We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and cake”
Review of Sid's Cafe

Sid's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I had hoped for more from Sid's. I was looking for a nice cup of coffee and a homemade scone and ended up with a watery, tasteless drink (you couldn't call it coffee!) and a scone which came from the local supermarket. Disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLLB, Owner at Sid's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Sid's Cafe and that your coffee wasn’t strong enough, we are always happy to add an extra shot for people who like it stronger. Our scones are from a local baker and not a supermarket. All our cakes are homemade but we simply do not have time to bake our own scones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We popped in for a coffee and bacon sandwich. The bacon was cooked in the microwave (we heard it ping) chewy with yellow fat, it was truely awful, the coffee was a shadow of what coffee should taste like. Very limited menu. What a shame!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLLB, Owner at Sid's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Sid's Cafe. Our bacon is cooked on the hob and then reheated in the microwave (as do a lot of places). I’m sorry you found it to be chewy, it is not something we usually get complaints about but I have spoken to my staff about it to see if we can work out what went wrong on this occasion. Yes our menu may be quite limited compared to some places but that is a reflection of the limited space we have at the cafe. We do a selection of freshly prepared cold and hot sandwiches and toasties, jacket potatoes, homemade soup, scones, toasted teacakes and homemade cakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Plenty of people visit Sid's because of their favourite TV programme. It is average at best and needs a little TLC to improve the customer experience.

Thank Widlydidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Lots of coffe shop/cafes to pick from in the town, not having watched last of the summwine we had no idea this was a tourist attraction.

We requested a toasted cheese and tomato sandwich, it’s not a sandwich but a bread roll you get given but a bread roll. Not the. end of the world but it was dry and poor quality like the catering type served from a cheap burger van.
Staff not particularly friendly in particular the older lady we assumed was the manager/owner.
Sorry but get the impression this cafe survives from the tv programme and has no need to compete with the competition.
Scoring this as an average and in our opinion that’s all it was.

Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLLB, Owner at Sid's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your toastie. Our sandwiches and toasties are not made with ‘catering type served from a cheap burger van’ rolls. We use traditional Yorkshire teacakes from a local bakery and they are certainly not a cheap option. Our staff are usually a friendly bunch so maybe you caught us at a busy or stressful time or at the end of a busy day. You’re right there is a lot of competition in Holmfirth and we work very hard to compete with this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This cafe featured in the television programme last of the summer wine. It was like stepping back in time and just how I remembered it the programme. This cafe has not been altered at all and still has the original fittings. There were photos of the cast on the wall and was a joy to eat there. They have a limited range of food but what we had was very nice and good value for money. The three young girls serving were very polite and helpful and a credit to the cafe. Look forward to returning soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MillerMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLLB, Owner at Sid's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Sid’s Cafe. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your visit and food and found it good value. Really lovely to hear that our younger staff provided you with good customer service and were polite and helpful to you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sid's Cafe also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sid's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing