We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
 LUXURY COTTAGE WITH PRIVATE HOT TUB
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 LUXURY COTTAGE WITH PRIVATE HOT TUB
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
LUXURY COTTAGE WITH PRIVATE HOT TUB
PRIVATE HOT TUB,FOR SOLE USE
Gretna Green Famous Blacksmiths Shop - Under 15 minutes drive away
Gretna Green Famous Blacksmiths Shop - Under 15 mins. drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan1Eshe...
Esher, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (three adults) are just back from a 5 night stay in the Stables over Christmas. The two cottages are perfectly situated, nestled behind the recently "reborn" Annandale Distillery. We initially chose the cottage as somewhere to have our own space with my in-laws only 5 minutes' drive away. In fact, the cottage provided more than ample space to host the Christmas/Boxing Day lunches for 5 adults. The spotless, comfortable cottage is equipped to a very high standard and the modern amenities/facilities are very accurately described on line. We always enjoyed wallowing in the steaming hot tub, most evenings, gazing out across the fields. Very relaxing and such a picturesque historic setting - with the Distillery buildings only feet away. If you don't wish to cook, the Maltings Coffee Shop is on site for lunch or coffee. Margaret and Robert (the proprietors) provided some generous touches too. A welcome basket of biscuits, chocolates, bread and a bottle of Prosecco. Being Christmas, there was a lovely lit tree in the corner of the living room and additional festive lights dotted around the place. Thank you, Margaret, for everything and we shall definitely be back when we are next in the vicinity!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zan27
Worcs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in The Stable cottage and had a wonderful time. The cottage is beautiful and has every comfort you need. It is spacious, immaculately clean and renovated to a very high standard. The owners were welcoming and helpful and lovely people. The hot tub was amazing - we were lucky to see some shooting stars from it on our last night. The Annan Distillery next door has an impressive coffee shop and the tour was very interesting, even our 11 and 15 year old boys enjoyed it. We drove to the Galloway Forest and visited Clatteringshaws Loch and took the Raiders Road to Otter Pool, which was so beautiful and perfect for paddling. From there we drove to Laggan Outdoor and did a Segway tour which was great fun.
Also visited Carlisle Castle, well worth a visit - particularly the military museum.
We would definitely return to The Stable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomadation
Liked least: Lack of local pub food
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adrianne...
1 review
“Beautiful home from home.”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed 4 nights in this beautiful cottage and I hope to return. It has been renovated to a very high standard and has a wonderful host with Margaret. It has everything you need and the hot tub is lovely. I stayed in the stables cottage however I suspect the hot tub in the tackroom cottage has slightly better views and a bit more privacy. But the hot tub in the stables is still private and offers views of the cottage it self and horses in the field a bit further away. Such a lovely, relaxing week. There is a tesco only a 5 minute drive away as well as an Aldi and well stocked high street. Carlisle is a 30 minute drive away with other places around. To be honest the cottage was so nice and relaxing we didn't leave all that much but there is plenty around if you would want to. The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans etc we had no issues cooking meals, including pies and cakes (you would need your own cake tins for that). Foil, kitchen roll and salt etc are provided along with a lovely tea set. Highly recommend this cottage and think the price is very reasonable for the standard of the property and the excellent service.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay! ”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We visit this area every couple of years to visit family, and after the last trip in 2014, decided that we would try self- catering after a less than fabulous stay at a pub near our relative. Certainly glad of that decision. Distillery Cottages 'The Stables' is a wonderful place to stay! The building has been beautifully renovated with luxury finishes; the beds are incredibly comfortable and it was just so nice to have plenty of space to call home for the week we stayed. The underfloor heating worked wonderfully as it was cool while we were here- but toasty warm inside. Margaret, our host was available and very helpful without being obtrusive. There were many little 'touches' that made the difference too - from the welcome pack of wine, chocolate, bread and shortbread, to there being a supply of olive oil, salt and pepper etc, which saves a lot of a hassle for international travelers.

We would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing