes Trudy does not have a car, but she did offer to take a taxi to go shopping in which case you would have to pay her way to the supermarket ...Again, you told us you were going out for the day and you will stop and do your own shopping.

Tropical islands have mosquitoes; if you leave the mosquitoes meshes up `all day and after sunset, you will have mosquitoes in your bedrooms (went to check myself for holes in the nets but found none).

It took you three days to tell anyone about not having hot water; as you told us we replaced the gas cylinder after about 1 hour. Nothing broke down!

More staff is available when needed (usually after 5 guests) If you ask Trudy to come in at 2:00pm to do brunch and dinner she will comply with your request and give you privacy to relax and enjoy peaceful days. If she was present everyday and gave you toiletries how is it that you had to be scrambling for more???
I'm shocked that your review states that you were bored as you have been on trips to the Pelican Bar and Safari Tour, Mandeville to bird watch, YS falls and also Appleton Estate not to mention soaking up on our beautiful beaches around the area

My advise is if you are doing future travels be sure to research the area and not end up in a beautiful, peaceful and relaxing people loving community like Treasure Beach
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriB37
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from 9 night stay at Villa Optima in Treasure Beach Jamaica.
The villa is exactly like the pictures, spotlessly clean and has a well appointed kitchen.
All the bedrooms are air conditioned and spacious with plenty of draw storage and en suit shower, toilet etc. The beds are comfy, although I found mine a little too firm but that's just me being used to memory foam, my husband slept just fine.
Trudy our housekeeper/cook was an angel, warm, friendly, cheerful and helpful.
There is a nice garden with mature trees and a swimming pool at the back with loungers and small tables. The pool was very clean all be it for a few leaves floating which were dropped from the few trees providing much welcome shade. The pool man comes every day except Sunday's to scoop up the leaves clean the filters and check the water quality.
Pool/ beach towels are provided and these are large, soft and fluffy.
The beach was very quiet despite it being a public beach and with a few exceptions locals who use it respect it and remove their rubbish when they leave. There is a lot of coral which has some sharp edges although there are a couple of areas suitable for swimming. Be cautious as there are reefs out in the bay that cause rip currents in the deeper water.
The surrounding area is quite rural and known locally as the bread basket of the island due to the amount of fruit and veg grown there, which supplies the rest of the island.
There's a small local shop about 20 mins walk away for basics like bread, milk etc but the larger supermarkets are a 30 min taxi ride away in Junction. Next to the local shop is a resteraunt called Diners Delight where you can get the best curried goat served with traditional rice and peas, jerk chicken and lots more.
Taxi fares are quite expensive due to high fuel costs and average out at US $150 approx for journeys to places like Junction so if you're brave look in to car hire, although be aware roads are poorly maintained in the rural areas and sometimes prone to flooding in heavy rain.
Paolo and Tia who own the villa live next door and are happy to help if needed, my husband needed a doctor which they arranged and booked us a taxi to take us there, wait then bring us back. They called later that evening to check he was ok, which I thought was nice of them.
This part of Jamaica is, in my opinion, the real Jamaica. If you're looking for bright lights, non stop entertainment and lots of shopping this place will not be for you. If you want to kick back, relax and chill out its perfect paradise

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelwLy...
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Look no further than Villa Optima! ”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with family and friends and it was truly an amazing stay. The villa is very cozy and comfortable, 3 nice size bedrooms with AC of which 2 have king beds and one has 2 beds and 3 bathrooms, one per room. Nice Kitchen, living area and the dining table is set on the veranda. The Villa comes with the outsanding services of Monica and Trudy, they prepare 2 meals per day, you choose between Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. You have to bring the food for them to prepare it for you (which for us it was not a big deal as we stopped on the way and bought lots of local fruits and vegetables, they are easily found when driving thru the country side from Montego Bay to the South Coast) otherwise you can make arrangements with the owner Paolo who offered to purchase items if we needed. By the way, Paolo is customer service oriented gentlemen who took care of all our last minutes requests and provided us with local information. He also hand makes soaps which are used at the Villa, nice touch! The villa is located across the street from the beach but no need to worry there is not a lot of traffic. The beach is outsanding, cristal clear water and not deep at all. The sand is dark but really nice. The Villa also has a pool wich is a nice feature. We had lots of Fun and will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starr G
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The other side of paradise”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of major tourist destinations in Jamaica and enjoy peace, tranquility of pristine beaches, then Treasure Beach is your destination. You can explore the many private beaches at your leisure. The people of Treasure Beach will make you feel like you are home among friends. Having stayed at both Negril and Treasure Beach, I would choose again Treasure Beach. Renting the home of Paolio and Tia was ideal for our family. We could experience all the freedom and comfort a private home can provide; and if you want to experience the cuisine of Jamaica, the staff provided by the owners will cater to your desires. B

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing