We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western Isles Guest House
Ranked #12 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Arrived on a much earlier ferry from Skye than planned owing to threatened gales forecast. The lady of the house allowed me to use the room from around midday onwards which was nice. The room was comfortable and I had a very nice dedicated shower room just opposite. I had a lovely kipper for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1947Ilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stopped for one night before catching the ferry to Skye the following morning. Very friendly hosts who offered advice on where to eat our evening meal. Comfortable beds and very good breakfasts. Rooms a little small but that doesn't really matter for a one nighter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MilsteadUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

we stayed here for four nights, Monday - Thursday, and found nothing to be too much trouble for the hostess.
The room we had was perfect, breakfast was a delight, and Mallaig itself is peaceful and ideal for a get-away-from-it-all break.
The property is around a ten minute walk from both the rail station and harbour, and has lovely views across to Skye, from bedrooms and the breakfast room.
Not that we can imagine the town centre being noisy, but the location of The Western Isles gives you the the best spot on the harbour strip for quietness.
All rooms are differently laid out and some apparently have showers separate from the bedroom, although these are exclusive for your own rooms' use; but we could not fault ours at all.
Everything was clean to the highest standard, and you really got the 'at home' feel from the place. (having said that, we did find that having enough clothes for a three day/four night uk holiday, the hanging space was limited, but this is a very small point)
This was our first trip to Mallaig, and it certainly won't be our last, but more to the point, we'd definitely go back to The Western Isles.
(and if it's your first trip here yourselves, take the small ferry to Knoydart - you'll be glad you did)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mickandshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Very friendly people and most welcoming. I was touring on a motorcycle and they went out of their way to provide secure parking (not that it is particularly necessary in this quiet town.)
I had a single room with a view across to the harbour and the shower room, (across the corridor but exclusively for my room) was beautiful and looked as if it had been newly fitted out.
The whole house was spotless and my vegetarian breakfast was excellent.
Jeanette's husband is tke skipper on the ferry to Knoydart and I was unable to fit the trip in so I will have to return one day!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed for a night between arriving on the train from Glasgow and catching the boat to Knoydart. Everything is as clean and neat as a pin. Jeanette is very kind and concerned that you have everything you need. The bathroom was very modern and smart. Breakfasts are taken in a delightful room with views over the harbour - not being into cooked breakfasts, we chose fresh fruit, yoghurt and toast with lots of coffee and it was all splendid!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezziebeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mallaig hotels
0.5 km away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
628 reviews
4.2 km away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
161 reviews
0.4 km away
The Mission Bunkhouse
The Mission Bunkhouse
#1 of 5 in Mallaig
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
73 reviews
5.7 km away
GlenanCross House
GlenanCross House
#1 of 10 in Morar
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Isles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Guest House

Address: East Bay, Mallaig PH41 4QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Price Range: $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Western Isles Guest House Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing