We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cruise was ok; however, the restaurant / meal was poor”
Review of Rockport Cruises

Rockport Cruises
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rockport is located in the "Heart" of the 1000 Islands on the St. Lawrence River. We offer waterfront dining and scenic cruises. From the moment you step aboard, picture perfect settings will fill your mind and you will be captured by an essence of excitement.*Please Note: Due to limited space available in our parking lot, we are unable to accommodate parking for RV's and Campers. We apologize for the inconvenience and there is parking within walking distance.
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Before taking one of the Rockport Cruises offered by the Rockport Boat Line, around 1000 Islands, we had a buffet lunch in its restaurant. Attention please: If you have a choice, skip the lunch and do not waste your money. The service was poor and slow, the toilet was not clean and the view of the eating place was not great.
The cruise in the boat was quite ok though. 1000 Islands is a place which is worth a visit if you have time. It is wonderful to see so many small islands with beautiful houses in such a small area.

Thank RaymondHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"boldt castle"
in 67 reviews
"thousand islands"
in 29 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 25 reviews
"singer castle"
in 16 reviews
"two hours"
in 10 reviews
"tour buses"
in 8 reviews
"heart island"
in 7 reviews
"millionaires row"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 6 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 5 reviews
"boat ride"
in 5 reviews
"in advance"
in 4 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 4 reviews
"amazing houses"
in 4 reviews
"canadian side"
in 4 reviews
"nice cruise"
in 3 reviews

11 - 15 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We took this 3.5 hrs tour recently and highly recommend it. If you are comparing tours, the rockport cruises were definitely not crowded and everyone had a seat outside. We couldn't believe how the gananoque cruise packed everyone on like sardines!

There is parking on site and the ticket purchasing process is easy during the weekday. Over the phone, we were recommended to arrive 40 minutes in advance to buy our tickets ( it wasn't necessary on the Wednesday, but maybe useful on a weekend) I suggest packing a wind jacket as it gets colder on the water. Also, bring a picnic as there is no food on the boat and very limited choices on the island. There are plenty of picnic tables.

We had 2 hrs on the island and it was just enough time to see the castle and the few buildings. We did not have time for the yacht house. We didn't buy any audio guides but felt like the video in the castle and the explanations on the boat were sufficient for our tour.

When we arrived at the castle, we found Ontario attraction magazines that had $2 coupons for the rockport cruise, so if you could get a hold of these magazines first, you could get a little discount.

Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic day spent taking a Rockport Cruise to Boldt Castle, NY.
This cruise is approximately 2 Hours. You will need your passport, as this Castle is on an island on the American side of the St. Lawrence River. There's a fee to enter the castle and its property. They accept Canadian and American dollars. The castle itself is just beautiful! Only the first to floors have been renovated. There's a gift shop located on the second floor as well as a 15 minute video about Boldt Castle and it's history. On the cruise back you will take a small tour of millionaires row which is a collection of homes on the waterfront which are extraordinary in appearance. You will also come across two islands connected by the smallest bridge which marks the border between Canada and the U.S. Check out the pic! Totally worth a cruise, the boat wasn't filled, entering and departing was quick and customs was very quick too!
Great day spent with Tockpirt Cruises! Definitely worth a visit and cruise!

Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I'll start off by saying everyone started off well. The boat left on time, it took about 30 minutes to get to the castle. They give you 2 hours at the castle (additional charge of $10 USD, passport needed). The castle was amazing, they have renovated the grounds and two floors of the castle. Ice cream available to buy and a gift shop if you like. That's were things stopped being fun. We went back to the boat and was told it's a half hour delayed, except that ended up being an hour. We were told the ride back was going to be an hour long as it makes an extra loop to see more islands. It worked out to just over an hour. When we arrived they held is at Port without being able to get off for about twenty minutes more. There was no explanation for the original or port delay and no apologies. The second delay seems to be due to waiting for custom officers. We ended up being an hour and a half late getting back which almost made us late for a tour we booked in the late afternoon. The boat we took back was not the same one we arrived in and had a strong smell of gas the whole way back making both of us feel sick. It's a shame this all happened as it made us not interested in the second half of the tour.

Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We took the tour to Boldt Castle. The ride was informative and comfortable. There was a nice breeze and plenty of seating on the upper deck, which was nicely shaded.

1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockport Cruises also viewed


Been to Rockport Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing