We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sublime setting”

Review of Villa du Soleil

You can't get any closer to the Caribbean Sea than this!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
You can't get any closer to the Caribbean Sea than this!
Sit on the veranda that literally hangs over the sea. And what a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
You can't get any closer to the Caribbean Sea than this!
Sit on the veranda that literally hangs over the sea.
And what a view
Table by the window?
You can even sleep on the veranda
Or soak up the Caribbean sunshine on the expansive sun deck
Or enjoy the shade of the thatch roof hut and take a nice nap in the hammock
Living room with cable TV
Indoor dining
Kitchen where Shantell cooks up amazing meals!
Master bedroom with king bed
Guest bedroom with queen bed
Both bedrooms have doors leading out to the side deck
Shared bathroom
Main entrance to the house
expansive yard with cherry, mango, plum, cashew, ackee trees and more
Great snorkeling weather permitting
Villa du Soleil, your own private villa!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
natalier6...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime setting”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

At Villa du Soleil, you are essentially right on the ocean. The patio overhangs the water & the crashing waves are your soundtrack. Lots of places to hang out... the pool area is lovely & private, the sundeck has both full sun & shady areas, as well as a gorgeous view of the ocean, and the covered patio is very spacious & well appointed with outdoor furniture. Plus, you essentially have a private sandy beach too. The 2 bedrooms both have AC, the wifi was great & there's cable TV too . But overall, there's a rustic feel to the place. You're about a 15 minute walk from Treasure Beach itself & about a 5-10 minute walk to Billy's Bay. There is a cookshop & little bar pretty much right at the end of the long driveway, so you can sample some local flavour. Shantel does a great job of cooking breakfast/dinner & tidying up -- but she leaves you on your own for the day. Overall, this place offers a ton of privacy & relaxation with postcard views of the ocean.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparkleho...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Water babies look no further”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stunning panoramic sea views with sunsets to die for, the location over the water doesn't get better than this and for ocean lovers like us it was perfect. The lovely veranda is really the only room we used in a weeks stay, it's difficult to tear yourself away ! After seeing the land from the sea by boat I'm fairly sure this is the only villa in Treasure Beach that is built out over the water. Although we didn't have kids with us any families with water babies would find this an exciting outdoor playground. Another review mentioned the steps, but I think this would only be an issue for very small children.
Keeping it real, the rest of the house did not quite have the same standard of furnishing and decor as the main outdoor veranda, although the bedding and mattress was good quality and comfortable some of the living areas in particular the kitchen and bathroom were a bit rough around the edges, some might think scruffy especially those used to five star luxury, and this is not the place for purists or anyone with OCD. It's a more bohemian, shabby chic sort of vibe. If you can look beyond some of these flaws (dodgy taps, cracked tiles, cupboard doors that don't quite shut) and focus on the positives you will love this place. These small issues are the only reason this was not a five star review but I think it's important that people know what to expect.
Location wise we took a bit of a punt as this was our first time to Treasure Beach and it wasn't easy to tell from the map exactly where the place is. The villa is quite a way out from the centre where everything is going on, and for those who don't like being out of the action this is quite remote. It's a good half hour walk into frenchmans beach where you find bars, restaurants etc. It's not an easy walk either, the roads are poor and difficult to traverse, especially in the heat of the day. Another option is to get a taxi but this is unreliable and a bit hit/miss! There is very little going on nearby the villa in terms of other amenities. This is not a problem however if you are seeking isolation and seclusion and don't want to be going out every evening to eat and are content to have the housekeeper cook for you each day. Very nice meals cooked by Shantel by the way. The positives that come with the location are that you are almost guaranteed to have the beach, reef and sea to yourself.
The caretaker Papa was very helpful in organising trips for us, he took us snorkelling out on the reef the first day to show us the best spots, and will arrange boat fishing and spear fishing as well as trips to Black River and The Pelican Bar (essential trip). On our last night he made a bonfire on the beach and we had music and rum to see us off which was a lovely end to the holiday.
Having spent one very happy week in Negril first, Treasure Beach is a total contrast and will allow you to see the real Jamaica and have a very different experience. It was all good, but this place is special. I love this Country, and the people of Treasure Beach are truly wonderful folk who are the best advertisement for tourism I have ever come across.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location over the ocean
Liked least: Difficulty in getting anywhere else
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your constructive criticism regarding the kitchen area and please know we are working on rectifying those issues. We do hope to see you back here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubisjh
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not disappoint!”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The reviews are quite descriptive and we can confirm that everything said is accurate. This place is NOT for small kids or people who cannot handle steps because the steps are central to this place. There are steps up to the huge, clean, pool with a palapa and pano view. There are steps down to the huge veranda with its own palapa, shower and pano view. And a few stairs down to the beach! The surf was rough but they say it was the Christmas wind and that it can be quite tranquil. The warm breeze was awesome! We spent almost all of our time on the covered deck. We can also confirm that Shontel is an excellent cook and made our stay particularly pleasant. She consulted with us about our preferences and included local treats. Delicious! We pay for groceries and tip her. For us it totaled less than $40 a day per person including all beer and rum. She cooked and served breakfast and dinner and there were always plenty of leftovers for lunch. She let us go to Black River with her to go to the grocery. Normally a sleepy little town but the week before Christmas, it was quite exciting! We were about the only tourists there and yet we were never approached by beggars. After the market we stopped at the Pattie store for a beef meat pie, incredibly tasty and flaky. Also worth mentioning is the support of the Treasure Tours staff who promptly answered any and all questions in selecting the villa and then again preparing for our arrival. They sent the van to Montego Bay to pick us up and Kenny was as friendly as they come. He stopped on the way for a pit/beer stop. Anything you might need, he can help. Rebecca personally stopped by several times to help resolve our internet issues (the only problem we had). She arranged for us to get to Smurf's for Christmas dinner (no view but awesome food) and drove us home when our driver got delayed. Omar drove us back to Mobay with a pit stop. As to the unit itself, the covered deck is huge with unobstructed view in every direction. We ate all of our meals on the patio table on the deck. We saw the Christmas full moon rise red over Treasure Beach and got up at 5am to see it set orange over the water. We watched movies at night in the cozy living area, did not use the dining area. We were concerned about the 3 of us and one bathroom but it never was a problem. The bedrooms are small, bed and dresser and nice sized closet with safe, each with an outside door to the landing and steps down to the veranda. The first night we slept with the windows closed and the AC on but never turned it on again as the breeze was just incredible. We felt very safe and actually went for a walk down the lane at night!!! We definitely want to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: covered deck
Liked least: internet issues
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMG07
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Secluded Delight”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This review is the same one we just left for Sparkling Waters Villas, of which Villa du Soleil is a part, over on TripAdvisor.

****

There are three villas that are part of Sparkling Waters and we chose Villa du Soleil for a 3-night stay as part of a longer trip in Jamaica. It is set apart from the other two villas (at the other end of a small beach) and has its own private pool as well as semi-private beachfront on the other side (i.e., away from the other two villas). We loved it! It was wonderful to be in a quiet, neighborhood setting after the hustle of Negril - the people in Treasure Beach are very friendly and neighborly and happy to stop for a chat (not to sell you anything) as you pass on the road.

Indoor space:
- Villa would sleep 4 comfortably, although there is only 1 bathroom. As we traveled as a couple this did not bother us. The beds were very comfortable. The bedrooms were not particularly spacious (mostly filled by a bed and dresser) but there were good sized closets to hold luggage, and we spent most of our time outside anyway!
- The villa is situated perfectly to catch both the east/west and north/south breezes, so we did not miss having A/C during the day (only the bedrooms have A/C). Being cold sleepers however A/C at night was a must - both of the bedrooms have strong A/C.
- The kitchen is good sized although we did not use it much personally (more on that below).
- The deck that overlooks/overhangs the ocean is enormous and we spent most of our "indoor" time out there. Depending on the time of day, the water is very clear and we could watch fish swimming around from 20 feet up. We were glad for the view and breezes that there are no screens on the deck, but definitely recommend bringing repellent/mosquito coils for the evenings.
- As you may expect, this is not a traditional "luxury" property, nor is it "rustic/back to nature" -- it is nicely appointed, we had everything we needed, and the villa was very clean.
- Be aware there is no wifi. We knew this going in and it was a plus :)

Outdoor space:
- The pool is the first thing you see pulling in, as it's behind the villa, up a small hill. It's well kept (we saw Everton, the caretaker, cleaning it in the mornings), surprisingly large, partially shaded and supplied with loungers and grilling area.
- The sun deck is also large, up a few steps from the ocean, and supplied with loungers. There's a covered area with a hammock as well as a rinse-off shower.
- The grounds are maintained with a very natural feel - pretty but not over-landscaped.
- There is a fair amount of coral/rocks in front of the villa, but there are two good sized clear areas for wading and swimming. During our stay, the westerly current was quite strong (it felt like one of those treadmill-equivalent swimming pools where you swim in place!) so we stuck to wading.

Ohliz's review below gives good details on the property layout, but the bottom line is that we loved having so much private space to ourselves, from the nicely appointed pool to the covered deck, sun deck, and semi private beach (we saw maybe 5 other people there over the course of 3 days).

Food:
- Through Treasure Tours, we arranged for breakfasts and dinners to be prepared by a local lady, Shantel. We requested simple/local food - like that which Shantel would prepare for her family - and loved the outcome. Everything was delicious and perfectly cooked, from jerk chicken with mashed potatoes, to omelettes with fresh local veggies, callaloo, festival, and fish purchased right from the local market on the way to preparing us dinner. We always had enough leftovers to prepare a small lunch (which is all we needed after enjoying a big breakfast).
- We only stayed 3 days and used this time as a secluded mini-vacation in the middle of our vacation (between Negril and Montego Bay) so didn't plan to (and didn't) venture into town to try any of the restaurants.

Excursions:
- We stopped at YS Falls to break up the drive from Negril to Treasure Beach. Really glad we did! The guides that help you climb the waterfall are great and show you where to put your feet, etc. Ours got several great pictures and videos of us standing under the falls, jumping off rocks, and using the rope swing. The falls were not too crowded despite there being a Sandals group there at the same time. The small restaurant on-site is pretty forgettable - next time I'd ask the driver to stop by a local place.
- We arranged through Treasure Tours for a boat trip out to the Pelican Bar (mostly as an excuse to take a nice length boat trip rather than out of any particular desire to see the Pelican Bar). It was about 25 minutes each way and we ended up staying at the Pelican Bar for about an hour and a half - part of the time snorkeling around, and part of the time nursing Red Stripes in the water. Fun trip and glad we picked a calm day to do it. Everton came with us, which we didn't expect but which was fun!

Getting there:
- We arranged for a driver through OneStop (for each of our three legs - Montego Bay to Negril, to YS Falls/Treasure Beach, back to Montego Bay) and were really happy with the service. Specific recommendation to Wayne, our driver on the second 2 legs.
- The villas are not marked at all (that we could tell) from the roadside - our driver asked directions once we knew we were close, and locals pointed him to an unmarked gravel/dirt road. Once we were there, we were glad it was hard to find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and food
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing