We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
367
125
41
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
125
41
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gran almirante pool area cigar shop dominican republic fifth floor nice pool busy street rooms are spacious star hotel hotel stay buffet breakfast very nice hotel favorite hotel visit santiago per night enjoyed my stay mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I loved my stay at this hotel, the people are great and treat you very well. I will recommend it. It was a trip with 9 family members and we all love this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, and the breakfast is to die for. Will go again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Leti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Hodelpa Management at Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Leti P,
Thank you for staying at Hodelpa Gran Almirante during your stay in Santiago. We sincerely appreciate your kind words on your experience with us and we are glad that all 9 of you loved the hotel and the people who work there! We look forward to having you again for another memorable time in the DR.
Best wishes.
Hodelpa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

It is the best hotel located in Santiago de los Caballeros. Employees make your stay great. They have different types of room all cleaned and renovated. Restaurants, room service and amenities are really good and they have very good diversity. We have stayed a couple of times in the hotel and it's been a great experience. Clean, great staff, food, pool area and every other amenities work excellent. It's a great hotel for family, couple, business and vacations. We will keep staying here every time we visit Santiago.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank GoPlaces556653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Hodelpa Management at Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay with us at the Hodelpa Gran Almirante. We are happy to read that you consider us the best hotel in Santiago and that you will keep staying with us! There are no doubts that our biggest asset is our great staff and we thank you for mentioning their work.
Hope to see you once again and soon!
Best wishes.
Hodelpa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I would give this a terrible rating but the hotel, itself, is quite nice. Unfortunately, the staff are unpleasant if not down right rude. The staff look down at you, are helpful only when prodded, and are homophobic.

When checking in, my husband and I were asked at least FOUR times by the person checking us in if we are sure we wanted a room with just one king bed and to make certain we knew there was only one bed. Then, after that experience, the bellhop was thrown off that we were staying in a room with just one bed and began double-checking in the same manner as the rude person at the check-in desk. Additionally, when we order room service, we were treated in the same manner!!!

Additionally, when trying to ask a question, we would receive curt responses as though we were bothering the staff person both inside the casino and at the hotel. The only who was friendly was the old-timer behind the pool bar.

If you are gay, find somewhere else to stay. This service at this place was awful!

Room tip: Find somewhere else to stay with a more friendly atmostphere.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Hodelpa Management at Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Mr. Ward,
First of all we would like to apologize if somehow members of our staff made you feel you and your husband uncomfortable. We can assure you that there was never the intention to do so. It took us a little to answer your comment precisely because we took great care in investigating what happened and we understand the question was made because we had complains in the past for assigning a room with one bed to 2 ladies or 2 gentleman… Our staff is trained to treat all guests and visitors with professionalism and politeness and once again we are sorry if you felt this did not happen with you. We hope you will give us the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Best wishes.
Hodelpa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel with a lot of details for the guest since the check it to the check out. Good dinner and breakfast make to the order. Definitely a place to return. Hotel employees very courteous. Have been in DR more that 15 times, this is one of the best.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Hodelpa Management at Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Victor R,
Thank you for choosing Hodelpa Gran Almirante for your stay in Santiago. We sincerely appreciate your nice words on your experience with us and we thank you for saying we are one of the best hotels in DR. We hope to see you again very soon!
Best wishes.
Hodelpa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

First class hotel all the way, the cleanliness, attention, security and a well trained staff made our visit an unforgettable one, my self and family will definitely be back and tell our friends,
Congratulation to the management and a very special thank you to the Resident Mgr. for all his attention and courtesies.

Room tip: All rooms have excellant views specially the front rooms overlooking the mountains and the poolside ar very fresh and quiet.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandoe61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Gerente at Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Madam, Sir,

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Hodelpa Gran Almirante. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to know you enjoy our staff services specially to the management and the Resident Mgr. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I shared your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback served as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback and it is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hodelpa Gran Almirante Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews