We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 218*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Pittodrie House(Chapel of Garioch)
USD 162*
USD 151*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huntly Arms(Aboyne)
USD 122*
USD 118*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Strathburn Hotel(Inverurie)
USD 163*
USD 149*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thainstone House(Inverurie)(Great Value!)
USD 94*
USD 88*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78*
USD 70*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Kinord Hotel(Dinnet)(Great Value!)
USD 180*
USD 128*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tor-na-Coille(Banchory)(Great Value!)
USD 100*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnett Arms Hotel(Banchory)(Great Value!)
USD 105*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
288
95
30
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
95
30
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomdinner orderscallopsruined castlestately homered squirrelspublic roomsbeautiful countrysideno elevatorcountry houseonly stayed one nightwonderful hotelsuperior roomperfect staysteakroom was largefamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed for three nights with dinner and breakfast, our second visit here.
The hotel was warm and cosy, our immediate first impression. Our room was beautifully furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable.The bedlinen was of fine quality and the ensuite was equipped with soft white towels. Bathrobes were provided. The staff were attentive and the manager/chef was present to ensure all our comforts were met. The food was of a very high standard , presented beautifully and served with care. We had coffee after dinner in the exquisite drawing room of this traditionally furnished, elegant country house.
An additional delight was to see red squirrels and birds feeding in the garde from the dining room window at breakfast each morning.
The hotel is set in a quiet location among beautiful gardens and the whole area surrounding is peaceful countryside.
The water provided at the dining table is from the estate's own spring, free from chemicals. We really appreciated that.
We slept well and enjoyed a most relaxing stay. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Spent a lovely 1 night stay at this great hotel the food was fantastic rooms lovely and warm beds very comfortable. Staff really friendly and gave us a very warm welcome would go back

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethanne206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We arrived for one night dinner, bed and breakfast at the start of December, amid heavy snow which made for a beautiful 'winter wonderland' setting. We have stayed twice before and although we had read some mixed reviews recently, we went with an open mind as we had wonderful memories of our previous stays. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room which was very acceptable. The room was as we expected, very traditional and perfectly clean. Unfortunately the mattress, which had seen 'better days' , was pretty uncomfortable and the bed creaked and squeeked
at the slightest movement. The shower produced lovely hot water but approx half the holes in the shower head were blocked resulting in a very poor flow.

When we went down for dinner we found that the diningroom was very cold. When another guest asked for the gas fire to be lit she was told that it had been 'condemned'.
To illustrate the point, the couple at the next table actually sat warming their hands on the candle on their table like something out a Dickensian novel!. Our meal was good, but not great and at no point in the evening did any member of staff enquire if our meal was okay. We were looking forward to having our coffee in the Drawing Room in front of the open log fire as we have done on our previous visits. However it had not been lit and we ended up sitting in the library with several other couples huddled around a small electric fire. Thankfully we returned to a lovely warm bedroom.

Breakfast was lovely and we were well looked after by the Dining Room staff. We were seated at a window table beside a radiator so we were able to enjoy our breafast in the warmth looking out at the snow covered garden and were entertained by garden birds and a red squirell.

We would return in the future but probably only for bed and breakfast . Kildrummy has a lovely feel to it and in the winter with the snow on the ground it is really beautiful. That said, a little more attention to detal would not go amiss. Whilst we would recommend the hotel, we would have Dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glendon1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Beautiful location.
Very clean hotel, with attention paid to detail.
Excellent, friendy staff.
Amazing food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The setting and landscape are superb, the building is marvellous, the gardens looked wondeful, the interior had a lot to offer. All of these however were inherited by the current owner.

The staff were all friendly and service was, on the whole, also very good and the rooms were certainly clean.

We went with a discounted voucher which was £80 for one night (for two) which would have otherwise cost £200. No way is this worth £200.

The room was small (clean as already mentioned) but a bit dull although not so dull to put us off. In the evening there was no background music anywhere and this was particularly apparent in the bar where we convened to order for dinner. The bar was a bit "sterile" with stilted conversation being the only noise. The lighting was not condusive to an intimate atmosphere and the dining room only benefited from a greater level of stilted conversation.

The sample menu featured in our room pack was impressive and we were quite excited about going for dinner. This excitement quickly evapourated when we got the real menu in the bar as the quality had clearly dropped a number of levels. We approached the dining room, when called, with some trepidation and I am sorry to say that the food was, at best, average. The proprietor did, to his credit, wander around the guest tables asking if all was ok and we did not, in typical British style, articulate our real opinion as we could not be bothered with any acrimony which would spoil our weekend.

But make no mistake, the food did not "cut the mustard" in any way and I am at a loss to explain why any other reviews over the last year could suggest otherwise.

The whole experience only had value due to the substantial discount and we would not recommend this venue for the food. At discounted rates it does provide a good stop-over point given the incredible setting.

The proprietor's teenage son, Ryan, was a shining light being very positive, but not at all pretentious, and was an immediately likeable little character.

Not wanting to criticise without some constructive suggestions:
- get a decent chef and/or trim the menu right down and concentrate on some quality (perhaps get some advice on this)
- provide more intimate lighting in bar and dining room along with some subtle background classical music
- get the gardens opened earlier (we were unable to access)

Currently, although we are not recommending, it is a nice place and you could perhaps dine somewhere else but this would be a fair distance away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank munders123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews