We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel and Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
223 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

First impressions on arrival are of a grand old house beautifully preserved and the hotel has an air of a bygone era. The level of service was excellent and the food first class, rooms done to ah igh class with great views. The whole experience was slightly undermined by the musak piped into the hall and dinning room, but otherwise first class

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    87
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
69
211
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed for three nights with dinner and breakfast, our second visit here.
The hotel was warm and cosy, our immediate first impression. Our room was beautifully furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable.The bedlinen was of fine quality and the ensuite was equipped with soft white towels. Bathrobes were provided. The staff were attentive and the manager/chef was present to ensure all our comforts were met. The food was of a very high standard , presented beautifully and served with care. We had coffee after dinner in the exquisite drawing room of this traditionally furnished, elegant country house.
An additional delight was to see red squirrels and birds feeding in the garde from the dining room window at breakfast each morning.
The hotel is set in a quiet location among beautiful gardens and the whole area surrounding is peaceful countryside.
The water provided at the dining table is from the estate's own spring, free from chemicals. We really appreciated that.
We slept well and enjoyed a most relaxing stay. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Spent a lovely 1 night stay at this great hotel the food was fantastic rooms lovely and warm beds very comfortable. Staff really friendly and gave us a very warm welcome would go back

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethanne206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We arrived for one night dinner, bed and breakfast at the start of December, amid heavy snow which made for a beautiful 'winter wonderland' setting. We have stayed twice before and although we had read some mixed reviews recently, we went with an open mind as we had wonderful memories of our previous stays. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room which was very acceptable. The room was as we expected, very traditional and perfectly clean. Unfortunately the mattress, which had seen 'better days' , was pretty uncomfortable and the bed creaked and squeeked
at the slightest movement. The shower produced lovely hot water but approx half the holes in the shower head were blocked resulting in a very poor flow.

When we went down for dinner we found that the diningroom was very cold. When another guest asked for the gas fire to be lit she was told that it had been 'condemned'.
To illustrate the point, the couple at the next table actually sat warming their hands on the candle on their table like something out a Dickensian novel!. Our meal was good, but not great and at no point in the evening did any member of staff enquire if our meal was okay. We were looking forward to having our coffee in the Drawing Room in front of the open log fire as we have done on our previous visits. However it had not been lit and we ended up sitting in the library with several other couples huddled around a small electric fire. Thankfully we returned to a lovely warm bedroom.

Breakfast was lovely and we were well looked after by the Dining Room staff. We were seated at a window table beside a radiator so we were able to enjoy our breafast in the warmth looking out at the snow covered garden and were entertained by garden birds and a red squirell.

We would return in the future but probably only for bed and breakfast . Kildrummy has a lovely feel to it and in the winter with the snow on the ground it is really beautiful. That said, a little more attention to detal would not go amiss. Whilst we would recommend the hotel, we would have Dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glendon1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Beautiful location.
Very clean hotel, with attention paid to detail.
Excellent, friendy staff.
Amazing food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
10.9 km away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
17.6 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
31.8 km away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
32.5 km away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
21.9 km away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price range (per night): $154 - $347
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing