We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A charming, beautiful spot

We visited in October, when the autumn leaves were at their best. We spent a very pleasant two... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Andrew H
A lovely place to view Autumn colours.

It's a great place to come for a country walk. There are a wide variety of trees to look at... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Traveller1XX
,
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Read all 478 reviews
  
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
241
201
26
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
241
201
26
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews autumn colours national trust boat house steep steps viewing platform red route beautiful lake tea room plenty of seats lovely walk sunny day trees and shrubs car park toilet facilities sausage rolls walking routes cakes
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful colourful Winkworth is amazing autumn time! Sun was shining, sat on the bench by the boathouse and admired the beauty of nature!

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank georgyela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a good few hours at this beautiful arboretum. The price for entry was reasonable. Only one set of toilets near the beginning of the walk. Cafe was basic which we expected based on other reviews. We picniced with our own hot food flask of soup and bread which was wonderfully enjoyed in the beautiful setting. There are benches dotted around the trail which came in useful. Three routes were recommended: easy (blue), intermediate (yellow) or challenging (red). With young kids (4 years) we went for the yellow. Perfectly do-able. The autumn leaves provided a lovely setting. Would definately recommend a visit on a sunny autumn day (eg. end of oct).

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank dazym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Winkworth is a hidden gem. At any time of the year there is a visual feast - from camelias and rhodedendrons through to vivid autumnal leaf displays. Have never been there and been disappointed (and we are regular visitors!) Part of National Trust, so free for members. Despite growing popularity, there are so many routes around that you can feel as though you are in a secluded area - even when young children around it is still tranquil and relaxing! Very small cafe attached which doesn't match usual Trust standards (basic sandwich/cake fare, usually very busy). ~Other than that, a perfect and relaxing day out (or even short visit).

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Parksfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

First time we have visited the arboretum. Very nice surprise. Not too big, but enough for a decent walk. When we voted (Sunday 22nd October) the colours were lovely. It is a place for everyone,particularly families, of which there were loads as the weather was good. The car parking was a bit chaotic, even the overspill was full. Lovely experience and will certainly do again.
Not too easy to find, so satnav was used and the lanes a bit windy and narrow.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank papaglowing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

A lovely refreshing day, plenty of exercise , peace and quiet in a tranquil setting. Cafe staff very helpful.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Collinsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews