We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ocean view

The brough of Birsay,just a short stroll away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The brough of Birsay,just a short stroll away
double room overlooking the brough ,go to sleep watching the lighthouse flash spacious kitchen diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The brough of Birsay,just a short stroll away
double room overlooking the brough ,go to sleep watching the lighthouse flash
spacious kitchen diner
our light and airy sitting room ,great sea views
modern bathroom and power shower
twin bedroom
the scenic wild cliff walk at yesnaby just a few miles drive away
beautiful clear skies, giving you sunsets like this
stack at yesnaby
meet the neighbours
clear water
clean beaches
ring of brodgar
seals sunning themselves
windy day scapa flow
sunrise over stenness loch
northern lights
heel o hoy
view from house
coastal walk along from brough
earls palace,ten minute walk away
External shot of the cottage
Patio Area with stunning open views
cottage from back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birsay, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jackieand...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing week staying in Birsay. The accommodation in ocean view cottage was perfect with everything thought out even the veg patch and excellent welcome basket.
We ate out at the barony hotel, a short stroll from the accommodation and the food and welcome was fantastic. So much to see and do, I am sure we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable modern accomodation with old fashioned charm”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ocean view lives up to it's name with views over rolling fields to Marwick head and the Brough of Birsay. We found it clean modern and well equipped (Though a dishwasher would add to holiday ease!). Warm and comfortable even on cold wet days. A perfect situation for a relaxed "Away from it all" holiday. There is Wi-Fi and satellite TV if you must, but no mobile phone signal (A landline is provided for emergency use). Local shops and beaches are just a short drive (Or long walk) away but shop early in the week, they can run out of luxuries!. All in all a lovely place to stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Ocean View on our first trip to Orkney and fell in love with it immediately. Perfectly situated for access to both civilisation and the wilds the cottage is beautifully presented with everything you could need and had a really homely feel. The welcome hamper was great and towels and treats for dog was a great touch ! We fell in love with both Orkney and Ocean View and will definitely be back ! Already recommended to friends .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loubanks8...
broxburn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent late booking”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ocean view is an excellent holiday home.

Very cosy and clean. The house is well equipped with everything you could need.

The house does have wifi but do not expect to get a mobile phone signal. The house does have a landline which could be used for an emergency if needed.

We could recommend this house and we would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! ”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Excellent cottage for self catering holiday in Birsay, Orkney. Has everything you need, nice modern interior and lovely garden. Pet friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing