We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
31
13
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
13
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stopped for one night before catching the ferry to Skye the following morning. Very friendly hosts who offered advice on where to eat our evening meal. Comfortable beds and very good breakfasts. Rooms a little small but that doesn't really matter for a one nighter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

we stayed here for four nights, Monday - Thursday, and found nothing to be too much trouble for the hostess.
The room we had was perfect, breakfast was a delight, and Mallaig itself is peaceful and ideal for a get-away-from-it-all break.
The property is around a ten minute walk from both the rail station and harbour, and has lovely views across to Skye, from bedrooms and the breakfast room.
Not that we can imagine the town centre being noisy, but the location of The Western Isles gives you the the best spot on the harbour strip for quietness.
All rooms are differently laid out and some apparently have showers separate from the bedroom, although these are exclusive for your own rooms' use; but we could not fault ours at all.
Everything was clean to the highest standard, and you really got the 'at home' feel from the place. (having said that, we did find that having enough clothes for a three day/four night uk holiday, the hanging space was limited, but this is a very small point)
This was our first trip to Mallaig, and it certainly won't be our last, but more to the point, we'd definitely go back to The Western Isles.
(and if it's your first trip here yourselves, take the small ferry to Knoydart - you'll be glad you did)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mickandshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Very friendly people and most welcoming. I was touring on a motorcycle and they went out of their way to provide secure parking (not that it is particularly necessary in this quiet town.)
I had a single room with a view across to the harbour and the shower room, (across the corridor but exclusively for my room) was beautiful and looked as if it had been newly fitted out.
The whole house was spotless and my vegetarian breakfast was excellent.
Jeanette's husband is tke skipper on the ferry to Knoydart and I was unable to fit the trip in so I will have to return one day!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed for a night between arriving on the train from Glasgow and catching the boat to Knoydart. Everything is as clean and neat as a pin. Jeanette is very kind and concerned that you have everything you need. The bathroom was very modern and smart. Breakfasts are taken in a delightful room with views over the harbour - not being into cooked breakfasts, we chose fresh fruit, yoghurt and toast with lots of coffee and it was all splendid!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezziebeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A real B&B, located on quiet side of the harbour, just outside the town centre. Mrs. Watt made us feel very welcome during the three nights that we stayed here. The room was perfectly in order, though a bit tight with two suitcases. The road is dead-end and gets very quiet, fresh air is abundant in Mallaig, so sleep is no problem here. I loved their locally smoked kippers for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joris015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews