We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
299
68
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
68
20
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall decanter of whiskykipperswee dramoverlooking the harbourguest houselovely conservatorywarm welcomecomplimentary whiskybreakfast was deliciousother guestson arrivalcomfortable roomlovely touchnight capenjoy the viewferry terminalwest highland way
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Heather is a fantastic host and her home is immaculately clean. Great location with sea views and the breakfasts are delicious. Made to feel extremely welcome and would definitely stay here again when visiting this stunning part of Scotland.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Clinton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We recently enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Moorings. It has a great view of the harbour. Heather is a great host and takes pride in all she does. The room was beautiful and breakfast next day next to the Conservatory was delicious. It is a one minute to the Centre of town. I could not recommend more highly.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The Moorings guesthouse is highly recommended if you are looking for comfortable and friendly accommodation in Mallaig.

Heather is very welcoming and the guesthouse is spotless and very homely.

My room was overlooking the harbour, the bed was very comfortable and I appreciated the little touches like the whiskey decanter and the high-quality linen.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it and I will be back.

Thank you!

Daniel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We loved our night at The Moorings. Heather was a wonderful host and her rooms are spotless with great attention to detail. The decor in our room had great Scottish accents with gorgeous “hairy coo” motif. The bed was very comfortable and the ensuite excellent ( shower and toilet). Continental and cooked breakfast were of the highest quality. The rooms have a tv, tea and coffee facility and there is even a small glass of whisky for a night cap should you desire. Our room looked out over the waterfront and the view is spectacular. We wished we could stay more than just one night

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Before I wrote this review I had a look at the “other ones” , yup there was a few yucky comments about the place. However to allay your fears (if you had any), the ‘new’ Moorings Guesthouse is a very fine place to sink your head. The welcome was warm and not pushed or false, the room was delightful ( and I try not to say that too often) The new owners are battling to overcome the previous owners failings . . . and doing a pretty good job of that too.

We were a bit late on arriving, we were staying here because we were going for the Skye Ferry, and at this time of the year (the end of March) everywhere was booked solid. [ er, no they were not, they just weren’t opened, so instead of getting the reply ; and there was quite a few, “sorry we aren’t open yet” we just got the “sorry we have no rooms available”. We were thinking ‘Oh dear, maybe the place will be a heaving throbbing metropolis when we get there. Well no, . . . . There were a few seagulls and a couple of locals . . . .
Getting back to the ‘Moorings’ yes, after our dinner in Mallaig we returned to the house and sat in the ‘front room’ that overlooks the harbour, then after ( we availed ourselves of the complimentary little whiskey jug in the room) we had a great night sleep, a nice breakfast and set off to Skye.

We will certainly be back again, and if you’re popping by say ‘hello’ to Heather for us !!

Room Tip: If you look over the harbour, it’s nice to get up to.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HandPuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews