We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Seaside room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifty Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clifty Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seaside room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The bedding smelled of fresh washed laundry. The motel is right on St. Margaret's Bay...close enough to listen to the waves at night.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trishladish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    32
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
56
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I think there have been some changes since the last few reviews. We chose this hotel based on it's close proximity to Peggy's Cove and the good reviews here. We arrived in the late evening after a long drive from Montreal and were dead tired and hungary - we discovered a young Russian couple from Alberta at the check-in desk, and the young woman showed us all the available rooms explaining that they all have slightly different features and vary in price form $85 to $105 per night - we took the $105/night room as it had hardwood floors, a king sized bed, a table and two chairs and a small fridge, plus it was the unit on the end, so we would only have one neighbour if someone else checked-in the next day.

As others have remarked, there are no amenities here, only bedding and towels and they are not new. There were no blinds or curtains, only sheers, so we had no privacy from the nearby road (or the manager's house) at night and the bathroom is very small so only one of us could get in there at a time. It also meant that we had the blazing hot summer sun to wake us up about 5am...

There was no air conditioner which we looked for during the day, and no heat - which we looked for during the night as it cooled off to about ten degrees celsius. We found that opening the windows facing the ocean brought in a cool breeze though, it would have been more effective if we could have blocked some of the sun.

Everything in town was already closed when we arrived - about 8pm, but we were lucky enough to start driving back towards Halifax to find that the restaurant at Peggy's Cove was still open for another 30-mins and were happy to accomodate us. The next morning we found a little cafe in Indian Harbour just a short walk up the road from the hotel, but they were very expensive for mediocre food. A little further up the road towards Peggy's Cove we found a convenience store and bought some bottled water and yogurt cups for our hotel fridge as there is nothing at the hotel, not even a vending machine and nothing is accessible except other than the cafe, and the convenience store unless you get back in your car and drive - which was the last thing we wanted to do after driving for 12hrs to get there.

We were also asked not to eat lobster in the rooms as it leaves them quite stinky apparently, but were invited to use the picnic tables on the hotel grounds. We never got to taste the lobster as they were closed when we got there and hadn't opened yet when we left.

The view is gorgeous and it is lovely to hear the lap of the ocean on the rocks so nearby - but I would not recommend this hotel unless you come prepared to deal with the hot and cold and lack of amenities and are prepared to drive everywhere. We didn't find it the greatest spot for a couples getaway, and we would refer to it as a cottage as opposed to a "hotel" due to the lack of amenities and older mix and match linens that we are more accustomed to finding at a back packer's - so the price is really for the chance to be next to the ocean I guess. And since the manager's had only just arrived a week before us, they were not very helpful sources of information but we found it easy to talk to people in the restaurant and conveniences store, and then there is the older couple who run the "art gallery" up the street next to the cafe, who are fountains of information and only too happy to invite you in for a tea and a chat amongst the art and cats in their lovely heritage home.

Room Tip: come prepared for no amenities or curtains and bring your own food/drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Éil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Outdated motel right on the water, nice view. I arrived on a Friday night 5:30pm and paid 105 CAD for a room with a king bed. Check-in per office door was 6pm. The following morning at 9:30, a senior couple woke up the manager and checked in. Their room was 85 CAD. Maybe they got a senior discount and early check-in privilege, who knows. Motel is close to Peggys Cove and a couple of good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We could not ask for a better location. We stayed here because it was close to my Aunts house and we wanted to be near family. The motel is right on the Ocean and the water is your backdrop and view. It was great for the kids to run around out back and sit on the rocks. It is not a swimming beach location but the view and weather were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Location, location and location!!! Close to Peggy's Cove Light House. We were pleased with room and outstanding view. Rooms were old furnished but very clean. The owner is working on remodeling rooms and outside was freshly painted. Spectacular view made it all worthed. Definitely we recommend this motel.
Mrs. Spapperi

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather11113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Big Lake Motel
#1 of 1 in Big Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Cove Motel

Property: Clifty Cove Motel
Address: 8444 Peggys Cove Rd | Peggy's Cove Area, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Price range (per night): $112 - $156
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifty Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clifty Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifty Cove Hotel Indian Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing