We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
22
21
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
21
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape breton tourist home room was clean large bathroom other guests would stay here again cabot trail sandy host driveway gateway luggage accommodations deck
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Just to add to what others have said about the absent personnel--breakfast was a new experience. Our note taped to the door stated that our breakfast would be at 7:30. We called and he agreed to let us come at 8. We arrived at 7:58 and sat at the table. Within a couple of minutes the owner came in and announced that their time was over and the 8 am folks needed to be seated. No one bothered to clear the dirty dishes so we pushed them aside. Potatoes and sausage were previously frozen but were served hot. It makes for a good story but not at the time it was unfolding.

Room Tip: Room 2 has an outside entrance but don't fall on the rotted stair leading to the deck
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A very disappointing experience at this bed and breakfast. No host greeting us when we arrived, just a note on the door telling us to check ourselves in. No one available to offer information about the area or recommend a place to have dinner. In fact, although the owner was barely visible in the kitchen in the morning, he never came to meet any guests or welcome them. This task was left to his worker at breakfast time. Breakfast was fine, but pretty basic. Look for a more welcoming bed and breakfast in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a different bed and breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donfras, Owner at Mackenzie House Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We try very hard to provide our guests with a service which is personalized. Our check in time is after three o'clock but many arrive in the early afternoon and others arrive as late as eleven at night. Most guests do not indicate their time of arrival making it difficult to greet them at the door due to other commitments at the property and the need to carry out activities throughout the area such as groceries, post office, supplies, post office, etc,.

In the event we are not at the door when guests arrive a welcome note is placed on the door providing them with a welcome and information. Their room number, parking area, access to the internet, their assigned time for breakfast, the key to the room and our contact number are provided in the note. Guests are requested to call us upon arrival indicating to us of their arrival and providing us with any questions about the property or the area. Many times we go to the assigned room to assist with directions, recommendations and preferences. We are available through the use of our cell phones on a continuing basis whether we are around the property or doing tasks throughout the area.

A full hot breakfast is served to all guests in the dining room where guests gather to share their experiences and relate to people from other parts of the world. There are times when the owner will enter the conversations among the guests at his discretion if time in the morning tasks allows and he is not interfering with a good discussion at the table which happens most often.

The breakfast includes juice, coffee or tea, cereals, toast, hash browns, bacon or sausage, and eggs prepared for the guests at their request.

It is unfortunate that some guests are not completely satisfied with the service we offer but we try very hard to use our time most efficiently in meeting the requirements of running such a property.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Like others have said, there was no personal contact when we arrived, just a note on the door. The house is a typical subdivision house no bells or whistles. The room was large and comfortable, but we had trouble with finding light switches and the bathroom outlet was tempermental.- had to plug my hairdryer into an outlet in the bedroom. Breakfast was good. This still might be your best bet in Port Hawksbury as we didn't see much of anything there. Restaurants seemed scarce also.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickistravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

If you're hoping for a sweet romantic B and B look elsewhere. It's clean, bed is okay, breakfast is fine, but yard is unkempt, inn keeper is absent, there is no where to sit and relax and maybe meet another traveler. Just a letter with your name on it telling you what to do. No particularly nice touches in rooms unless you count additional glasses. Some rooms unbearably hot but no one on site to assist. More like a hostel but a lot more money.m

Room Tip: Room with king and queen on second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jvirgint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Nightmare stay at this b&b. Arrive no one to greet you, just a bit of paper taped to the door with your name on it, saying the room key is in the door, see yourself in. Phone the owner when you in, (very expensive if you're an international traveller) luckily Sandy the owner turned up, so no call needed.
Settled into our room in the evening, sat down to watch tv and the guys next door went for a shower and we couldnt hear the TV. No soundproofing at all. Couldn't close blinds because bed in front of window. Couldn't get overhead lights to work, later told we were using wrong switch, maybe we should have guesses it wasn't the one next to the door but the one in the smaller 2nd room.
Worst of all was woken up at 4.30 in the morning when the men next door used the bathroom and the extremely noisy shower. Then they shouted to each other for ages, then had a very loud phone call, on speaker. I don't know about anyone else but you should have consideration for other guests.
Owner said no one had complained about the noise before, maybe they didn't have workmen who get up at 4.30 before. Or maybe he should sit in that room and have someone go in the next door bathroom, we could hear everything. I don't want to listen to people pee in an other bathroom in the hall way. Couldn't get out of the place fast enough.

Room Tip: Take earplugs and eye masks as can't get to close curtains.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shug65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews