We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Ranked #15 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Check in was abysmal, unhelpful disinterested male who came from the bar, because the receptionist was busy. Lack of polite communication, he pointed in the direction to go, ' follow the signs'. Did not offer to help with my bags. I struggled up and over stairs, through heavy fire doors, until I reached the top of the back of the hotel. Comfortable enough room, too much noise however.
Breakfast okay, nothing special. Hotel overall not inspiring, very stuffy, lack of fresh air. No telephone in room.
Check out, same person, even less interested, and less helpful...not good for front of house and first point of contact with the public. Do staff get training these days?

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Love the place room was great, did request a later checkout unfortunately they couldn't otherwise OK stay breakfast was available however due to late checking didn't make it, nice staff and location..

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We got a really good rate £59 per night including continental breakfast. The accommodation is fair for this price, although the room was a bit tired and the window couldn't close properly which meant it was drafty and you could hear the road noise. The real problem was that our 'family room' was directly above the restaurant. The music was played incredibly loudly, unnecessary so. No chance of sleep for us or our young daughter. We asked for the music to be turned down several times to no avail, eventually quietened down just before 11pm when we complained again. So ask for a quiet room if such a thing exists. Nice food in the restaurant.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by family so we booked through Booking.com and got the room and complimentary continental breakfast for £99. We since found that if we had called the hotel direct we could have saved well over £25!!Oh well. Room was originally not going to be available until 3pm but we asked if it could be earlier as we had a function to attend. They very kindly let us have the room when we arrived at 12.30pm. We were greeted by very friendly staff and shown how to use the fob system. Room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities in room . We had option to upgrade from continental breakfast to full English,so did. I did think £8.50 each was excessive, and although it was nice it wasn't amazing and the portions are small. Again staff are very nice and really helpful, but next time I will stick the continental, it's enough.
Would go back there but will book direct with hotel if I do go.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Your feedback is what helps us improve so thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

A number of relatives stayed for a family wedding, at a different location. When booking back in January, I asked about the size of double beds and was, eventually, told they were just 4'6". As we were there for a total of four nights, I opted for a twin room. It was only after checking in that I discovered that the only twin room was at the back (OK, away from bar and road) but with the windows open we suffered from the noise and smell of the kitchen fan, not to mention the staff talking outside.
The lovely lady on duty said we could change to a double room but not for our whole stay so we decided to stay put. She gave us a room fan and also some sheets as the duvets were very warm. The showers cubicle needed a really good clean too.

I found out that the hotel is going to undergo some sort of refurbishment (bigger beds and new curtains in the bar) this Autumn.

A continental breakfast of sorts was included in the price with an extensive menu of hot dishes to choose from as extras. Unfortunately several items weren't available - apparently they were using the wrong menu (on all four mornings???) - and didn't have the right pan! The croissants were good on day one, with fresh ones cooked to order but the quality went down - via burnt small pastries (covered in icing sugar to disguise the scorch marks) to reheated small croissants from Tesco (really?) which were rock hard.

We only dined in twice - I had the fisherman's platter with a side salad as a main course which was great, not much could go wrong with that. The vegetarian platter also turned out to be a good choice. Others in the group were not so successful.

It was very unusual to have to pay upfront on check in for the accommodation and not be able to charge anything to the room.

My longest TA review to date - I just hope someone from head office reads it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank ASH696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.0 km away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
2.0 km away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
259 reviews
7.5 km away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
490 reviews
8.4 km away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Godalming

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Address: The Inn on the Lake, Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range: $128 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside lodge is just five miles south of Guildford, and so makes for a characterful yet convenient base for short breaks in Surrey. Surrounded by picturesque gardens, this recently refreshed hotel and refurbished pub make the most of views across the lake and it certainly fulfills its purpose, providing the perfect retreat in which to unwind and enjoy some of the finest countryside in Southern England.Food lovers are in for a treat, as the lodge is home to a stylish pub serving seasonal dishes complimented by a great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Goldalming is something of a Surrey jewel, with its cottages nestled against a backdrop of beautiful wooded hills by the River Wey. A few miles up the road is Guildford, where you can explore the cathedral and its 20 acres of parkland, or stroll around the gardens of the old castle. The National Trust's Clandon Park mansion and 18th century Hatchlands Park are well worth a visit too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Godalming
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing