We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, peaceful, and relaxing.”
other traveller has booked this property
Butler's Spruce Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butler's Spruce Cottage
Butler`s Pine Cottage Spruce Cottage living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Butler's Spruce Cottage
Butler`s Pine Cottage
Spruce Cottage living area
Spruce Cottage - stone fireplace with propane insert - 48' flat screen TV
Living Room - Spruce Cottage
Kitchen - Spruce Cottage
Master bedroom - Spruce Cottage
Spruce - 2 single beds
screened in sun room
Screened in Sun Room - Spruce
Bathroom - Spruce Cottage
Spruce Cottage
Sun Room
Larry's flower gardens
Playground
playground area
Ross Lane Beach, Stanhope, PEI
PEI National Park Beach - Ross Lane
Lobster Traps at the Covehead wharf
Covehead Light House - 2 Km from cottage
Cove Head Wharf - less than 2 Km from Cottages
the sand dunes
Stanhope Beach ( Ross Lane Beach ) - 7 Minute walk from Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary E
1 review
“Perfect, peaceful, and relaxing.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Brenda and Larry are wonderful hosts, very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Pine cottage. It is beautiful, and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The beach is a short walk away, and there are bike paths to pretty much everywhere. The area was not too crowded and quite peaceful, and the location of the cottage itself affords you a decent amount of privacy. Our week long vacation was a very much needed retreat. Would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
It was nice to meet you and your family Mary. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday on PEI and at our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynlk2014
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short walk to the beach”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great A-frame cabin, very peaceful location, private, treed. Fireplace was very nice on a rainy day. We walked to the beach several times for beautiful walks along the ocean and enjoyed the golf course nearby. Really appreciated the amenities of the Pine cottage. The owners were super nice and helpful. Loved our week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners; peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristinai...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted and more!”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I arrived at Pine Cottage with my four year old son and Mother on a Saturday evening. We were exhausted and cranky after flying all day.

The cottage was a wonderful balm for us weary (!) travellers.
The main floor where the kitchen, dining area and living room are, is open and inviting. Everything we needed for cooking and BBQING was right there. The bathroom is clean and bright, with plenty of towels and cloths handy in the linen closet. The 3 bedrooms were decorated in the classic cottage style and the beds were very comfortable. The upstairs loft room has a skylight and small balcony off of it, which was lovely. The ceiling fans are great for circulating that lovely sea air (something we Calgarians loved!). There is a screened in sunroom that my son took over and proceeded to make his own with massive Lego / Duplo constructions. The deck is large and was perfect to relax on.
There is a washer inside and a small shed nearby with two dryers in it, in case you don't want to hang clothes on the line. There is a collection of movies (Including, of course, Anne of Green Gables), and a bin of beach toys. My son was in heaven!
The beach, which is a five minute walk away, is gorgeous. Rain or shine we were there 4-5 hours a day.

If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing break - this is the place to go. The owners, Brenda and Larry, are so conscientious and caring. They really go the extra mile to make your vacation a memory of a lifetime. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

Fantastic cottage, fantastic location and amazing owners.

Check this place out!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette B
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Retreat”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I really appreciated my communication with the owners of the cottage. They were always prompt at getting back to me and providing me with all kinds of information. Their reservation set up made things really easy. Even upon arriving at the cottage, I received an email from them checking to see if everything was ok. I was able to ask any other questions that I had. It was like having them right there. Upon arriving to the Spruce cottage (1 of 2 of their cottage), it was surrounded by a white picket fence. It felt like we were arriving home. The landscape was beautiful, many special little touches. The inside of the cottage was spacious, clean and beautiful. I loved the smell of the wood. My favourite place was the living room with the many seating set up, fireplace, tv, many windows. We went for the long weekend in October so it was a bit too chilly to enjoy the huge screened in sunroom though. This place is definitely big enough for 6 people to hang out comfortably. It had everything you would have at home and more. The kitchen area was big too. I also enjoyed the many walks that we were able to do from the cottage. Just across the street from their lane, you could walk on this boardwalk type area. It is like a paved path that goes all around for many km. We easily took 40 min walks around and enjoyed he view of the water. We even walked up to the golf course. It was also a 7 min walk to the beach. Really easy to get there and beautiful area. I would definitely stay there again. We love traveling in the spring and fall since it is quieter. This vacation stay was one of my favourites. I felt like we were on a family retreat. Very quiet and peaceful. The bonus was all the great walking areas from the cottage. We all loved it including our dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great attention to detail
Liked least: There was not as many restaurants open during the time of the year we went (Oct)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluenoser...
Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A "Real" Cottage”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Actually this particular "cottage" , there are 2 of them, is known as the Spruce and can best be described as a quaint older renovated house. The area was quiet, near the beach and exuded much more character and provided far more living space than the standard cookie cutter cottages of the area. Booked as a getaway for 2 nights and couldn't be happier. Everything we needed was there and all arrangements/questions were professionally handled by Linda. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing